1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

OT- Windows 7 shutting off the computer...

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Uvtha, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. Uvtha

    Uvtha Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,528
    Likes Received:
    2,914
    For some weird reason windows 7 is shutting off my computer when it goes idle for a like an hour. Theres no crash, and no problems, it just shuts off rather than sleeping.

    Has anyone else experienced this?

    My laptop is less than a year old, and is in perfect working order, I think its crashed on me maybe... one time, and thats with daily use as my main computer, and its just recently started doing this.

    It's not a heat issue, cause I can play high end games on the thing for ages and it's golden, but when I go to sleep, and put a movie on, after the movie is over, it will shut the system off completely. On the other hand, if I have music playing (a program that keeps doing stuff all night, so that it never idles) it stays on just fine.

    What is the freaking deal???

    I have the settings to never dim the display, and never put the computer to sleep, but to turn off the display after 3 hours. Maybe I will change that see it it makes a difference.
     
  2. Lorddog

    Lorddog Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    302
  3. burdensrise

    burdensrise Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to power options under control panel or just search for it on the start menu. Check to see what the settings are for when the system is idle for example: turn screen off after X hours, Hibernate After X hours, Sleep/Shutdown after X hours etc.
     
  4. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,175
    I thought that's what mine was doing, shaking the mouse didn't bring it back to life. Clicking the mouse did.
     
  5. Mr.StinkyPants

    Mr.StinkyPants Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    1



    xp pro corpporate FTW
     
  6. burdensrise

    burdensrise Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any luck?


    Windows XP has the same power options :)
     
  7. Uvtha

    Uvtha Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,528
    Likes Received:
    2,914
    Pretty sure I figured it out. I realized it must be hibernating, since programs and files stay loaded. So after some inspection of the sleep and hibernation settings I found that it was hibernating after 360 minutes when plugged in for some odd reason.

    That clearly was the issue. I just wonder how it ended up on that setting in the first place.

    Thanks for all the tips folks. :)
     
  8. burdensrise

    burdensrise Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    With Vista/7 power options offer 3 power modes. High Preform, Balanced, Savor. Sometimes I've noticed its came up in the botton right hand next to the clock and lets you change from those 3 modes. Doing so changes all the power options. Sure its good for now just check back if it changes.
     
  9. AEowynSP

    AEowynSP Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    3
    NO MAC FTW! No problems, no viruses.
    Still running a 7 year old laptop and am happy with it. In fact it pisses me off I have to have so many "scans" on my pc just to use it.
     
  10. burdensrise

    burdensrise Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure why anyone would want to run an Mac lol. But who knows as we say in the business world Macs are for kids and people who know nothing about computers and PC is for people who want to do real work.

    Im still running a windows 12Yr old IBM Thinkpad laptop works great after all this time. Love IBM solid as a rock
    (One of about 7 of my home computers) + some in the garage and in pieces)

    As far as scans, Thats just you having the wrong software viruses are a joke I haven't had one on my computer in at least 7 years.


    Probally using Norton / Mcafee or some other garbage software