1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Ok so no transfers off Siege... How about opening up housing?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by chanshaw, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. chanshaw

    chanshaw Guest

    I can understand how it's to much work for the Dev team to open transfers off Siege because of the lack of players. How about allowing people to own a house their so we can bring in more people?
     
  2. Symma

    Symma Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    85
    Judging by that HOC, it would a no. Introducing a system would probably be to much for them.

    And I didn't like the way Cal talked about the 'small playerbase'. Sure we are small in number but we don't want it to be that way.

    We just want a shard that gives people an opportunity to play a variation on their main game.

    :(
     
  3. Is it that people cannot place houses on Seige whatsoever or is it that they can't have a house there and on their production shard? If what you are asking for is to be able to own two houses per account under any circumstance, I vote NO! Those who created characters on Seige did so knowing the rules and those rules should not be changed, period.
     
  4. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    I thought that you could own on house per shard with the exception that they don't auto refresh? I only ever had one house on one shard.
     
  5. Viquire

    Viquire Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,456
    Likes Received:
    507
    I was wondering the other day how long it would take me, starting from scratch to get a fisher to 110 or 120 so I could earn a boat, the big one, and whether or not I could lose it on Siege.
     
  6. canary

    canary Guest

    I guarantee that Siege would have a good sized population boom if the developers would allow a second house to be placed on that shard.

    I say do it.
     
  7. Raptor85

    Raptor85 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    224
    I found fishing to be significantly easier to gain on siege than other shards, since you get guaranteed gains after 70 skill every 5 minutes. 20k gold for 2 fishing alacs and you're GM in a day, the scrolls may be another issue though, 110's and 120's are so incredibly hard to get that they're fairly scarce. You can't lose your ship, but you can be scuttled and damaged, which generally happens if you leave you hold full of cargo or you set in close to shore with cannons onboard.

    Crafting and resource gathering skills are also really, really cheap to train with the ROT system we have, since you're guaranteed to gain on each attempt, failure or not, you can gm normally expensive skills like imbue with 100 gems and a few hundred residue.
     
  8. Viquire

    Viquire Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,456
    Likes Received:
    507
    hmmmmmm, thanks!
     
  9. mmmmm ... good sized >housing boom< ... but the pop spike would likely be short lived.
    Likely followed by: since I can't/won't use my house on Siege ... let me put it (a/the "second house") on a different low pop shard ...
    or (same argument) on MY shard, but in fel(tram) ...

    yes?

    Just saying ..."houseing" ain't whats keeping Siege low pop.
    A "vet" can live out of his bank box and/or a friended/guilded house.

    and they aren't
    on Siege.

    *shrugs*
     
  10. Kas Althume

    Kas Althume Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    59
    Opening Siege housing will reach nothing. A short hype and after that is filled with houses where noone is living in a no house spots for those who really want to play but join a month too late ... we have been there... Siege was filled with dead houses.

    @Viquire: It is as hard as it is on any other shard. If you manage to get the gold you will have the boat quickly. If you donate the stuff from fishing it will take some time. See my sig. I donated some crabs and all the steaks i got in the last 10 years. I havn't gotten a 120 scroll yet in 300 completed quests. Your boat can be scuttled anywhere so make sure its empty when you leave it out at sea. You can't lose it tho, except when you let it decay.
     
  11. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    Quite a number of people have said to me 'I would like to try Siege, but I don't want to lose my house'. It's possible to play 2 shards, I do. But it helps if you have more than one account so that you can have a house on both.

    Thing is, if they try it and have a house then don't like it, that house must fall if not used.

    A lot of people also have a misconception about Siege. I don't die multiple times every day. I don't die for months at a time. When I do I very, very seldom get griefed. Siege is about the least griefy shard of the lot.
    Crafters have more a place on Siege, things wear out, so there's an ongoing market.
    The economy is no where near as screwed, you don't need millions, an imbued suit will do fine for most purposes.
    General chat isn't full of 'smack talk' it's full of 'chat'!
    With the new co-owner rules it's much easier to give some one a box in your house, so if anyone wants to give Siege a trial, post on Siege board and ask for 'lodgings'.
     
  12. AtlanticVlad

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    3
    I might just do that...
     
  13. Symma

    Symma Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    85
    You're missing the point. Its not for people already on Siege. I have characters on prodo shards but no house. I don't want a house there, I don't enjoy prodo fully as i do siege.

    The system that some people would like to see it to allow those who play production shards to have a second home on Siege if they choose but with the old rules of refreshing it so the shard didn't fill up with permanent houses that are empty. Possibly with a plot size limit. It would effect any other shard, just apply to siege. And if a person had a primary house on siege they wouldn't be entitled to place a second home on that account on Siege.

    Whilst I would love to see a system like this I know it wouldn't be accepted by the DEVs. Either it would be impossible to code or they wouldn't want to devote time to it.

    And it wouldn't increase population size forever but it may have been part of a bigger plan of fixes they could do for Siege.

    It'll be at least 6 months before we get any other word on the future of siege i reckon.
     
  14. John Connelly

    John Connelly Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a house at Moonglow moongate (once Petra's vendor house) which I don't use. If anyone (or group preferably) wants to give Siege a try let me know and I will co-own you. It is also a good house to place vendors so a Siege beginner can sell leather, cloth, imbuing items etc.
     
  15. ChReuter

    ChReuter Guest

    Really? Funny because when I created a char on siege, I could own houses on multiple shards. Until I quit the first time I had I think five homes on two different shards and one on siege. (Probably a lot more, but we're talking 10 years ago)

    That's besides the point though. My only reasoning for replying really was to ask you if you really read what you type before posting it?
     
  16. Dicimiie

    Dicimiie Guest

    Here's my little thought for the day.

    Last night during the video, it was mentioned more than once that Siege was considered to be its own island, set apart from the production servers, and will remain thus. If that's the case, then why does the one house per account apply to Siege? It seems to me if Siege is to be its own entity, then the rules of the production servers shouldn't apply on Siege.

    By the way, I currently don't have a house on any server, so my thoughts don't affect me one way or the other. I'm just throwing this out there.
     
  17. Willard

    Willard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    22
    I was thinking exactly the same thing.
     
  18. Aran

    Aran INFRACTION INFRACTION INFRACTION!
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend -A-

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2000
    Messages:
    14,717
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    I have three accounts. I used to have two 18x18s and a Tower on Chesapeake.

    I decided which two I liked best and dropped the third, placed an 18x18 on Siege.


    Sometimes you have to make sacrifices if you want things.
     
  19. LoL/Sonoma

    LoL/Sonoma Guest

    This is a pretty cool idea. I'd give siege a go but i wouldnt want to give up everything i have on Sonoma!

    Mark me down as interested!