1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

OBS Recording Help

Discussion in 'UO Warrior' started by Mikeltin5, May 7, 2015.

  1. Mikeltin5

    Mikeltin5 Journeyman

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    31
    When I normally record, you see the entire screen from top to bottom, left to right. I'd like to focus in on just the game window to make it a larger viewing pane for others with smaller screens. Anyone know how to select how big the recording window is on OBS??
     
  2. sibble

    sibble Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend 151

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    332
    Under Sources:
    Right-click the white area to add a new Source.
    Add->Game Capture
    (by the way, you should have the game already running)
    Select Application: (name of the window with your game)

    Should be good from there.
     
  3. Mikeltin5

    Mikeltin5 Journeyman

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    31
    I can't confirm as I'm not at my home comp atm, but I believe I already have that setting. I'm able to record UO, but what I would like to do is focus in on the UO screen itself (leave out all the black space for recording purposes). I could simply close out the paperdoll, backpack, and anything else that's on the screen and make the game window larger (using EC), but I tend to need those things open when I play.

    Is there a way to leave all that up but have OBS focus in specifically on that window, thus making it larger when the video is replayed?
     
  4. sibble

    sibble Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend 151

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    332
    I follow you now...

    What you want to do is right click on the Window Capture, Settings->Video.
    High Bandwidth, Base Resolution: 1920 x 1080
    Low Bandwidth, Base Resolution: 1280 x 720
    Resolution Downscale: none (this will really hurt quality if you don't have it set to none.)
    FPS 30 is enough
    Disable Aero

    So basically now you're forcing the recording area to be exactly 1920 x 1080.

    If you're in enhanced client:
    Preview Stream
    Stretch gaming window until it fills the preview

    Classic Client:
    There's nothing you can do here, maximum game play area is 800 x 600

    Lemme know if that doesn't help!
     
  5. sibble

    sibble Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend 151

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    332
    I forgot one thing...

    If the black area really bothers you, and you're decent with creating images, you can always create a background/border image and add it as a source (image), then move it over the black area.

    I'm no graphic designer but I've used photoshop for many years, you gota be at least somewhat familiar with image editing to do this.