1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok, a question came up in the Fishing Forum - of all places...

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by startle, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    [​IMG]So there's a thread in the Fishing Forum regarding placing (locking down) items aboard a galleon, and we were discussing how many "tiles" an item took.​
    My question there was:
    This is what Irulia Darkaith said there:
    (and I'm asking it again here since I still don't understand and the odds of anyone seeing it in that Fishing thread are somewhat smaller than they are here) -

    Well, that answer confused me even more (not that confusing me could be considered an accomplishment by any stretch of the imagination)... I mean, so I drop something on the floor in my house. How then am I to know how many "tiles" it is taking?

    Really sorry to be so dense, but let me try to be clearer with a pic:

    [​IMG]

    It has always just really "irked" me that chests refuse to drop on a neat floor square, and now I've proven that they "could" if the Dev's wanted them to... I mean, look at that chest that I copy/pasted in that sits perfectly on 1 square.... I know, I suppose I'm not considering the "z" axis or something, but sheesh... I mean should we really be forced to use "optical illusion" to just be neat and orderly?
    God, I can't believe I said that.... I am NOT a neat freak, I swear... not really...
     
    #1 startle, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
  2. Barry Gibb

    Barry Gibb Of Saintly Patience
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    235
    I count the number of tiles it prevents me from walking through. Some of the items look like they occupy more than one tile, where as they actually do not, because of the 2d isometric view of UO. The metal and wooden chests are a good example.

    Stayin Alive,

    BG
     
  3. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    Exactly...hopefully Barry's explanation makes more sense, but this is what I was trying to convey.

    In your picture, you have the perfect floor tile for figuring stuff like this out, and yes, the yellow box is 1 tile. I think where you're getting confused is by the graphics. Items can have a very small footprint (meaning number of blocking tiles), while having a very large graphic. A classic example of this are the trees you place with tokens. I recently customized my house and wanted to put those trees everywhere, and was amazed how many I could fit into a small area. This is because the trunk only takes one tile, even though the trees foliage appears takes up a 3x3 spot (visually) but it doesn't block placement, therefore the item has a footprint of 1x1.

    In your picture, I'm not sure what you mean by "chests can fit in one tile but they never do" They very much do take up one tile. Try the elven bookcase (think that's what it's called). It looks like it's 2x1 but you can actually walk through half of it because the graphic is bigger than the footprint. Therefore it's footprint is 1x1

    Find a nice clear area, drop the item, then proceed to walk north into the item. If it blocks me then that's one tile. I then move over one tile to the east and try and walk north into the object again...if it blocks me then I know it's two tiles wide....etc, etc...then if I have to, I can face west, and try walking west into the object again to see how many times I'm blocked. When I'm done, I know how many tiles wide and deep the item's footprint..

    I recently had to try this with one of the tailoring looms as it looks deceptively large but really it's only 2x1 (or 1x2 depending on which direction the loom is facing). So when I was customing my house I made sure to leave a alcove that was 2x1 to accomodate the loom.

    If you're still unsure, I can show you in game, just send me a PM or ICQ me at 8249606 for a faster response, but I think Barry explained it quite well.

    As an aside, I believe you could use gozas to figure out an item's size. Place one goza, raise it a few times, then try to place the addon on top. If it's a 2x1 object, it won't place because part of it's not supported. That would be about as scientic as you can get. I only tested this briefly, so don't quote me on that.
     
    #3 Irulia Darkaith, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
    legendsguy likes this.
  4. LadyElizabeth

    LadyElizabeth Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    9
    I think that part of her post was just a ramble about why the graphic is 2 tiles when the item is one, much like with Yew tables. I would love to use those tables in decorating, but since they're a 1x1 footprint they start to look weird if you try making long tables or putting anything next to it.
     
  5. Irulia Darkaith

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    298
    yep, my bad, I didn't even notice all the text below the picture.
     
  6. startle

    startle Siege... Where the fun begins.
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Gilfane

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    First of all let me thank the 3 of you (ID, LE, and BG) for your welcome comments. At least now I have a "method" or 2 to determine an item's "footprint" as ID so appropriatly put it. I'll use the "see if you can walk thru part of it" to know how many tiles it takes, and experiment with the "single gaza" method too...

    While I'm thinking about it, it would be really, really nice if EA could see fit to give us a list of all items (Stratics has a pretty good one already) that would simply include the number of tiles an item takes when placing/locking down ingame. I mean it's not like they don't already have that info readily at hand...

    Just a thought....;)
     
  7. Kayhynn

    Kayhynn Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    543
    I might try to create a list, but it would take a lot of time and research.