1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok, I've condemned one of my houses

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Yadd of Legends, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    I know this will be a totally noob for question for many of you, but I accidentally condemned the house on my second account when I was experimening placing and demolishing a house on another shard. I know it's stupid, but it was the first time I ever messed around another shard and forgot the one house per account rule. So now that this house on my home shard is condemned, what are my options? Can I uncondemn it, or do I have to remove the contents, wait until it falls and rebuild it? *Shuffles off to await advice *
     
  2. The Zog historian

    The Zog historian Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    870
    Oh boy. Well, if you have a trusted friend who can hold it for you, you can demolish the other house and get the original transferred back in a week.
     
  3. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Sounds like you're saying there's no way to reverse a condemnation? Well, if not, it will take a little work putting the contents in all my characters' bank boxes so I can demolish it, but it's doable Then I have to wait a week to rebuild it?
     
  4. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    Ok I have run into this before and the answer is not that hard.
    Fisrt off,
    You see, according to you... you by accident placed on the other shard..it counts to the placement timer.
    If this is the case.....
    You might be fubared..
    Do you have a unused account you dont use? Or can you make one?
    You might need to trade the house to the emergency account for a FULL 8 days.. and no a temp account cant hold a house.
    Then you can trade it back to the original owner.. you will need to refriend and reset stuff.
    But the good part is the house is still saved.
     
  5. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    No way of reversing it at all unfortunately. :frown2:
     
  6. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    OK, thanks for you input. I'm going to have to empty the house and demolish it. Fortunately, it was my second house and not my main one, so it's not very elaborate and doesn't have much in it. Boy, this one house per account rule is a real deal breaker. I guess that's why some of you who play multiple shards have so many accounts.
     
  7. Lady Storm

    Lady Storm Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    I have been touting this to the Dev for ages...
    Some of the new players have said the very same thing.
    The one house per account change was a big turn off for many and we lost alot of players to it.
    Many like the idea of a second shard to play on when the chosen home shard has gone into a lull.
    Siege is not everyones cup of tea...
     
    kRUXCg7 likes this.
  8. claudia-fjp

    claudia-fjp Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    517
    Hopefully you see this before you do too much.

    "on my second account" Meaning you have 2 accounts. Simply transfer the decaying house to your other account when it reaches Fairly worn. Then wait a few days until the timer is up on the account you accidentally placed on and transfer your other house to that account. In short you are simply swapping houses between your 2 accounts. Keep in mind this doesn't work if you have grandfathered houses on the other account.
     
  9. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Hm, this involves some thinking about the timing of when to do the trades, but it sounds like a plan I had not thought of. Thanks for the suggestion. I think the house became Fairly Worn today, so I'll have to start the process tomorrow.
     
  10. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    I can hold a house anywhere but Siege if you would like me to do that. I would co-own all your chars and hand it back next week.
     
  11. swroberts

    swroberts Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    134
    I guess it depends on how much your time and effort is worth. I would buy a 1 month subscription(what is it...like 9.99) and do the week trade.
     
  12. Warpig Inc

    Warpig Inc Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    397

    Someone forgot the days when many players lived out a boat and bankbox. There was no space for house placement. If it does snow in hell and the population does return to near old numbers. Then new player could complain about cranky old multi house vets with hoarding issues yelling at them to "KEEP OFF THE GRASS!" *under breath* "Dang whipper snappers"

    Many threads already about of main shard secondary nouses. Storage building in town that has a goldsink to maintain. Second homes off main shard limited on size with a cost or refresh timer to maintain. Tent cities that use some of those unused spaces on the map like far east of Luna. Gypsy camp 5x5 plot size that would be a goldsink or decay to maintain.

    If secondary house on other shards coupled with the store selling housing upgrades that gives any house castle lock count. there would be a money maker with all the hoarders in the game.

    If cross shard playing was such an issue to support secondary houses, wouldn't crafting vendors and chat build request be greater? Chat Help channel would have nore chatter attracting more goldsite sales spamming.
     
    The Zog historian likes this.
  13. Merus

    Merus Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran CasteoftheForgotten

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Empty the house... then stand under the house sign and say "I wish to resize my house". The should allow you to demolish and replace the house without fear that someone else may try and swipe the spot. When the new house is replaced, it should not be condemned.
     
  14. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    4,688
    :thumbup1:
     
  15. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    Years ago tons of "Box Sets" were sold for account upgrades. Each "Box Set" came with an upgrade code, and a new-account code. These new account codes come with 30 to 45 days of prepaid game time attached. If you have any of those around, you can use that code to open another account, hold the house for the necessary week, then transfer it back to the original account and close the new account at no cost to you. If you do not have any of these codes around, feel free to PM me. I still have a few left that I've saved to help people in this situation.
     
  16. Nine Dark Moons

    Nine Dark Moons Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    43
    I *think* that if you're on the house timer, you can't rebuild your house, even if you say you wish to resize it. It will drop, but then when you try to rebuild you get the message that you have to wait xx hours to place a new house.
     
  17. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,809
    Likes Received:
    2,325
    Simplest cure, xfer it to another account, demolish the new one you placed, and then xfer it back. I guess I confused the system one time, I was even able to get the swap back done in a day lol...go figure. But I think they fixed that
     
  18. Riply

    Riply Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    180

    This is the option I would choose, just keep an eye on the house sign and swap between the two accounts. This way its safe and nothing has to be moved.

    If you live on a shard that is preety quiet you could always move things out let it go idoc and replace spot again. Depends of course on the location and the type of house.
    On Europa you can find some Keep spots atm even on the trammel side if you know where to look.
     
  19. Merus

    Merus Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran CasteoftheForgotten

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    As long as the other house that had been placed to cause the decay has been demolished it will let you place even within the 7 day timer.
     
  20. The Zog historian

    The Zog historian Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    870
    One house per account was necessary when AoS debuted so everyone could have a chance at a big house somewhere, just like one house per shard was necessary in early 1999 so everyone could have a chance at any house. Today, most shards aren't cramped for housing, but even two houses per account would result in a severe drop in revenue. How many of us have accounts just to hold houses? EA would have to compensate somehow, namely by raising subscription fees. If an account could hold an extra house for a higher monthly fee, that would effectively be the same as having another account.
     
  21. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    I've done this, but I waited til the condemned house was greatly worn transferred it. I wasn't lucky like you I had to wait for the house timer to run out so I could transfer the condemn house on the 2nd account I had to use. All worked out though now I know if I do condemn one I know what to do.
     
  22. claudia-fjp

    claudia-fjp Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    517
    Yeah, really you can do it even as late as when the house is IDOC, I just like to do it a few stages earlier to be safe. The account you placed on should already have several days off of its timer at this point. Once you transfer the decaying house to your other account (it will then have 2 houses) DO NOT try to test place a house with the account that has 0 houses. It will place and restart the timer. Instead you can target over the top of an existing house or try to transfer your other house that is then decaying to it and it will tell how many hours left.

    It's a pain. It's also a situation I run into a lot since I've been doing real estate for over a decade.
     
  23. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Thank you all for your advice. I'll get the ball rolling tonight after work.
     
  24. Caelyr

    Caelyr Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    14
    One more method, because you'll always have options: Posted here.
     
  25. Yadd of Legends

    Yadd of Legends Certifiable
    Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Thanks - that's also an interesting story of trying to place a house in fel when your neighbor keeps trying to kill you :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  26. old gypsy

    old gypsy Grand Poobah
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Patron PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,834
    Likes Received:
    5,272
    Works if your account isn't bugged like mine. I tried that several times over the years, and once a house was placed it didn't matter if I demolished it. I couldn't place again until the full 7 days were up.