1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Need opinions, people!

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Tigsalot, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Tigsalot

    Tigsalot Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 25, 2001
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    this is my current rig setup

    =====================================================

    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
    System Model: Dimension 8300
    BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A05
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 3070MB RAM
    Page File: 522MB used, 4438MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode



    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x9505)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9505&SUBSYS_95051002&REV_00
    Display Memory: 512.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6844 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 7/31/2008 21:32:35, 311296 bytes


    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: SB Live! 24-bit
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0007&SUBSYS_100A1102&REV_00
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: P17.sys
    Driver Version: 5.12.0001.0514 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 6/15/2007 10:47:26, 1127936 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: CREATIVE



    ====================================================


    now I'm thinking about putting these badboys in



    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157115


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017




    =====================================================

    so what do youse guys think?
     
  2. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    298
    cheap board - but I guess your using it for the agp
    mid level video card - pretty good for the price
    quad cpu - nice processor

    Lorddog
     
  3. Pestilence Hemp

    Pestilence Hemp Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    your getting a pretty good processor, i would make sure the motherboard is just as good. 2 gigs of ram is a minimum now, id see you can find a bit better board. the few extra dollars now can save some headache later
     
  4. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    Few desktop applications can make use of quad core processors at the moment...some are still lagging behind using dual core!

    If you have a 3.0 GHz pentium D and it is running your apps OK at this point, I personally wouldn't bother to replace the main board and processor yet. In some cases, especially games, the single processor at higher clock speed gives better performance. Depends on how good the app is at making use of the extra cores.

    -Skylark

    P.S. I agree about the board...don't skimp there. No real advantage to upgrading.
     
  5. Hera - Siege

    Hera - Siege Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    21
    I wouldn't bother upgrading unless you shell out the ca$h for a Mobo with PCI-Express video and get a new vid card. Otherwise it's a bit pointless IMO.

    Your main limitation right now is the video card, PCI-E is way faster. Upping your mobo and processor without ditching AGP is a bit like putting a VW-Bus engine in a porsche. Sure, it looks pretty, but it performs just the same.

    If you're not having any issues with games/etc right now. I'd hold off until you had enough to do the whole shabang.
     
  6. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    PCI express is definitely the way to go for performance in video cards.

    -Skylark
     
  7. Tigsalot

    Tigsalot Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 25, 2001
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah, I was afraid youse guys would say that. :(

    I'll just save up and build a whole new one.

    Betsy is getting old. Had her since 2004

    I love you all.
     
  8. Mogluk

    Mogluk Guest

    umm ....*scratches self* meeb blah dat lat should get new klompr agh mebee..... get newb grot blasta...dat bubhosh meeb thinks
     
  9. Tigsalot

    Tigsalot Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 25, 2001
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2

    I'm an elf, not a bloody orc. What did you say?
     
  10. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,373
    Likes Received:
    4,675
    You are a goof. /end rant
     
  11. Speedy Orkit

    Speedy Orkit Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    Until about 11 months ago I played on a 2002 HP I got from Sam's Club. Don't you talk about bad computers!
     
  12. Tigsalot

    Tigsalot Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 25, 2001
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    2
    the first computer I had was IBM in 1999

    P3 it had 96 ram and 15.8 gig hard drive lol

    it's in my other room, it still works.
     
  13. HaHa

    HaHa Guest

    Have you tried the Atari 2600 ?
     
  14. Hera - Siege

    Hera - Siege Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    21
    Har!

    First computer I had was a 486dx2-66mhz w/8MB of Ram, 2x CD Rom drive and 512MB Hard Drive. Damn that thing was the bomb for 15 years ago.

    Paid $2500 bucks for it...

    Played Diablo, and then UO on it, was lucky(?) enough to be in UO Beta as well, still have that Beta disk around here somewhere. . .
     
  15. Dola

    Dola Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    The biggest single most important advice I can offer you is this:

    Make sure the motherboard as a good flash utility when you do finally decide to rebuild your computer. If you buy your procs that were manufactured after the date your motherboard was manufactured, there is a good chance you will need to flash your bios, and if you screw that up, you have very expensive paper wait on your hands, a motherboards with a screwed up bios won't do a darn thing


    Second piece of advice, by a a decent power supply, one that won't do much variation on the watts it puts out, if you go cheap, it taxes your hardware and does a great deal of wear and tear. When I built my little baby back in 2000, I bought her power supply from a company in Carlsbad, CA and it was worth every penny of it. The power supply made my computer somewhat heavier and when I turned that puppy in, the lights in the room dimmed (I think in awe).
    http://www.pcpower.com/power-supply/silencer-750-quad-black.html

    you can find that one at a good price at buy.com