1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Pet Questions!

Discussion in 'UO Tamer' started by I Am Hypnotic, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. Ok I've been making a bushido dexxer tamer and I've never had a Tamer since I started UO almost 10 years ago so I know nothing.. I bought this cu sidhe being told it was good and i'm wondering if it really is.. Also what ways/tricks can i use to quickly raise it's skills as easy as possible.

    Here is all of it's info

    HP 649
    Stam 142
    Mana 276

    Str 552
    Dex 125
    Int 276
    Barding 109.7

    Resists
    Phys 54%
    Fire 37%
    Cold 79%
    Poison 31%
    Energy 83%

    Skills
    Wrestling 78.0
    Tactics 75.4
    Resisting Spells 66.8
    Anatomy 85.1
    Healing 77.0
     
  2. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think they used a trick while taming to get the HP higher than normal, which lowers str. So HP are good, str is a little low (average str would be 606), phys resist is below average (bad imo), fire average, cold average, poison terrible, energy high. The skills will all train up to GM.

    This page has stats for a cu, keep in mind it's hp, str and dex are halved upon taming. I would personally want a cu with good phys and cold, since they have the potential to be really good against cold dealing damage monsters (succubi for instance). I would care a lot less about an extra 100 hp than I would good resists. I would also not want to sacrifice str for hp but that may just be personal preference.
     
  3. This isn't a pvm tamer.

    It's a bokuto pvp tamer =/
     
  4. Stupid Miner

    Stupid Miner Guest

    What, not going to do spawns with it?
     
  5. Killing spawn? No, not really.. I don't like being dismounted if we might get raided... I found out this one might be bugged which makes it skips screens?

    Is this true?
     
  6. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    That is a sub par/average Cu, and they blessed it to get the HP higher I think.

    You need to be an elf to tame one, and be an elf or have footpads of the Cu Sidhe to ride it.

    Cu's are nice situational pets. Mostly though I use GD for almost everything these days - almost.

    I don't know how much you paid but I think you got ripped if it was any large sum of money. There are plenty of tamers who will just tame you a Cu for free in the weald if you ask, but I am sure they would keep any super nice ones for themselves unless feeling generous.
     
  7. jeza

    jeza Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    On which shard are you ?
    Maybe someone here can help you tame a better one...

    If you're on Drachs I don't mind spending some time trying to find a good one for you . I need to raise my taming anyway :)

    And if I find a great one that I want to keep I can give you one of my old ones.
    They are very good and almost fully trained.
     
  8. Nah thank you guys for all your input.. this is actually the perfect cu sidhe for what I need... Reason being..

    First off it's prepatch therefore it's one that literally skips across the screen.. my offense is nerve strike then i have a macro to switch weapons to no dachi hop off mount and dismount then it sicks pet on him.. the Cu Sidhe skipping across the screen they can't get away at all..

    I'm on Atl and I am interested in getting a GOOOOOD Greater Dragon tho if someone could help me with that...
     
  9. jbfortune

    jbfortune Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    That just sounds like cheating really.
     
  10. jeza

    jeza Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    I may be wrong but I don't think there's something as prepatch Cu's.
    They still have the same abilities they had when they first appeared.
    Please someone tell me if I'm wrong ? :)

    And as for skipping screens well mine does sometimes when he's closer from the mob than me, I cant see it yet but he does and aggro.
    And once they use the bleed attack, as long as the mob is bleeding they'll follow and keep attacking even if the other runs out of sight...
     
  11. The prepatch Cu's definitely skip across the screen unlike current ones you tame.. the difference is unreal
     
  12. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Honestly it's bad enough being a pvp tamer, but using a bugged pet on top of it? Have some pride, man.
     
  13. I play a mage also don't worry.. I have characters on 5 different shards gotta switch up the templates a little bit =/
     
  14. kaio

    kaio Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    213
    Can anyone clerify what a prepatched CU is ?
    what does they exacly do, and how can u see if u have one ?
     
  15. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    To be honest, most who post here don't pvp much. Those who post in this forum tend to be "real" tamers - tamers whose primary damage output is provided by the pet. You are really a dexxer with the pet providing a durable mount, and supplementary damage in situations where you have closed with your opponent. There are lots of threads on training pets in this forum, do some searching and you should find them easily enough.

    As for the "skipping" "prepatch" cu sidhe. I don't what you are talking about. My cu sidhe is at least two and a half years old, and I don't think it "skips". I know that pets used to "pounce" on their victims, but I don't see them doing that anymore, and it doesn't seem to matter whether I got the pet before or after that patch.

    But come to think of it, I might well have replaced all my pets since that patch. Although, I might well have one or two left from before that patch... I'll have to see if any of them still "pounce".

    Having said that, if I understand you correctly, I've never seen a pet "skip" across the screen any great distance. The "pounce" effect that I am talking about happened when you were fairly close to whatever you were attacking, but after the initial attack the pet behaved normally.
     
  16. uoBuoY

    uoBuoY Guest

    Wow...my pet experience is a lot different. I hunt with GDs, Cus, Runes and Kits. All of them "skip" at some time or another. Maybe 1/4 - 1/3 of a screen.

    Lately I've been collecting unraveling crap from the Swoop. On that long from the moongate my pets skip several times.
     
  17. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Oh yes, they all do that. That's just lag. I don't think that has anything to do with a patch. That's just a matter of the pet's image in your client not being synched with it's actual position on the server.

    Specifically with regard to that, pets in general I think move much faster following than they used to. I don't think I used to be able to run at top speed dismounted and have my dragon keep up to me. That happens now all the time, and I can even move at a gallop for short distances and not lose my pets. It may be my fuzzy memory, but it seems to me that pets move much faster while following than they used to.