1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok, I can't patch on my desktop.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ender, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Laptop did it just fine.

    I've tried everything I can think of short of reinstalling (which I do not want to do). I've deleted everything in my patch folder, deleted the patch folder, restarted my computer, dropped my firewall, ran as admin, ran without UOA. Is there anything else that might help?
     
  2. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Oh terrific, I just tried to patch the Enhanced Client since I can't use 2D. That doesn't work either. Something about corruption in a file on the remote server. Fantastic.


    And this one works fine a few minutes later. WTF.
     
  3. Uvtha

    Uvtha Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,534
    Likes Received:
    2,918
    took me like 6 times of deleting the folder contents after a botched patch. Just keep trying.
     
  4. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    Only 6? I'm well into the double digits. What the ****.
     
  5. TheGhostRaider

    TheGhostRaider Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here, can't log in in 2D client. Not sure what the patch did :(
     
  6. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    i cant get in.. keeps giving me message "network error connection lost"
    i never got any patch like i used to.
    what do i need to do to get patched?
     
  7. Red_Jester

    Red_Jester Guest

    Edit: It seems the patcher installed correctly on the 4th try.
     
  8. Kri

    Kri Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had some trouble patching as well. I would suggest going to your ultima online directory and opening the "patchlog" file with notepad. Near the bottom it should show the latest patch and what error it ran into.

    For instance, in my case the error was:
    And it was easily fixed by replacing the file in question with an unmodified copy.

    If you can't figure it out let us know what the error was and someone may be able to help you. :)
     
  9. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    It gives me an error at applying patch, if that helps at all.
     
  10. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    549
    That error is client.exe for me, but what do you mean replace it with an unmodified copy? :/
     
  11. olduofan

    olduofan Guest

    same here hope they can fix this by friday was looking forward to the new gifts
     
  12. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    okay, im gonna need some i have no clue what im doing help here. my shortcut says UOSA. i click that and i get the message "network error connection lost"
    i NEVER even get a patch screen.
    i went to the place mentioned above and there is no error written in that folder?
     
  13. TheGhostRaider

    TheGhostRaider Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have manage to log in in Enchated client after a few Network connection lost. I also have those 2 path ( 2D client) uosa win_32_7-0-1-1 .pat and .rtp not sure if they should be there. I can't log in using UOA or basic I'm reinstalling UO now. let see if that fix it.
     
  14. Kri

    Kri Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oy... I hope I didn't stir up too much confusion here. Let me try to take a stab at some of these...

    For starters, a few standard suggestions would empty the patch folder (delete the .pat and .rtp file if they exist) and then run uopatch.exe directly rather than running client.exe or starting it with UOAssist. If you are on Windows Vista or 7 I would also try running it as administrator.


    If you're getting the same error as I am (Old File not found. However, a file of the same name was found. No update done since file contents do not match.) it indicates that the file they are seeing does not match the file they are expecting to see and thus they cannot patch it. In my case, it was because I modified the bodyconv.def file so that I would not have to see certain new graphics that I do not care for. If you have not changed client.exe (which I doubt and hope you haven't) I can't tell you what the problem is.

    This sounds like the enhanced client to me and I'm not terribly familiar with it... the advice I'm giving is for the 2d client. Offhand, though, if you're not getting a patch screen it sounds like you may be invoking the client directly. Try going to the folder that UO is installed to and running uopatch.exe to patch it.

    I can't say much about the EC (don't use it much) but if you have those 2 files in the 2d client then it has attempted the patch and failed for some reason. The first suggestion I would give would be to delete the .pat and .rtp file and then try to start UO again (which will force it to re-download the patch.) If that doesn't work you're going to need to open a file named patchlog with notepad. It can be found in the root of the Ultima Online folder and should say what exactly is failing during the patch.
     
  15. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132


    You need to use the UOpatch shortcut not the UOSA shortcut or it will skip the patcher.
     
  16. Sindris

    Sindris Guest

    If you are using Vista, try to run UO as an administrator. I was having similar problems and this worked for me.
     
  17. Thor VII

    Thor VII Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    129
    Same here mate.

    i must run UO always as an administrator.
     
  18. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    okay, thanks for the help. i found the patch.exe and am now patching. hopefully will finish before i have to leave for work so i can see if it works or not. thanks for the help!
     
  19. TheGhostRaider

    TheGhostRaider Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Still no look, and this on both machine.

    here what I got from patch log

    Error applying patch
    Error durStarting patch session...
    Transferring patch information
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-1-1.rtp( 2383307 bytes )
    Downloading patch uosa_win32_7-0-1-1.pat( 12 bytes )
    Applying patch patch\uosa_win32_7-0-1-1.rtp

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PATCH Version 7.00 - RTPatch(R) Professional - Software Update System
    DOS/16-bit Windows/32-bit Windows Edition


    (C) Copyright Pocket Soft, Inc., 1991-2002. All Rights Reserved.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----- Processing Patch File -----
    AnimationSequence.uop

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'AnimationSequence.uop'

    New Version of File 'AnimationSequence.uop' already exists.

    End patch

    animdata.mul

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'animdata.mul'


    New Version of File 'animdata.mul' already exists.

    End patch

    art.mul

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'art.mul'



    New Version of File 'art.mul' already exists.


    End patch

    artidx.mul

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'artidx.mul'



    New Version of File 'artidx.mul' already exists.



    End patch

    Bodyconv.def

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'Bodyconv.def'



    New Version of File 'Bodyconv.def' already exists.


    End patch

    client.exe

    Applying MODIFY File Patch for 'client.exe'



    error ept0036:

    Old File not found. However, a file of the same name was
    found. No update done since file contents do not match.


    I have errase the patch for the folder, I have reinstall UO 2D client and still have same problem, can't get the patch and connect. first time in 10 years I can't patch. this is frustrated. thx for your help.