1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

patch 7.0.10.3 11/9/10

Discussion in 'UHall' started by DevilsOwn, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    378
    says in part:



    • Fixed an issue with Windows 7 and Windows Vista compatibility. When starting the client players on these operating systems may receive a new dialog box requesting permission to run Ultima Online.

    prior to this, any change to a program would send that little security box up and I would have to let the computer know that yes, I am aware and (for the most part) capable, and you can go ahead and run this program and let it access the web and any other darn thing (here comes the important bit) the first time it ran after the change

    it is now asking me

    every

    single

    time

    !

    no, not too happy :wall:
     
  2. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
  3. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    378
    I don't think disabling that little bit of caution/security is the answer, why does it ask every time now? and why does that little box think that UO.exe is an unidentified program after I've told it that it's fine

    *sigh*
     
  4. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Ideally, it should only ask to run as administrator if there's a patch to apply.
    But, that would require a program to run prior to the patcher, to check.

    Doesn't as me every time though, sinceI have UO installed to a non-UAC protected directory.
     
  5. jtw1984

    jtw1984 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try going into the properties of the uo.exe or client.exe and checking "Run as administrator"

    See if that helps.
     
  6. Zosimus

    Zosimus Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    720
    IF he turns it off like I posted then no more hassles with always run as admin. He should patch and that pop up should stop.
     
  7. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    Yeah, but I'm sure a lot of people quite appreciate the security UAC provides under most circumstances. So turning it off removes that security completely, for the sake of one exception.
     
  8. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    UAC doesn't protect much, it usually does more harm. People tend not to know what to say no or yes to. So they either say no to too much or yes to too much.

    Have always disabled it without any trouble.
     
  9. Lord Chaos

    Lord Chaos Always Present
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    They STILL haven't even fixed the darn launcher area under Windows 7 yet. Its still just a blank screen on every Windows 7 machine I have. (works fine in Windows XP)
     
  10. Just be aware that if you mess with UAC in Vista or Windows 7, your User Account can get corrupted. It's a pain to run as administrator every time, but there is a bug in Vista/Win 7 (and some older Office programs that try to take control) that can corrupt your User Account. Once that happens, folders get locked, programs won't install correctly... it's a mess to fix.

    It doesn't happen often, but it's NOT trouble free as LC would have you believe.
     
  11. Kiminality

    Kiminality Guest

    So you turn it off without a problem... Do you want a cookie?
    You don't fall into the aforementioned "a lot of people".
    Some security is better than no security at all, and it's generally better to not let every program that wants it to have admin rights.
    For the non-careful user, UAC has distinct merits.

    which launcher area?
    Only thing that comes to mind is the HTML displayed area, which is embedded IE, and works just fine under 7 for me.
     
  12. Babble

    Babble Guest

    Yes if you got an us or uk language os.
    Has been broken for german os for uhm 2-4 years I think.

    And no I have not tried to switch the language setting of my os to an us or uk one just so I can read the Uo startup page.
    :p
     
  13. Don't worry... it's seldom up to date and you really won't miss anything important anyway, because it's so out of date. Apparently, no one at EA was assigned that job to keep it up to date and localized.
     
  14. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    May the gods help me, I'm agreeing with LC again... I'm afraid I've completely disabled UAC as well on my personal computer. I would like to have it enabled, but it just caused too many problems. I do use UAC on my sister's computer, because her needs are pretty basic. She plays browser based games, surfs and emails and that's about it, but for me, it is just far more trouble than it is worth.

    I think you're far safer just following all the common sense practices you would with Windows XP: don't open email attachments unless you already know what they are, be careful what sites you visit, always have cookies on prompt and make rejecting them your default choice, run Firefox with NoScript and only allow domains that you trust to run scripts, keep your software up to date, use a firewall and antivirus, always scan attachments and downloads for viruses, even if you think you can trust them, etc. etc.
     
  15. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    378
    what I'm not understanding is why it now asks every time where before it only popped up the first time after a change... why doesn't it remember that I allowed it? is there some setting for this one program I can change?

    jtw1984, that doesn't hold, for some reason... must be doing something wrong :blushing:

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  16. Did you set the "Run as Admin" on both the UO patch and the UO client? The patch program runs the client after it checks the patch version.
     
  17. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    378
    well, I'm just gonna chalk this one up to stupidity and go shorten my password for administrative control, cause I just can't figure it out... everywhere I look the permissions for anything UO are full, everything's checked

    'poop' seems like a good password for now :p