1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

OT: ICQ login issues

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by IanJames, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    I suddenly was disconnected from ICQ this afternoon and have been unable to log back in. I don't know if someone has hacked my ICQ account or if something else is wrong.

    I am not online in ICQ, I will post if and when I can get access again. In the meantime if someone sees me online, let me know in this thread, because it's not me. Do not accept any file transfers.
     
  2. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just checked Ian, you were on this morning but are not online right now (unless you are invisible mode). You go to the ICQ website and try from there? Maybe use ICQ2GO?
     
  3. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    I tried both of those before I posted here. wanted to make sure it was actually not working, and not just my client.

    I can't log in at the website, nor on icq2go. My phone has ICQ on it and that doesn't work, I use Adium on my mac and that doesn't work. I get the "bad password" error everytime from every client and every device.

    What happened at 2:58PM EST was I got a message saying "You've logged on at another location." This usually happens when I log on from another computer or something, but this time, It's just me and myself and I cant' get back on.

    Definitely not in invis mode. My biggest concern is that someone has changed my password and may use my account. I dont' care so much about the account, I can get another. But I don't want anyone from here to inadvertently accept a file or something that might be malicious.
     
  4. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, doesn't sound too good.
     
  5. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    ICQ's been giving me trouble the past couple days too.

    I'm on, but dropping a lot.

    I'm not saying you're fine, but the timing makes me think that a hacking of your ICQ isn't the only possibility.
     
  6. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Try ICQ2Go. Google it.
     
  7. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    Oh I know what it is Wulf. I tried it with my account and it's giving me the same bad password error.

    I made a new account and that one is working. It's a shame though as I had a 7 digit UIN. I think if you've got me on ICQ right now, just delete me as a contact. I'll be contacting everyone on my list with my new ICQ number if I can't get the old one working by tomorrow.

    Thanks for the help though guys.
     
  8. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    Sounds to me like your cell phone software has managed to change your icq account info...your phone wouldn't happen to be a Ocean by Helio or Virgin moible would it?
     
  9. ScrubSlayer

    ScrubSlayer Guest

    my icq does the same thing...says oops can't connect sorry try again
     
  10. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    No, actually I was connected on my computer when that happened, not my cell phone, and it's an iPhone running BeeJive for IM.

    Scrub, I don't get a can't connect, I get "bad password"

    Anyway, I've only ever used ICQ to communicate with UO people, so it's really no big deal to get a new account *shrugs* Just wanted to warn people in case someone WAS using my account.
     
  11. Scuzzlebutt

    Scuzzlebutt Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same thing happened to me earlier this week. Went to the icq website and tried the password retrieval options and got the message it could not send to that email. Only used one email to register this kind of stuff for the last 12 years so I don't know what was up. I had a low 8 digit number myself, so I'd rather not have to memorize a new one either.