1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

New spots into the thread

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ivory Norwind, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. Ivory Norwind

    Ivory Norwind Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    10
    I disagree with the new politic of stratics.
    The spots into the threads.
    I'm very angry
     
  2. Aran

    Aran INFRACTION INFRACTION INFRACTION!
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend -A-

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    14,717
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Spots? Politics? This looks like a job for OFF TOPIC!
     
  3. Risso

    Risso Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    102
    This. Please remove your indignity from my UO forum.
     
  4. G.v.P

    G.v.P Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,644
    Likes Received:
    831
    If I knew what this poster was trying to talk about...I'd defend. I guess Stratics ads.
     
  5. Tukaram

    Tukaram Guest

    I was thinking they meant maybe ads? But I've used Firefox with AdBlocker so long I forgot the internet even had ads at all.
     
  6. Scratch

    Scratch Guest

    well i do kinda agree with the new middle of the thread ads as if stratics pages didnt already load slow as sheet.....who wants to see more bs inthe middle of all the bs we supply, especially for games not related to uo......if we wanted to see other game ads we would go to other forums.....

    down with all the ads in the forums, get rid of them and release the lag dogs....
     
  7. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Where would you like the ads to be?
    No ads = no income.
    No income = no Stratics.
    It's pretty elemental.
    There is only an advert in the middle of threads for people not logged in, and that's always been there.
     
  8. Tangled Metal

    Tangled Metal Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    144
    I am logged in just fine and there is a big ole ad right after the OP on every thread...
     
  9. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    strange. I only have a narrow one at the top below the heading and a square one at the right of the reply box. Can you make me a screenie? I'll ask Justin about it when he wakes.
     
  10. Restroom Cowboy

    Restroom Cowboy Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    All depends on the browser you use. :( I use firefox and never see any ads while logged in.
     
  11. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    I use firefox too, but I've allowed ads on Stratics. I'd kinda like it if we got the income to keep going. But I'm not seeing one in the middle of the threads
     
  12. Phaen Grey

    Phaen Grey Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use firefox with flash blocker and I have a large add separating the original post from the rest of the replies, also while I am logged in.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Tangled Metal

    Tangled Metal Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    144
    I assure you it looks just like it does when you are not logged in. An ad right after the first post in every thread. It isn't even the right size ad, it is a 220x220 or so block ad right in the middle as if it was centered. A banner add would be way less distracting. Been like that all day for me.

    BTW- I am running Firefox 3.5.8 with no adblocker, but I am about to get one installed.
     
  14. Coragin

    Coragin Guest

    I honestly have thought for years EA should run their own forums like EQ and WoW do, only makes sense. But thats just me. I mean the EQ boards here dont have a lot of EQ dev postings...
     
  15. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    oki, that's a total puzzle to me. Even in ie I don't get the square ad below the first post when I'm logged in. I can only suggest you clear cookies and log back in. If it's still there I'll ask Justin to please have a look at it.
     
  16. Saunders

    Saunders Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm signed in, in Firefox, with popup blocker, and get a square ad below the first post. It is annoying.
     
  17. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Understood. But I don't know why some people are getting it and some aren't. I can only guess that it's held in your browser cache. If someone would please clear that and eliminate that as a possible cause it would be helpful.
     
  18. Saunders

    Saunders Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    4
    On the other hand there is a black square next to the reply pane, whare a square advert would fit nicely. Has the image gone astray somehow in the programming?
     
  19. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    That would appear to be entirely possible. Ok, what could cause the ad to appear in a different place when we're using the same browser? I'm on firefox 3.5.8 running on windows xp X64 and I see the add to the right of the reply box (where it should be) Ie 8 also shows it correctly
     
  20. Silly Seadog

    Stratics Veteran It's My Birthday

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    7
  21. Flutter

    Flutter Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    21,553
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    I am seeing this as well and it's lagging my browser pretty bad.
    I too run firefox with ad block
     
  22. FrejaSP

    FrejaSP Queen of The Outlaws
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    17,279
    Likes Received:
    3,229
    I do in EI 7 and I'm logged in as I can post
     
  23. GreywolfUK

    GreywolfUK Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am the same, I am using the latest version of Firefox, which is v3.6 with the latest version of ABP on Windows 7 x64, also happens on my other machines with xp and vista installed, stratics is added to the block list and I am still seeing the ads.

    You might not like this, but I tell it the way I see it. Seems to me stratics is using tricks to bypass ad blockers, either intentionally or a mistake in programming, either way it is a real pain.
     
  24. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    We're not intentionally by-passing blockers. I had to turn mine off to see any adverts at all!

    When I did turn them off I saw exactly what I should see. A shallow ad at the top and a square one at the side.

    Can we have less of the conspiracy theories and more realistic suggestions please? How many have actually tried clearing browser cache?
     
  25. falseprophet

    falseprophet Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    12
    Petra I disabled my blocker and saw what they are seeing, then I cleared my cache. It is still there in the big square right below the OP just like the screen shots.


    *edit: wonder if it has something to do with this "register now" auto-post?

    [​IMG]
     
  26. jack flash uk

    jack flash uk Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    76
    Register Now Cr*p

    this comes up after every post now, i AM registered so how do i get rid of the annoying crap?
     
  27. jack flash uk

    jack flash uk Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,260
    Likes Received:
    76
    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    see my point?
     
  28. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    oki. I can't do anything, it's beyond my abilities, but as soon as I can I'll pass it along. Please be patient till then.
     
  29. Guido_LS

    Guido_LS Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    S/he's probably talking about this - which is exactly what I posted about the first time this came up (which, btw, again shows up if you are registered or not).
     

    Attached Files:

    • ads.jpg
      ads.jpg
      File size:
      91.8 KB
      Views:
      165
  30. QueenZen

    QueenZen Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    13,642
    Likes Received:
    173
    No conspiracy theories here boss lady ! :)

    It happened to me too when I went to read posts this morning.

    I figured :

    1. it is only happening to me.

    2. it is happening to others too either intentional or some quirk

    3. go to UO Hall and see if other posters were having the same issue this
    morning

    4. found this thread :)

    5. an ad was always appearing between the OP and second post for me as well

    6. the ad box next to the quick reply box is BLANK AND BLACK for me

    7. was thinking ok maybe that ad is floating where it should not go :)

    8. Win XP here, IE 8 pokey dial up

    9. I just did a scan disc and defrag got rid of some temp internet files,
    compacted and refreshed this page

    10. Now I am no longer seeing that ad after the OP no more

    11. so either Justin woke up & fixed it, or my scan disc'ing and dumping some
    internet files fixed it for me atm

    :)

    dunno but I am not seeing the ad after the OP no more. YAY

    The ad that should be by quick reply still showing only a black box though.

    Stratics could also float an add between the stratics logo and ankh up there too if they wanted to add any other ad ! :)
     
  31. Then why am I getting ads from the "Register Now" user in every thread I make, when I stay logged in?

    I do have to agree though, ads in the middle of threads do nothing more than to make a long page even longer. Banner ads and such are fine and dandy, but the ads within the threads are obtrusive and annoying.
     
  32. Guido_LS

    Guido_LS Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh goodie - it seems there are at least 2 different things going on at once - either a large ad directly in the second spot, or the register now spot that uses the OP's sig...

    Oh, and for those that didn't seem to understand the post, I'm 99.99999999% sure that Ivory meant to use the word POLICIES, and not politics - S/he does better with ESL than many native speakers do...
     
  33. QueenZen

    QueenZen Always Present
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    13,642
    Likes Received:
    173
    Opps it's back............ :)

    Now I am getting the ad with the register now right after the OP's post.

    Um good luck with this yall !

    :)rolleyes:
     
  34. AdamD

    AdamD Guest

    Those using ad block plus probably don't have your filters setup properly
    You need to subscribe to a filter list before it blocks any ads.
    I do keep ads blocked here, because of issues with viruses being installed through the ads here in the past, not something I want to risk.

    Stratics should think about offering a Stratics plus type service again.
     
  35. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    Try logging in - That fixes it for most people.

    There seems to be a bug causing it to happen to some people that are logged in. It is being looked into.
     
  36. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    Um wouldn't he/she be logged in if they posted. I have been getting them for along time now.
     
  37. Re: Register Now Cr*p

    Doesn't work...
     
  38. BartofCats

    BartofCats Guest

    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    I did log in, I still see the "register now" crud.
     
  39. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    I believe that something might be possible along those lines, if it looks to be viable. Only Justin can say for certain. I do know that he has taken precautions against viruses.
     
  40. Silly Seadog

    Stratics Veteran It's My Birthday

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    7
    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    Arrrr, me just done noticed it here for the first time! Mayhaps they be playin' around testin' some o' the forum features?
     
  41. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,888
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Re: Register Now Cr*p

    oki, I'm going to merge this with the other post about the boards not functioning quite right. It will be sorted as soon as possible.
     
  42. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Actually, I think the auto addition of the second post was meant to bypass the ad blockers.

    J.Hall did mention there were going to be changes and explained why the adverts are needed. Looking at the various changes to the types of ads recently, I believe they are trying to test/gauge which advertising methods work best.

    I totally understand the reasons to have ads. At the very minimum, they pay for the bandwidth and server usage. At best, making enough profit for the owners to continue to engage/devote resources to improve/keep Stratics going.

    Until the recent changes, the admins have not interfered with the community's freedom to use ad-blockers.



    I would like to invite J.Hall to consider the various reasons folks are using ad blockers:

    1) One metric that determines whether people use a site is the response speed of the site. You can have the best site in the world, but if it takes several minutes to respond/load a page, no one would come back

    2) The google ads being loaded by stratics are taking a long time to load (due to the bandwidth they have allocated to the adsense server, or due to connectivity of the users to the google servers. This also means problems with the adsense servers will affect the response speed of stratics pages as well)

    3) Instead of loading smaller static adverts, they are loading flash adverts, which are alot bigger

    4) Flash adverts requires flash player to run, some folks do not want to install/run flash player (due to security exploits), not to mention that the ads were infected with trojans a couple of times

    5) Flash player takes up computer resources to run, it runs really slowly on pcs with slow CPUs/less RAM. Also, users that loads pages in new windows will have multiple instances of flash player running that will slow things down tremendously



    Perhaps you can consider limiting google ads to only the text and image ads? I like the static image ads you were adding to the second posts. The one that you were using prior to the latest change, loads fast with minimal intrusion.

    If folks don't feel that the ads are causing a degrade in performance/security issues, most would likely not actively search out ad blockers that will disable the new advertising methods.

    Thank you for reading this.
     
  43. Mapper

    Mapper Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    110
    I'm using AdBlock in Firefox and don't see these, If you have it installed and you see the ads try this:

    Click the arrow pointing down that is to the right of the ABP logo (top right of Firefox).

    Then click Preferences

    Then click Filters and Add Filter Subscription (top left)

    I use the first one 'EasyList USA' then click Subscribe and Apply, You might need to restart Firefox.
     
  44. Tangled Metal

    Tangled Metal Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    144
    Well at least now it is showing up as a post that says please Register, but as you can see by my posting now, I am registered....
     
  45. Ally Oop

    Ally Oop Guest

    I use IE mostly and Opera. The ad is there under the first post with a large picture of Fallen Sword game. It came up on both and has been there for a while now. Sometimes there are 4 smaller pictures of games which makes the ad larger. Even logged in on top the ad is still there. I suppose I could register like it wants me to but then, dang another password and user name to make up probably. I have enough of them to try to remember as it is.

    While Im here is it possible to make another log in place at the bottom of the thread? I usually read through the whole thing then decide to add something and have to scroll all the way back up to log in.
    Thanks and have a good day.



    Just noticed, on different threads that I have gone to there have been different ads. Some are anamated.
     
  46. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    I have Firefox as well and see what you are mentioning. One banner ad between forum header and thread box - one to the right of the reply box.
     
  47. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    Re: New spots into the thread - CHECK THREAD MODE!!!

    Ivory - are you viewing threads in Linear mode? If so, you will get the ad immediately after the OP as you and others state. In hybrid or threaded mode I do not see the add there.

    Try changing you viewing style and it should disappear.
     
  48. Beer_Cayse

    Beer_Cayse Guest

    THREAD MODE CAUSES IT

    Change thread display mode from Linear to either Hybrid or Threaded and that ad disappears.

    I have FireFox but ad appears only in linear mode. I normally run threaded and did not see it.
     
  49. JHall

    JHall Guest

    Working on a fix now, should be showing differently very shortly.
     
  50. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Both issues seem to be resolved for me now. No ad placed after the first post in a thread and no "Please Register" post after the first post.

    I am using IE8 and linear mode.

    Thanks for the fast fix!