1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[Suggestion] One for the Command/UI Wizs.. (relative target)

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Gilmour, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    so Let me try and get to the bottom of this, it has got to be possible to make a relative target.

    in ui and command options there got to be your avatars coordinates in X n Y somewhere, yes?

    so, it should be possible to created a stored target (coordinated) then subtract your avatars coordinates. thus giving you the x/Y relative of your char.

    THEN

    using this X/Y for your char, adding to your current position each time to wish to use this feature.

    Please tell me it is possible!

    I got no idea how this work, but ... i hope it can work :)
     
  2. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    can't be done...
    target stored stores only the target ID not location :(

    If it was possible I had this feature months ago :D
     
  3. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    Bad Mythic...

    its pretty ironic that there are 1001 ways to target but nothing that is even remotely similar to relative target :D

    last target is also id i guess, even when tiles?
     
  4. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    the target on the ground is managed inside the client and you can't read the values...
     
  5. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    bleh...

    and suppose there is no system to the ids either?

    PS: i tried launching EC with assist, with result that they both crashed :D just in case someone in wondering the same thing :) (NO, i did not expect that to work, but none the less....)
     
  6. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    mobiles don't carry the location in a public variable :(
     
  7. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    i wasnt speaking of mobiles, but of tiles. as in fishing for example.

    Alternativly, is there a "Tile Type" in a public variable? (such as water) or would it be possible to optain a "Group ID" / "Tile Type ID" for this? for use in static target type function?
     
  8. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    do not exist an id for the ground...
    the ground is just an x/y location and the server determines if is a valid target...
     
  9. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    thats not what you said before, please read my original post again..

    PS: by stored target i ment not neseserelly stored in the default targeting system, but could be a modified last target via UI/Command

    PPS: keep in mind i got no idea what i am talking about :p
     
  10. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    the client send the coordinates but you can't read it by script...
     
  11. Roland'

    Roland' Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    2
    with uoassist you can make a macro to target relative target. this allows you to make a macro with the script to cast teleport then cast on self. if you are in a building with a flat surface above you it will teleport you through the floor.

    kind of like you can target the roof out side of a building then walk into that building and cast teleport, last target and it will pop you through the roof. so if target relative can be used in UO assist to pop you straight up with out getting a target first maybe you can find a way for this to work in EC as well.
     
  12. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    uo assist works on the memory stream of the client thing that is basically illegal if not approved by EA.
    If we want to be totally illegal let's decompile the client so we can do everything :lol:
     
  13. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    with uo cartographer you can get a position read of your character. Can't you use that to target 3 tiles right or left of where you are standing? can't you use that as a reference point, or is that illegal too?
     
  14. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,675
    Likes Received:
    865
    the character coordinates are readable, but you can't send the target with coordinates, you can't send the target info at all...
    you can simply request the target cursor but you can't the target data to the server.
     
  15. Gilmour

    Gilmour Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    276
    Thanks pinco for clarifying this.

    i do hope tho they will add this when they start working on EC some more (like they promised)