1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

outgrown house

Discussion in 'UO Napa Valley' started by tirrag, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. tirrag

    tirrag Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have outgrown my current house and would like to upgrade on my same location. i am unsure of what will happen to all my stuff when i choose to upgrade. is there any advice out there?

    much appreciated.
     
  2. Otis Firefly

    Otis Firefly Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    your going to have to find a friend to store your stuff unfortunatly!, when you do the house resizing!! it basicly drops like an idoc would!, except nobody can place a house there except you!, but the contents of the house will fall to the ground!!...so find a friend and store what ya can till ya resize and then move back in
     
  3. tirrag

    tirrag Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    thats what i was thinking thank you for the reply. i thought of another concept. at the cost of the house, if i built a house of the same size nearby and moved into it, then built my new house after i trashed the old one would that work? is there a time limit between houses?

    from what i can tell there is also a moving crate if i do this? how does that work.

    again, thank you.
     
  4. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Can not do that if you are using the same account. There is a 7 day timer on placing if you were to place the 2nd house with that same account. You should read up on Housing to know whats whats 1st. here is a quick summary

    If you acquire a new house, all other houses owned by your account on any shard will become condemned, meaning they cannot be refreshed and will decay within 5 days. Once a house has become condemned, the only way to restore it is to transfer it to someone else. Even if you demolish or sell all your other houses, the house will remain condemned! If you place a new house, receive a house in trade, or make a house primary, you will not be able to place or receive another house for one full week afterwards.

    More info can be also found here
    http://uo.stratics.com/php-bin/show_content.php?content=30952 Read Homes & Deco Left side bar
     
  5. Hooli Gan

    Hooli Gan Guest

    Got no friends you trust that much?

    Could go the pirate route.
    Buy a couple boats and store your stuff there till you get the new place layed down.
     
  6. tirrag

    tirrag Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you for the replies and suggestions :) not that i dont have trustworthy friends to lean on, just dont want to be a bother. for now i have simply cleaned house. ive never had a boat before so i may buy one and give it a whirl.
     
  7. Tom_Builder

    Tom_Builder Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can place a new house, it will start your old home decaying. You will have 5 days to move all your stuff to the new house. Then drop the old one, and wait 2 days for your account to reset. Then you can replace in the old spot. The only problem is anyone will be free to place in that area. But with so much open land I dont think anyone will place a house, unless it's in a prime spot like Luna. I know of 3 or 4 spots right now for keeps and more then 50 for 18x18's.

    I always enjoy a little risk so what I would do is test the size you plan on upgrading to, wait untill an odd hour, drop the house and replace it. Then drag all the back stuff inside, I have did this a few times and never lost an item. The key is making sure you know what will fit. You can also load all the good items in 5 packys.

    Goodluck with what ever you do.
    Tom