1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

new town holders

Discussion in 'UO Factions' started by Cash, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. Cash

    Cash Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    my faction took over some towns but we've been unable to do anything with them.... i was given finance minister position to place a horse breeder... keeps telling me i must be in our controlled town when i try to bring up my options... and yes i was in the same town as my title... ****s broken!
     
  2. Poo

    Poo The Grandest of the PooBah’s
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend Campaign Benefactor 4H

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,841
    Likes Received:
    2,394
    guess the first question is are you in the town proper?

    some towns like yew and brit have strange boarders.

    try doing it right where the town stone and sigil stone are.

    barring that, make sure YOU are in the right town.
    if they assigned you Vesper, make sure you are in vesper.

    short of that, i know all the GMs are gonna say to ya is to wait till server down to see if that corrects it.
     
  3. MiNi MaGi

    MiNi MaGi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    5
    something is def wrong cause i had the same prob on drachenfels and baja.. and it hasnt worked for a week.. for sherrifs or finance ministers.
     
  4. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Three things seem to have happened recently that might be related:

    Guard zones have been restored in faction towns.

    People are having trouble placing traps in faction towns.

    People are having trouble placing faction fendors in faction towns.

    Just a guess, but maybe whoever restored the guard zones just copied the rules for nonfaction towns and lost the coding for any faction-related exceptions like traps and vendors?
     
  5. Viquire

    Viquire Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,456
    Likes Received:
    507
    O

    M

    G

    yes that makes sense in a wildly incompetent way.
     
  6. MiNi MaGi

    MiNi MaGi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    5
    sounds like our dev team!!:thumbup1:
     
  7. Kat

    Kat Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran TnT/TnA

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    425
    Tina - I was thinking the same thing. We are having similar problems on Siege. We [Minax] control a number of the towns, but cannot access the Finance Minister gumps. We are getting the same message as the OP... "You must be in a town you control...blahblahblah", but we are all but standing on top of the town stone itself. I have tried accessing it from numerous locations, even outside the guardzone on the off-chance that it was reversed somehow. No dice! Sheriff commands are not working for us either. =/
     
  8. Coragin

    Coragin Guest

    Same here, cant place a damn horse breeder. Hoping a server update will fix it. Any chance anyone waited for a server up for faction point update?
     
  9. ruaduck

    ruaduck Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm wondering if the town itself is updating to the new faction holder... i noticed thati am in SL. we own the town... some reverted to SL...others stayed COM. now even the ones i saw that were SL are now COM again..even though we own the town.