1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok Dermott, I"m a believer...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by GarthGrey, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    My nVidia GF5200 simply couldnt handle KR at all. So i finally broke down and went to Best Buy. I bought the VisionTek ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1 GB DDR3 yada yada, I paid $139.00 for it, and another 65.00 for the Power supply upgrade that I needed anyway, and WOW!!. I was running all around the inside of my house, which I"ve never been able to do. I could actually move the paperdoll around the screen without having to wait for an hour. The motion from walking speed on a Dog and running is a little weird, but the playability is definitely sweet. Now I"ve gotta read through the old threads and see how to tweak KR a little. I still love my 2D, but KR looks good to me now, so I'm going to give it a shot.....
     
  2. silent

    silent Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    186
    I wanted to give KR a shot but I gave up when I couldn't patch anymore. tried all the fixes I could find on the board then decided to just stay with 2d. had this issue on two systems.
     
  3. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
  4. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    765
  5. Mistura

    Mistura Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can vouch for it. Theres a world of difference between playing KR on a bad comp and a decent comp.

    Its like a totally different game, and its definitely got alot of good points.

    Still though, even with the legacy patch the graphics don't match up to 2d IMHO :p

    I'm very much looking forward to the release of SA, there is alot of potential there.
     
  6. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Ones you step in the Dark Side of UO (Using KR client) there is no turning back the light! ;)
     
  7. Lady Aalia

    Lady Aalia Atlantic's Finest
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    2
    My new Pc runns KR a wold better then my old one did also,

    I am still not crazy about it though :)
    My House still loads tile after tile and i am not happy with how alot of the things look like , but thats my personal opinion.

    And have to agree a new PC made a HUGE diffrence
     
  8. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    MissEcho - thank you for this guide! :thumbsup:

    I learned more about the KR client in the past 20 minutes of reading your guide that I am now excited to get home from the office to play around with KR a bit more.
    :danceb:
     
  9. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    765
    Great! I redesigned it a couple of months ago, tidied it up etc in preparation for SA so that I can get that up and running asap after launch. That is as 'current' a guide as is out there as I have updated it every patch, although KR hasn't been patched (other than 2d/KR content patches) for well over a year.

    Do read that link that storm posted above about optimizing performance written by Old Man on the KR forum. It is really pretty helpful for those starting up. The modders have done great jobs on some of the custom UI's (esp Bitter Black) which if installed has some great features. For those starting in KR if you are having trouble adjusting to the graphics then I recommend using the legacy art option in User Settings/Graphics (not to be confused with Legacy container art, which I don't recommend!), which makes 95% of items look the same as 2d, but gives the world, water, monsters, buildings etc the KR look.

    The main site is www.spellweave.com/ and has other UO stuff on it for quests, deco, links, item lists etc as well as the KR guide, and where the SA guide will go once SA is up and running.

    Glad the site was informative for you.
     
  10. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    I'm totally disappointed that you (Dermott) didn't even bother replying....*sniff*
     
  11. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Sorry, glad to see things working for you. Next step is getting used to the client and installing the UI mods and adding even more settings to your liking.

    Right now I'm on a business trip and have had very little time (or soberness inn some cases) to read stuff online much less reply.

    Still, good to see you can now give the client a fair shot. Grats on the upgrades!
     
  12. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    4,692
    Yay! I knew there was a lighter side to Dermott! I wanna party with you dude! *winks*
     
  13. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Heh, between the Guild cocktail party and Reds game (in Cinci) on Wednesday and the Hofbrauhaus Newport last night... tonight's kid of low key.

    Sometimes I love business trips... especially when the company is buying the drinks!
     
  14. Im looking for a job :)
     
  15. wrekognize

    wrekognize Guest


    Go Reds!
     
  16. GarthGrey

    GarthGrey Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend GoT

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    I can't seem to figure out how to close a rune book after opening it. Someone care to enlighten me? I've right clicked all over it, eventually it closes and I don't know what i did to do it. I have no problem closing containers.

    And also, what is that Dynamic Objects window in the center, and how do I bring up object handles? Thx
     
  17. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    1. If you're running a custom mod with the "legacy style" runebook, try the top center of the book around the fold. That should be the best spot.

    2. You can also toggler the runebook style in the User Settings under the newly created tab in the custom mod.

    3. If you right click it, you will bring up a context menu that will allow you to set what object handles appear (this is so you can change the object handles shown on the fly instead of digging through User Settings).
     
  18. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    765
    If your using the Bitter Black custom UI closing runebooks is a known bug with that, try clicking on rename then cancel to close it. Bit of a pain but seems to be one of the few problems with BB. Right clicking on the top of the book with the default UI will close the book.

    To bring up Object Handles hold down Control+Shift.

    Right Clicking on the Dynamic Objects box will show the menu : dynamic, corpse, npc, npc vendor, mobiles. Depending on what is selected from the menu is what holding down Control+Shift will show. So if you just want to see corpse object handles select that.

    Dynamic is 'all' object handles, the others are self explainatory eg: Mobiles will bring up object handles for 'moving' things such as monsters etc.

    Seems we answered at the same time Dermott :)
     
  19. Spelosty

    Spelosty Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    I attempted KR on my computer once, it looked amazing! But, I had this massive lag issue, Plus all words turned into boxes on me most of the time.
     
  20. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    When was this, what specs are your system and have you tried the information in the Optimization thread?
     
  21. Spelosty

    Spelosty Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I know my exact problem I have one of those packaged computers that costs a few hundred bucks. Horrible graphics card, plus low RAM (less than 1g).
     
  22. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
  23. Falon of Eldor

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    9
  24. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    MissEcho .....

    Ok, over the weekend I put the Custom UI BB on my KR's.

    Seems to have resolved the resolution issues, as in now I can run 1640x1050 Full Screen and Windowed Full Screen.

    Aside from the Legacy RuneBook, which I just went with the KR default, which in my opinion is better anyway, I did run into one thing.....

    I was putting all my UO Macro's into KR Macros (by typing them in on KR).

    When it came time to do the Pet Vet, I could NOT find an action for target nearest follower. I used Nearest Friendly but that produces some rather strange results sometimes.

    I suspect I am either missing something or the complete action list is not in BB?
     
  25. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    765
    I just target my pets bar with a 'cursor' to vet (I drag them off the pets and put the bars somewhere handy on my screen). Some others use target as 'current' and ensure that they click on their pet to make sure it is the current target. A bit different to how you can do it with uoassist but they say once you get used to it it is manageable.

    Atm I am not sure there are any other targeting options to select a particular pet or person.
     
  26. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Shrug*

    I understand but the targeting actions are native to UO 2D client and thus my expectations were they would be available to KR.

    The "Target Next Follower" is in the one that seems to have been not included
     
  27. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Advanced targeting is an issue with KR at present. Best advice for now is to try and find a setup that gives a decent workaround for the time being.
     
  28. Fink

    Fink Guest

    I have two vet macros. Both are just bandages dropped into a hotbar slot, a key bound to each, and the targeting is the only difference. The first is Target Cursor, so I can chose my own target for when I want to vet multiple pets or other people's pets. The second is Target Current, used for single pets. I leave the pet in question as the current target (with the ring around it). Sometimes I have to select it again if I misclick on something else, but after a while I got the hang of it. This has pretty much replaced all my UO:Assist vetting anyway. Hopefully SA will have a more sophisticated system, but it's good enough for now.
     
  29. gunneroforgin

    gunneroforgin Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    30

    Me too, maybe if we move to India we can get jobs. I might even get my old job back.
     
  30. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will probably change the Macro to target current as it is more consistent with how I have it set up in 2D anyway.

    I just bind the F4 key to the macro and vet my pet. To save ever needing to target my pet (I rarely ever use two pets), I have the 2D set to target nearest follower, normaly I don't switch targets anyway so using Target Current should not be a big change.