1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok Problem with my UO...

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Kage, Jan 7, 2009.

  1. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    I log onto Kage earlier and had no macros... So I was like damn so I then went to Log off and this Error box pops up when I hit my Log out button...

    [​IMG]

    I also tried restarting several times... This has happened before but it was probably over a year ago... and I remember having to re install UO to fix it.
     
  2. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    The error box comes up everytime I try to log out.
     
  3. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    It also comes up if I try to make new macros and once I hit ok on the box it closes the Client...
     
  4. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    302
    that file may be locked, corupted or have bad permissions.

    go to it in explorer and right click it and view permissions.
    perhaps try changing permissions by giving it full access.

    if it is locked you may be able to reboot to unlock it.

    if corrupted then perhaps copy one from a different folder over it.
    before doing that make a back up of the file.

    try opening it with notepad to see if you can open it.

    Lorddog
     
  5. -Whiskey-

    -Whiskey- Guest

    quit messing with your program files ..:D
     
  6. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    I wasnt messing with anything lol... Was just putting up a vendor and went to gate out and no spell... Went to log out and bam...
     
  7. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    731
    yup same thing happen to me a few weeks ago kage. Its a corrupted file something happen to it and it randomally kicked the bucket. you'll have to reinstall uo and redo all ur macros again
     
  8. -Whiskey-

    -Whiskey- Guest

    yes do reinstall. save your macros into a different file for easy access if this problem should happen to arrise again.
     
  9. OldAsTheHills

    OldAsTheHills Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    21
    I not just curious... but do you use Norton 2009?

    *stares*
    Yahaxithonix
     
  10. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    731
    They did have a problem with norton 2009. But i dont have it and it happen to me as well as a bunch of others. I found out from doing the same thing as kage on a differnt forum. Mine was actually a corrupted file in my graphics one lil tile or picture was corrupted and gave me a fatal error.

    I reinstalled and havent had the problem since.
     
  11. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    that path isn't where your uo macros are any more, so I'd say it's lost the change in the path that was in this last patch.

    Because of the way Norton kept wiping people's macros the uo desktop is now saved to the EA folder in 'my documents'. That's where all your macros are.

    it can't open that file for writing, cos it just ain't there any more. :(
     
  12. Kage

    Kage Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    81
    I just did a complete re install... And no I did not have have Norton at all. Thanks to all who tired to help..