1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Gardening] New Plants - Locked down - Not able to tend them

Discussion in 'UO Botany and Nutrition' started by Umfufu, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. Umfufu

    Umfufu Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello,

    As of today 2 of the new plants burst on me.

    Atm it seems I cannot tend them in locked down modus ... no plant gump will come up.
    I get an error: You are not allowed to access this.

    This means I may have to unlock my plants everyday and have them in my backpack to tend them.

    Anyone else noticed this ?
     
  2. Jafanarae

    Jafanarae Guest

    Same thing happened to me. I couldn't get the security gump up either to check or change settings.

    Edit: I secured mine with "I wish to secure this" rather than "lock this down".
     
  3. christy1221

    christy1221 Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm having the same problem :sad4:
     
  4. Spellbound

    Spellbound Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    90
    Are you folks using 2D or KR? Did you set their security to friend or co-owner, or leave them at default owner setting? Will releasing one and resetting it using "I wish to lock this down" perhaps fix it?
     
  5. NuSair

    NuSair Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    999
    Same here. I had to release them, put them in my backpack, then lock them back down to be able to tend them.
     
  6. Yalp

    Yalp Guest

    same thing for me.. I unlocked a cypress tree and snowdrops to take screenies.. and once complete I relocked them.. got the same error message.. can't even set security with them in the lock down position.. I sent in a bug report.
     
  7. Bodhi

    Bodhi Guest

    Apparently in locked down modus (actually i secured them) they dont seem to grow? I planted the seeds yesterday at 19.00, now we are 28 hours further, and they havent had a growth???

    plantgrowing.jpg plantgrowing2.jpg
     
  8. Mark Trail

    Mark Trail Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    You locked down the plants at 19:00. Next maintenance period at 05:00 the plants were not 24 hours old so nothing happened. If they stay locked down they get another maintenance check at the next maintenance period, 05:00 the next day. That's the best way to go. You lose a few hours the first day using shard-up growing times, but then you always get the fastest possible 23.9 hour growth speed.

    If you have to see something happen right away, put those plants in your pack or beetle. Log out. Then wait 40 minutes (computer techie reason). Then log back in and you get growth from the plants that are over 24 hours old.
     
  9. Mark Trail

    Mark Trail Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    2
    Long ago there was a bug where only the one person who locked down a plant could access it for watering. To be safe, the house owner should do the locking down and all of the watering. No helpers or co-owners or same-account owners.
     
  10. feath

    feath Guest

    there's a bug report on uhall that locked down plants aren't growing - and can't be accessed by any of the house characters.
    they need to be unlocked and placed in your backpack. then, relocked, i think, and then can be accessed? don't remember the whole thing, as all my plants are in my packs, so it didn't apply to me.
     
  11. Pawain

    Pawain Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    133
    So far I have been able to tend my plants that are secure. None have turned to the plant graphic yet.

    I play in 2D and they were secured by the home owner but my gardener on the account tends them.

    I have not unsecured any of them and I wont now.

    I dont like using a backpack.
     
  12. Eslake

    Eslake Guest

    It doesn't happen until they reach Adult growth levels (7+).

    The Cactus isn't effected.
    Hedges, Hops, Cocoa, and Spider trees are all un-tendable while locked down, that I can confirm.
    (tried as the Original lock-down character, and as house Owner, neither works)
    They have to be moved into your pack to be accessed to tend them.

    I can't verify yet whether or not they continue to Grow after this point while locked down (the game may not be seeing them as Plants while locked down after maturity). I will know in about 12 hours.

    Of course the only plant to suffer in this case is the Cocoa, since it cannot produce resources until it ages 2 more days. The others are essentially in Decorative mode already, which is where they will go once they age to day 9 anyway. (But I won't like to see them stuck with the name "A peculiar suchandsuch")
     
  13. Bodhi

    Bodhi Guest

    Do these new plants give out seeds? So that we never have to horde them again once we have a collection of seeds at home? Althou i wouldnt mind the hunting, i really thought it was a fun and rewarding part of the 'plant event'.

    By the way, i just noticed that they are in stage 2 now ;) Yay!
     
  14. Umfufu

    Umfufu Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    9
    The 2 "new style plants" that bloomed yesterday, I had locked down whilst growing up.
    I had to unlock them and tend them in my backpack, afterwards I relocked them in my house.
    Today they did get a growth and are on day 8 now, but again I needed to lock/relock for the tending.

    These plants were locked/tended my the houseowner.
     
  15. feath

    feath Guest

    you have to hunt the monsters to get the seeds.
    the coco plant, i know gives out coco, but... if it gives out seeds, i don't remember.
     
  16. The cocoa plants are the only ones that give seeds and resources, so they are going to be the biggest pains for tending purposes if you want them. All the other plants can be set to deco. mode after their second day of "springing out" so they will not have to be tended anymore.
     
  17. Lady Lava

    Lady Lava UO Senior News Reporter
    Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    20

    I am having the same issue.
    Growing in my pack is something I dislike but oh well :(
     
  18. well thanks to a quick reply on another thread my plants are on my bug now till they old enough to be placed in Deco
     
  19. Moonstar

    Moonstar Guest

    I had some plants locked down .. since i couldnt tend to them when they first grew out, i figured theyautomatically went into decorative modfe so didnt think anything of it, till this morning.. I checked on those plants and they were in the red for water and had other ailments..
     
  20. Pawain

    Pawain Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    133
    I read this too late. I coincidently put my only cati back on the ground and noticed that I could tend it. I thought the bug was fixed so I put the other 39 down and logged into 2D, hoping I could tend them. But I couldn't access them...

    I dislike KR for gardening.. Cant see all the plants in 2D in my pack.
     
  21. IMissLoK

    IMissLoK Guest

    I know this is old news ... just filling in the blanks ...

    My home owner locked down ("I wish to lock this down") the plants and is tending them. When the 1st set of my plants bloomed (Left Hops, Orfluer, Foxglove, Spider tree, water lilly, tall hedge, Sugar Cane) I was not able to access the gardening gump (got message saying "You are not allowed access to this"). I then changed the remaining pots (still on day 6) to Secure ("I wish to secure this") and changed the setting to allow Friends to access. Today they bloomed (Cattails, Right Hops, Tall Cypress, Flowering Cactus, Cocoa Tree) and I still cannot access the gardening gump ("You are not allowed access to this"). All plants have to be put into my backpack to water and cure and then locked back down. I noticed after I unlocked the flowering cactus and put it back down ("I wish to lock this down" - default access), then I can get into the gardening gump while it is locked down but I had to initially unsecure it and then lock it down to get the gump.

    I play on Legends shard in 2D using 9th Anniversary Collection (Mondain's Legacy) installation on Windows XP.
     
  22. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    okay im beyond frustrated with the new plants. everyone else has been able to grow them and get them to reach age of being able to set to deco mode.

    mine have all been locked down on the floor of the house, unlocked and put in pack to do the daily care, and relocked down on the floor.

    NONE of mine have yet to show the icon to make deco. They all say day 9, and all continue to need daily care.

    ( and these are plants that were planted on day the new pub went out and seeds were available.)

    anyone have ideas on how the fruck i can get them show the icon so i can make them deco??
     
  23. Gwenyth

    Gwenyth Guest

    Maybe you are looking in the wrong place...maybe. To put the plant in deco mode, you click on the little flower in the top left corner of the plant menu. Now on the next menu screen you should see green leaves with a red "X" in the top right hand corner, click on that icon. You will then get a question asking if you want to put the plant in deco mode. I hope that helps :)
     
  24. Tuferon

    Tuferon Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the same problem. It seems that once the plant bowl disappears, you lose the access and I have been putting them in my pack to tend then replacing.
     
  25. kitiara-atlantic

    kitiara-atlantic Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    77
    I'm insanely frustrated with this bug, for 3 reasons:

    1) My gardening workflow involves locked down plants. I don't use my backpack. So the whole thing just messes me all up.

    2) I lost a bag of 47 new plants that were on Day 8 last night, because I set them on the ground while reorganizing and forgot to put them back in my backpack. I did not set them into a secure container because I discovered last week that, for whatever reason, whenever I took a bag out of my backpack, put it in a secure, then put it back into my pack (even if it was only in the secure for 5 minutes while I reorganized), I lost a growth day. Setting them on the ground didn't seem to affect the clock. But it sure affects my sanity WHEN I LOSE 47 PLANTS!!!

    3) I much prefer the growth checks happening at server-up, as they do with locked down plants. Last night, I tended my plants late after work - 11pm. Today, my only chance to play is now, 6pm - but my backpack plants won't grow until after 11pm. Well, I might not be awake.

    GRRR!!!

    Has there been ANY dev response to this? Is it going to be fixed? Anytime soon?

    I know #2 is my own fault but it wouldn't have happened if this bug didn't exist.

    /end rant

    Sorry. I'm just frustrated to ridiculous proportions.
     
  26. Beastmaster

    Beastmaster Guest

    The only response we have had does not address the lockdown issue but just the cactus color issues.

    see here

    edit: and this from FoF
     
  27. Sakkarah_

    Sakkarah_ VIP
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would just need a quick confirmation from you guys that you only had this lockdown issue with the new plants or if it also involves the old plants. Cuz if it's just the new plants, there could be much rejoicing in the near future. If not, back to hair pulling for moi!

    If my theory is right, you currently should have np tending the old plants and the flowery cactus while locked down, only the other new plants should be bugged.
     
  28. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    only the new ones, for the older plants all is as normal. In fact one of the new plants functions normally, the flowering cactus, coincidentally the same one that we're getting fire versions of from the naturalist quest. Or maybe that's not a coincidence?
     
  29. Sakkarah_

    Sakkarah_ VIP
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOOT!

    That's what I thought. Should be fixed in 56 then :D
     
  30. Callie

    Callie Guest

    Speaking for myself and others I have spoken to on Cats, this is what I can confirm:

    The NEW plants are tendable when locked down and secure before they "pop" into mature plants. Once they pop, they must be released and tended in my backpack. I am then able to lock them down (or secure them, either one, I've tried both) and they are able to complete their growth check at the next server up time. I have tried to tend them locked down after unlocking them, but I find that I still must unlock and pick up every single little (or big, ha!) new plant that I need to water and tend.
    The OLD plants have had no appreciable changes in the way that I tend them, ie, locked down or secured on my roof until they spit out all their resources, seeds and are placed in deco mode.
    I haven't run the naturalist quest since the new plants came out, mostly due to time, but also...how many cacti do I really want? HEHE

    Thanks for listening Regine!
     
  31. debsmad

    debsmad Guest

    Woohoo! THANK YOU, Regine!
     
  32. Teeshy

    Teeshy Guest

    Yayyyy! =D

    Thanks Sak! =D
     
  33. Lady_Emma

    Lady_Emma Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I click the flower in the left upper position of the plant and get to next menu but there is nothing in the upper right hand cornor to click to make them decrative so i just keep holding them . Very annoying
     
  34. Spellbound

    Spellbound Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    90

    They need to be healthy or vibrant, and on day 9 before you can put them into deco mode.
     
  35. Umfufu

    Umfufu Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    9
    Actually I made a test about 2 weeks ago, I could put dying plants into decco mode.
    On day 9 ofcourse.

    Because the plants I know I will put into decco mode I tend on day 7, but always skip day 8, so I knew wilted worked, but was curious for dying ones, so I let 2 plants go to day 10 & 11 without tending. Once in dying mode I attempted and succeeded in putting them into decco mode.