1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[News] Origin to be Published

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Guest, May 1, 2008.

  1. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Wooohoo!

    Pixelcrackheads everywhere, your dealer is coming.
     
  2. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    *grins* Yeah kinda afraid to turn anything in just for testing purposes but what the heck, it's only pixels! *laughs*

    Oh I *Thought* Drac said they were moving the housing changes to Pub 53.....but I have a spare house I'm gonna test it with anyway just in case.
     
  3. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Posted to <a target="_blank" href=http://www.uoherald.com/news/>uoherald.com:</a><blockquote><span class=osi></p> [​IMG]
    <font size=+1>Origin to be Published </br></font> <font size=-1>Jeremy Dalberg </font> 01 May 2008 15:16:06

    At 3:30PM on Thursday, May 01 Origin will be taken down to be updated with Publish 52. Estimated downtime is apporoximately one hour.</p> For complete publish notes, see <a target="_blank" href=http://update.uo.com/design_590.html> Here </A>
     
  4. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Housing changes should have been pulled, not enough time to test them. We never even got to test a single IDOC. I tried to do some testing just now and got hit with the "you tried to place too many times, try again later". I only did it like a dozen times. How can you position a house just right like this?
     
  5. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I agree.. we should be able to see a RED area on the VERY space that is offending.. So we can know what and where if we need to move it over. Less errors placing if I KNOW not to place over a rock under a bush.
     
  6. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Yeah JC I am VERY bad at placing houses, I've had to try at LEAST a dozen times before I got a house to place sometimes....it's rather irritating!
     
  7. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I counted it the restriction. You can only attempt placement 20 times and then it locks you out for over 10 minutes. I'll post when I know the exact length of time.
     
  8. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    I just noticed on test there is a gate that says IDOC Test 4:30 PM EST

    So lets make sure we are there to see what happens.
     
  9. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Wonder if they fixed the slippery snake skins to properly drop with random colors. Or if they changed the Ophidian Journals so they're worth more than the 5x as common Ophidian Orders.
     
  10. viper of flames

    viper of flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also went to my area on test and tried to place and I to got the same message.I had to wait what 5 to 10 mins or so to try again not very good.
    Let's just say if you resize your home and drop it then end up with this kind of error your placing your home at risk.Now how about we add in some pk's if you live in fel are you protected while your placing?


    I can see it now
    Joe: drops house to try and upgrade it from 13x14 to 16x18
    Joe: Message you cant place right now you have tried to many times ,try again later.
    Joe: OMG
    Joe: watches a blue walk by and try to place,Hey this is my area get out.
    Blue: Oh yeah brb
    Joe: trys to place again [​IMG]
    Joe: Oh great 0o0o0o0o0o


    Joe: gets rez and runs back 0o0o0o0o0
    Joe: calls GM I cant place because a red is killing me.
    Message: Please visit our boards and tery to find your answers there we cant help you with lost items.
    Joe: WHAT
    Joe: runs back and the blue is laughing on a 18x18 plot.

    You get my point hehe im not great and making so called talking player posts .
     
  11. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    I also went to my area on test and tried to place and I to got the same message.I had to wait what 5 to 10 mins or so to try again not very good.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    You only had to wait 10 minutes? I am coming up on 30 now and still can't open the tool.
     
  12. viper of flames

    viper of flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    I stopped and placed a keep since my kids are jumping all over me hehe.It's like those pixies casing after you you have no place to run.*watches a flying pillows go over my head * ok now i have to log from here as well [​IMG]
     
  13. There's nothing wrong with the timer for house tools, it's suppose to be there to prevent scripting.

    If you can't correctly place a house after 20 tries, then you should consider some contact lenses. If it's a matter of maximizing your house size, place a small plot, then plan out a larger plot, then replace the larger plot later, or wait for publish 53 and use the house resize option.

    If we're speaking of IDOC's, that's what makes it random, you need to plan out when you place, so no more spamming house placement using a scripting program or a macro loop, that's the purpose of the changes.

    It's that simple.
     
  14. MaryForUo

    MaryForUo Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    18
    <blockquote><hr>

    Housing changes should have been pulled, not enough time to test them. We never even got to test a single IDOC. I tried to do some testing just now and got hit with the "you tried to place too many times, try again later". I only did it like a dozen times. How can you position a house just right like this?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i agree!
    Housing changes should have been pulled, not enough time to test them.

    ..there are more "important iussue" with house placement on TC...
     
  15. <center>


    <blockquote><hr>

    comma's

    [/ QUOTE ]



    [​IMG]

    </center>

    Commas can now be seen in checks (instead of 1000000, you will see 1,000,000)

    JUST check's ?

    *whew !*

    *shakes head*


    come on ..... [​IMG]
     
  16. MaryForUo

    MaryForUo Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    18
    i forgot the dumb tickets, lol
    a cumulative ticket or points, like the old clean up britannia'd be better
    ...great job dev, my compliments!
     
  17. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    There's nothing wrong with the timer for house tools

    [/ QUOTE ]
    30 minutes later and I still can't open the menu.
     
  18. <blockquote><hr>

    30 minutes later and I still can't open the menu.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Perhaps they'll disclose the amount of time, or if it's random, and thinking more on it, more than 20 minutes seems to be a bit much to me too, although I still think 20 tries is enough to place a house.

    As for any other issues and bugs... the publish can stay on test center for 1,000 years, but if we don't report them to the devs, then they won't be fixed regardless, so if anyone finds something that's really out of place, make sure to speak up and pinpoint what it is like some people have already done.
     
  19. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I think it took 45 minutes for the timer to wear off on my character.

    Just opening the menu put me back into lockout mode. I didn't even try to place a house. How wonderful. So if you open it and then scroll to the 18x18 page, there goes 5 of your house placing chances I think.
     
  20. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    On track with this post.

    TO DRACONI OR ANYONE ELSE ON THE DEV TEAM

    I have been informed that the donation box in the guard tower is not there...on Origin.
     
  21. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Housing changes should have been pulled, not enough time to test them. We never even got to test a single IDOC. I tried to do some testing just now and got hit with the "you tried to place too many times, try again later". I only did it like a dozen times. How can you position a house just right like this?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I agree; push them out to about publish 70
     
  22. <blockquote><hr>

    I think it took 45 minutes for the timer to wear off on my character.

    Just opening the menu put me back into lockout mode. I didn't even try to place a house. How wonderful. So if you open it and then scroll to the 18x18 page, there goes 5 of your house placing chances I think.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    If that's true then it definitely needs to be fixed, 20 chances to place a house is fine, 4 isn't, and the time should be halved (no more than 20 minutes)
     
  23. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Water trough bug is still not fixed. I wonder if they placed one to check that or it was just a coincidence. Also when the house decayed only 1/4 of it did for me. I rarely see that bug, perhaps the new flashy effects had something to do with it.
     
  24. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Currently testing the trade-ins and subsequent points recieved for each.

    Slippery Snake Skins are supposed to give 450 Pts. are only giving 400.
    Gold Sovereigns are giving the correct 10,000Pts.

    Continuing to test.
     
  25. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Further testing shows the Journals were upped from 200-2500 so that's good.
    Copper Coins-100
    Silver Coins-500
    Rubble-800
    Berserker's Scythe-10,000
    Plain Shield/Sword-100

    So far the skins are the only ones that differ, that and the journals were raised.

    Good stuff.
     
  26. Guest

    Guest Guest

    These housing changes are so messed up. After you wait potentially for hours and it collapses, you're going to have to wait 20+ minutes to place? I thought it would be 20 minutes maximum. All worthwhile loot is generally gone in under 5 minutes for the largest houses.

    One nice thing about IDOCs was if you stuck it out you could get rewarded. But now after it falls there is a huge window in which anyone can show up and go for the spot. You have next to no chance at all of getting it with a ~45 minute cool down timer. This won't even help casual players because they'll use up all their chances to place while the professionals space them out and use as many accounts as possible.

    Then on top of this there wasn't any changes to demolition pending!

    *Added*

    On further contemplation these changes are absolute bull. They didn't fix the bug that causes you to crash sometimes when the house falls. They added a flashy explosion which is going to cause tons of lag at a large IDOC (probably would have crashed Atlantic that one time a GM had to show up and tell us the shard was unstable at a Castle decay). They have dumbed down placing so only the incredibly lucky or those with 20 accounts will get them. They made it so replacing your own houses is going to be more difficult. They didn't fix the bug that makes it so only part or none of the house disappears.

    This sucks all the fun out of house placement and does absolutely nothing to fix the complaints people had about them.

    *Added 2*

    It is 50 minutes later and people still can't place at the test IDOC.
     
  27. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Remember the times are going to be RANDOM! I think it's perfect!!!

    Get this...a house falls, 3 hours later someone places...

    Next day..a house falls....3 hours later noone can place....3 DAYS later finally!

    Next day..a house falls, 45 minutes later someone places

    It's SUPPOSED to be random....the loot is set to be script-proof, the plot set to disallow script placers...the housing tools have a set amount of uses before they break, new players younger then 15 days cannot place...Scriptors have a max of what.....3-4 toons at the IDOCS...that's accounts that HAVE to be older then 15 days...I think this change is great.
     
  28. The times on the IDOC's and the housing tool just seem to be a bit...much. Anything more than 20-30 minutes and it gets to be extremely boring and tenuous.
     
  29. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Next day..a house falls....3 hours later noone can place....3 DAYS later finally!

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Yeah, those people at Luna houses waiting around for 3 days to place are going to be ecstatic about the changes. As if enough people didn't get pissed off a demolition pending houses sitting around for 8 measly hours, now you want them to suffer for 3 days.
     
  30. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Commas can now be seen in checks (instead of 1000000, you will see 1,000,000)

    JUST check's ?

    *whew !*

    *shakes head*


    come on ..... [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    LOL...yeah, hoping that doesn't mean the addition of commas will be LIMITED to checks...on vendors is another place where we REALLY need them.

    -Skylark
     
  31. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I like the change as well. *nods*
     
  32. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    <blockquote><hr>

    Commas can now be seen in checks (instead of 1000000, you will see 1,000,000)

    JUST check's ?

    *whew !*

    *shakes head*


    come on ..... [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    LOL...yeah, hoping that doesn't mean the addition of commas will be LIMITED to checks...on vendors is another place where we REALLY need them.

    -Skylark

    [/ QUOTE ]

    100% agree on this. I've seen many vendors try to use 1's as prices in hopes of people miscounting the digits... paying 111k instead of 11k. I cast my vote to have this changed on vendors in a future publish.
     
  33. <blockquote><hr>

    Remember the times are going to be RANDOM! I think it's perfect!!!

    Get this...a house falls, 3 hours later someone places...

    Next day..a house falls....3 hours later noone can place....3 DAYS later finally!

    Next day..a house falls, 45 minutes later someone places

    It's SUPPOSED to be random....the loot is set to be script-proof, the plot set to disallow script placers...the housing tools have a set amount of uses before they break, new players younger then 15 days cannot place...Scriptors have a max of what.....3-4 toons at the IDOCS...that's accounts that HAVE to be older then 15 days...I think this change is great.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    [​IMG]

    Larisa "gets it" ... [​IMG] Random/unpredictable drops .... with a period of looting (while you wait/guess about the placing timer)

    Meets most of the ideas and requirements chewed and hammered out ...*shrugs* back then when it was a "hot topic".

    This publish implements several changes to prevent house placement exploits.

    * 15 day character age requirement to place or trade a house (Check! temp accounts)

    * Water barrels/magic fields/etc will no longer block house placement (Check! barrels and pitchers)

    * When a house is placed on top of a moongate, the placer will get a message about placement being blocked, and the moongate will be destroyed (at both ends.)
    [​IMG] first I've heard of gates as a problem ... but .... maybe better to disallow gates(for "small local area") ... like placement ... doesn't sound as bad as barrel's were ... but ... lrc suit and a script/determination ... [​IMG] ... *shrugs* ... NO gates castable.

    o IDOC behavior (houses that collapse through decay) When an IDOC drops, housing cannot be placed on the lot for a random amount of time
    (Check! ... sweet)

    o Items that drop from the IDOC will have protections against scripted looting
    (Check! double Check! depending on implementation this ALONE should "put paid to" to this publish)

    * House placement tool will have a cooldown if used too many times in a given time period (Check! combats scritters AND UOA macro's)

    * Must now wait one hour after building a home before demolishing it (previously 15 minutes) (Check! and depending on how "re-sizing" ends up working out ... [​IMG] I can see a way that THIS works against the multi account scritters .... especially if there's a delay &gt;after&lt; "demolish" BEFORE a placement with acct/char/tool is allowed)

    Two ... three months ...let it "settle in" .. (become familiar) ... [​IMG] time to go after all the "perma placed" wastes of real-estate
     
  34. Larisa

    Larisa Reporting Manager
    Editor Reporter Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Editor Fallen Lords

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    1,954
    Fixed a bug where players that use the Basket of Herbs could lose 20 points of cooking when the effect wears off instead of 10 points of cooking.

    TESTED CONFIRMED WORKING PROPERLY



    Players should no longer be able to stable pets while a pet trade gump is open.

    TESTED CONFIRMED WORKING


    Fixed an issue with Ronin not being able to access secures in their own houses if permissions were set to "guild"

    Never had an issue with this but all ronins in my RP guild are able to access *guild only* secures.



    When a monster casts Curse on players the icon should now show in the buff icon tool bar

    TESTED CONFIRMED WORKING (Darn liches)


    Fixed a bug where some "Sacks of Flour" could not be used as a cooking ingredient.

    Never had an issue with this and still don't, sacks of flour seem to be working as intended.


    Fixed a bug with the weight of stacks of bola balls being incorrect.

    Trying to locate my bola's, when I do will let you know.



    Commas can now be seen in checks (instead of 1000000, you will see 1,000,000)

    YES! WORKING AS INTENDED I LOVE THAT! DO put comma's in ALL prices, vendors and stuff but the checks is a good start.
     
  35. People just placed now on the Test Center IDOC.

    So that's around 1 hour and 45 minutes.
     
  36. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Larisa "gets it" ... [​IMG] Random/unpredictable drops .... with a period of looting (while you wait/guess about the placing timer)

    [/ QUOTE ]
    No, you both don't get it. This won't stop scripting and will just piss of non-scripters into letting the scripters place. One hour and 40 minutes of staring at an open spot trying to place? A lot of people have no idea when an IDOC will collapse. So instead of randomizing the timer prior to it falling, you now have it randomized after.

    These changes are awful and feedback should have been able to be provided before they went out to Origin. To me this is one of the biggest design screw ups since...............I can't even remember. To purposefully kill something claiming it fixes scripting when it doesn't, it is disgraceful.
     
  37. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I personally think they should randomize the fall time too. That would be interesting.
     
  38. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Hey Jeremy, I found a Exploit to your house placement thingy. Give me a reward.....hehe

    You tied the 20 attempts to place a house to the house tool, "I had 8 of them", as a total, and to the player. So no matter how many different tools you tried, the total is 20 attempts. BUT YOU DID NOT TIE IT TO THE ACCOUNT.

    Log in all 5 players on account and log them out by the IDOC. Log in player 1, attempt 20 placements, Recall to inn, log out, and log in player 2 on your account, and you get 20 more attempts to place a house. I just tried it 100 times. hehehe
     
  39. Sheri_UO

    Sheri_UO Guest

    Dont you own a house yet? Whats the big deal?
     
  40. Kaj

    Kaj Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    5
    <blockquote><hr>

    <blockquote><hr>

    Commas can now be seen in checks (instead of 1000000, you will see 1,000,000)

    JUST check's ?

    *whew !*

    *shakes head*


    come on ..... [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    LOL...yeah, hoping that doesn't mean the addition of commas will be LIMITED to checks...on vendors is another place where we REALLY need them.

    -Skylark

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Oh my, that sucks. I was really, really hoping for vendors too. I am getting sick and tired of counting 0's whenever I put something big on one of my vendors.
     
  41. In the list I cannot find the inability to vote in factions for characters youger than 15 days. Is that just an oversight in the patch notes or do I have to worry about faction election piloted by trial accounts?
     
  42. Peladon_LA

    Peladon_LA Guest

    i just want to know one thing, when u click on the house placement tool and your locked out of it, does it still display your bank balance? some of us only keep the tools in out backpacks to check our balance to make sure of how many times we can die (or be killed for that matter)
     
  43. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    i just want to know one thing, when u click on the house placement tool and your locked out of it, does it still display your bank balance?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    No, you can't open the menu at all.
     
  44. Guest

    Guest Guest

    When shall the Ophidians starts dropping rations on the non reds. IF that is the case at all.
     
  45. <blockquote><hr>

    I only did it like a dozen times. How can you position a house just right like this?


    [/ QUOTE ]

    A dozen times for placing a 7x7? I just finished reading all your complaining up to and including page 3. I think your arguement is not valid because anybody can place a small plot in less than 10 tries.

    Perhaps you could further explain your gripe?
     
  46. Guest

    Guest Guest

    I ran into the limit just trying to do a couple placements to see if they fixed the block bug. It came as a complete surprise. If I hit the limit doing that then placing larger houses is going to become such a pain. Placing a 7x7 in an open field and placing an 18x18 that only fits in one exact spot are two different things.
     
  47. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    <blockquote><hr>

    I only did it like a dozen times. How can you position a house just right like this?


    [/ QUOTE ]

    A dozen times for placing a 7x7? I just finished reading all your complaining up to and including page 3. I think your arguement is not valid because anybody can place a small plot in less than 10 tries.

    Perhaps you could further explain your gripe?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It can take a lot of tries if there's stuff blocking the house placement in one way or another. I remember spending dozens and dozens of tries to get my mountain house placed, apparently even though there was supposed to be room for more according to the house placement rules, it still didn't allow it and it had to be even smaller.
     
  48. Ok, but if you first claim the spot with a 7x7, can't you then use the resize option? You could attempt to resize several times a day until you get it just right. Also, you could do a little research and use some graph paper to plot down exactly where you can occupy, thus eliminating "blind" placing attempts.

    I have land barriers, house barriers, and city limit barriers that required a day of hand-drawing/planning. I now know exactly how big and where I can place using bandages as ground markers. Items no longer block house placement anymore.

    Why should the developers accommodate someone like yourself when the means to place are readily available? I believe the need to stop scripting supercedes your lack of time or desire to research.
     
  49. Guest

    Guest Guest

    <blockquote><hr>

    Ok, but if you first claim the spot with a 7x7, can't you then use the resize option?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    The resize option was removed. All housing changes should have been pulled for further testing. We didn't even get to test one IDOC before it was published.
     
  50. Africanus

    Africanus Guest

    Who cares, bring in the new changes and let the whoppin begin. Now that the changes will be in there will be no more excuses for those persons who can't handle the pace.

    All the nonsense and further changes can be handled as we go along.

    Goodluck to all fellow guinea pigs!