1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

OMG ...I cant do it

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Pooker53, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,
    It has been about 4 years since I played UO.I decided to come back and play again.
    I have no game disks.Everytime I try to find a download ,all I get is SA.
    The last time I played I only had the elf expansion.
    I am running Windows 7.
    Can anyone help me with finding a download so I can play again?
    Thanks
     
  2. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
  3. Sir_Bolo

    Sir_Bolo Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    88
  4. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    the link i provided allows access to Enhanced client or Classic
     
  5. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you all for your posts.
    When I click the classic client...it will only download UOSA.I have done that twice.
     
  6. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    and did you run the client?
     
  7. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, the play button would not light up.....only the cancel button worked.
     
  8. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can play LOTRO and WoW just fine.
     
  9. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    sounds to me like its patching the new download client for some reason does not show progress for me at least for the first several minutes let it run a while
     
  10. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    your running it as administrator right?
     
  11. ress me plz

    ress me plz Guest

    run the client as an administartor, with windows 7 you have to run as administrator the client and all the UO related programs (assist, map, cartographer...)
     
  12. GalenKnighthawke

    GalenKnighthawke Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1,163
  13. Supreem

    Supreem Founder, Citadel Studios
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    25
    Sorry for the confusion. You can use the UOSA Classic and Enhanced clients even if you do not have the expansion. You just will not have access to the new content.
     
  14. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Exactly what I said!

    I run both clients on windows 7
    run as admin
    let the updater run even though at first it appears to do nothing (15 to 20 min some times before you will see the progress show)
    turn off any blockers you may have on and i have even heard from some that they need to turn anti virus off although I have never had to!
     
  15. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you all very much for all the input.
    I did some research and found a warning in the windows 7 forums

    You should only allow a program that you trust to run as administrator. Once you have applied UAC permission, the program will have full access to your computer.

    I would never allow any game to have full access to my comp.I feel its a bad idea.
    I wont be playing.
    Thanks again for all the help.:)
     
  16. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    lol you are in more danger from the browser you are running! but I respect your decision !
     
  17. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    I do not respect your decision at all and your conclusion is ridiculous.
    How do you expect UO to save your macros and character data?
    If you've played UO before then you have let UO access your computer.
    Are you saying you think a company as serious as EA is not trust worthy?
    You should also research how windows vista and 7 have overly intense security measures for people who have no idea how to use a computer.
    Spend an entire day on your computer saying NO whenever windows 7 says do you want to allow this program to continue. You wont make it off your desktop. I run my computer as a DMZ server and hand out my IP address on business cards at DEFCON. I and thousands of others are still enjoying UO.
    UO simply wants to patch ( add new game content to your computer) and it wont run cause you say no. What UO does not what to do it melt your computer and steal your kids.
    Now disable UAC, get a decent anti-virus, and play games.
     
  18. Spiritless

    Spiritless Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    466
    Within the local user space designated for just that purpose, such as C:\Users\X\Application Data\X perhaps? There is no valid reason why an application would require write access to the "Program Files" folder for this reason other than lazy programming which makes their application less secure than it could be.

    Naive.

    People who actually knew how to use a computer would appreciate these security features and take full advantage of them; they're features which have been sorely lacking in Windows for quite some time, with their absence making it much easier to compromise Windows machines since pretty much everyone prior to Vista was running as an administrator and giving anything executed by them full rights over their entire system. This isn't smart. This leads me to point out that...

    This is terrible advice.

    Pooker53, while UO legitimately does need to run as an administrator in order to patch (and only for this reason, if the character specific information is stored in appdata as I believe they rightly changed it to then there is no reason to run UO as an admin outside of patching) your questioning of this is admirable and shows your desire to practice responsible computing.

    If you do not wish to grant UO admin rights at all, again a perfectly legitimate choice, then why not install UO to a folder which you do not need privileged access to write to? You could tell the installer, for example, to install UO to C:\Users\X\Documents and Settings\UO2D and be able to patch and play perfectly fine without having to elevate your permissions to do so.

    Take care.
     
  19. Haddy G

    Haddy G Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    9
    If your using the default settings for UAC on Win 7, then you may as well disable it. Your not protected, malware/virus will still get installed.

    I have UAC disabled myself, a good up-to-date virus scanner and firewall will keep you protected.
     
  20. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok got it up and running.Did the 14 day .Which is only "Age of Shadows"
    My old account which I am getting back has the elf expansion,how do I get all my upgrades back?
    Will I have to take over the account by using my cc,then it will auto upgrade or.....do I cry now?
    Thank you
     
  21. Babble

    Babble Guest

    New accounts have the elf ex├╝pansion now too. It was too much hassle with the code to keep all seperated.

    For your old account you could call them or email then?
    I have no number though
     
  22. Pooker53

    Pooker53 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    AHH ok.thanks.
    I was able to log in after I put in the correct account stuff.
    All my pets were gone :(.
    Thanks to all who helped me get back in UO :)