1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Pinco lagging me bad...

Discussion in 'Pinco's UI' started by Maleachi, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    So here's my deal in a nutshell.

    I was having major problems with lag issues lately.
    Screen freezing while my char would still be able to move (could hear him move and see him move on cart).
    Big freezes when in fights.
    Taking up to a minute to log in.

    etc etc.... In two words: BIG LAG

    I had my laptop cleaned out to see if that was the issue, and ran all kinds of programs to see if I could get it fixed.
    Reinstalled EC, reinstalled Pinco's UI.
    Nothing worked....

    Just now, I turned off Pinco's UI and took the normal UI and guess what!?

    The lag has disappeared!

    Could anyone explain?
    Would love to get back to use pinco's, but it was unplayable...

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Kind regards, Maleachi
    ICQ 459 673 700
     
  2. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    The better way is to get rid of the user data folder, then try to restore your character's profile.
    Step by step you should understand where is the problem...
     
  3. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    Could you clarify Pinco?

    I assume it is all the addons and extras that your UI provides that is slowing down my client.
    Most options I use minimally, graphics settings are on really low and I don't see why it would be fixed if I would rebuild my characters unless I could run an older version of your UI.

    The lag started to become unbarable around IDOC time... And if I remember correctly, 1 or 2 bigger UI patches were introduced shortly before that.
     
  4. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    no this has nothing to do with the UI.
    make a backup of "Documents\EA Games\Ultima Online Stygian Abyss\User Data\"
    then delete UserData
    and try again

    if it works start to copy "UserSettings.xml" and retry.

    if it works copy the folder with your account name

    then you can get rid of the backup.

    In one of those passage you may find which file is causing the lag...
     
  5. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    Just as an aside... when you swap between UIs in the Enchanced Client, it doesn't record the default FPS setting; make sure that's set to 60 FPS or higher if you are seeing lag, just to eliminate that possible cause.
     
  6. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    You were right pinco.

    I deleted the user data and started anew...
    Lag was massively reduced immediately.

    However, the vanilla client runs better still.

    The biggest lagger seems to be the mobiles bar...
    But I will look into this further when I have more time.

    Edit:

    After putting down some fields at a champ spawn it seems like I still lag badly.
    Gold was dropped when it started.

    Edit II:

    As soon as a lot of things are going on on the screen, the UI gives up on me.
     
  7. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    try to clear the chat log, maybe the buffer is too full...
     
  8. Lord Gandalf

    Lord Gandalf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    721
    Recently, im having same problem, takes 30sec-1min to log in and big lag problems, im not ready to delete user data & reset all macros for 6 temps atm... if i find out whats the problem ill let u know, ill be testing quite a few like mobiles bar, dynamic objects, quick detail window etc...
     
  9. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I had same problem copied my user data file to desktop then deleted it! I then reloaded uo letting it re install the folder! I then logged out and went in to my backup copy on the desktop and copied my account folder back over! Problem fixed and no macro's to remake!
     
  10. Madrid

    Madrid Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    268
    FTW huuuge difference this made for me. I was running 20 FPS and went to 60 FPS. Like a new game almost.:thumbup:
     
  11. Lord Gandalf

    Lord Gandalf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    721
    Thank you Storm... it worked for me as well, that was fast :)
     
  12. GreywolfUK

    GreywolfUK Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry Pinco, but you have turned a fantastic UI into a memory hogging monster, it is making UO unplayable, memory count after selecting shard and cahracter alone hits 950,000k+ almost 100%cpu. I have deleted and uninstalled everything to do with the EC client your UI and my settings done a complete reinstall of the EC client, your UI and it is still the same.

    I think your trying to add to much to it and have created as I said a memory hogging monster, and sadly I am no longer able to use your UI, it is a pity because until this last patch it was what the EC client should have been.
     
  13. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    has nothing to do with the features, it's just a temporary bug with the chat history...
     
  14. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    I can't do anything but agree with Greywolf here.
    Vanilla UI; 350-450mb
    Pinco's UI; 750mb+ at start
    Hopefully, it is like you say Pinco, a chat bug of some sort.

    Deleted user data, UI works fine at first.
    Run into a big mob of monsters, UI laaaaaaaaaags.
    So deleting the user data doesn't do the trick for me.

    I have turned all options to minimal and it makes no difference.

    For now, I can not use your UI.
    A shame really.

    Hopefully you can fix whatever is lagging the client.

    Kind regards, Maleachi
     
  15. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    The memory usage is not an issue, since the whole UI is loaded into the memory, the lag is caused by something else and I think I figured out what is it.
     
  16. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    Updated the UI and so far it seems ok...

    Will have to wait till I get into some big pvp fights to be sure that everything is fine again though.

    Keep you updated!
     
  17. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    dont forget to make sure all your graphic settings are set to what you normaly run and fps are set
     
  18. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    run into a champion spawn like neira should be a good test :p
     
  19. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well mate... At first it seemed decent, lag was reduced.
    But after a while, the lag kicked back in.

    Less laggy as it was before, but it doesn't come close to the smoothness of the vanilla EC. :(
     
  20. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    I don't see all that lag...
    I'm able to enter the game in 5 seconds vs the 30 seconds of the version 5.0 and run through a champion spawn without stuck at all.
     
  21. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    764
    I am getting pretty unbearable lag upon log in since the last Pinko patch. I open client, select shard, character, then it hangs for AGES. The UI loads but the game screen remains black for a good while, sometimes it seems like it is not going to even load, and bringing up the task manager says the game is 'not responding' then after about a minute the game loads up.

    It has done this every time since that last patch. If i change the UI to default, I log in instantly. Soon as I switch back i get the same lag again and ditto ditto, load default, instant log in, load Pinko's get massive lag on log in.

    It didn't do this before that last patch, have only noticed it the last 2 days.

    cheers
     
  22. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    1) there is a new patch to fix it

    2) get rid of the "NewChatWindow" folder inside userdata

    this 2 steps will stabilize everything.
     
  23. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    764
    Thanks that stopped it.
     
  24. GreywolfUK

    GreywolfUK Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8

    Hi Pinco

    Yes you was right I worked that one out eventually, like Jack_Flash I do kind of lose it a bit, when things do not go right, especially with a crash when I am neck deep in spawn, I do apologize, if I was rude in anyway. I still find logging in with every character still lagging. Is there anyway to switch off the chat history completely??, it is not really any use to me to be honest.
     
  25. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    that's because you still have the old history. Just delete one more time "NewChatWindow" from UserData and the lag is gone...
     
  26. Scoobs

    Scoobs Guest

    Thanks Pinco, that worked for me too.
     
  27. MissEcho

    MissEcho Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    764
    Problem is it keeps coming back, i deleted mine, fixed the problem for a day then back to taking minutes to load up when logging in, and the new chat window folder is back in all its glory :(
     
  28. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    make sure you are using the latest UI version, then delete once more the folder and all will be fine.
     
  29. Maleachi

    Maleachi Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    29
  30. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    It's not the UI, there is nothing causing freeze in the code when someone enter the screen.
    The client have a basic issue of slowing down when many mobiles enter the screen and if your PC is not powerful enough the client get stuck.
     
  31. Tazar

    Tazar Guest

    My only severe lag is during log-in.

    When I log in, it takes up to 2 minutes from the time I select a character to when I actually see the character. I log in at my home in Malas were mobiles might be 1 sheep and maybe 1 vampire bat. I can guarantee you that my PC is powerful enough (I've had as many as 12 instances of UO running at once with the default interface with no problems). There is a 20 to 30 second lag when logging in with the default interface.

    If it is not something with the Pinco's Interface, I really can't imagine what else it could be.
     
  32. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I had this same problem with my tamer! I deleted the chat folder THEN updated pinco's and now its about 10 seconds compared to the 30+ it was
     
  33. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,882
    Likes Received:
    5,165
    It's loading the last session's chat log for some reason. I just kept deleting the newchat folder till it eventually worked.
     
  34. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    Basically the newchatwindow folder cause lag when it grows in size. Keep an eye on it.
    Before this patch I notice it can reach over 1 MB. Actually it just save 50 lines per character so if you are using always the same characters it should keep the same size.
     
  35. Desa2k

    Desa2k Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is there a way to disable or remove the new chat window, or disable it from saving altogether? I use to use the ui, and I love it! Its a great addition to the game, but unfortunately it causes me to lag horribly every sense the patch that saves chat. I have confirmed this by deleting the newchatwindow folder, and ill be lag free for just a little while, then it goes right back to being a lag monster. If I use the defult ui, I run lag free all the time, so please dont say that it couldn't be caused by this, or that my pc might not be powerfull enough, because my pc if far more then enough to run lag free with uo. Like I said, I love the ui, and I really wanna use it again, so please help me disable this and use it lag free.
     
  36. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    it's not the chat anymore, actually the latest client patch destoyed the client and it will lag in any case since the client cannot clear/update the cache anymore...
    Before that patch I spent 1 month to optimize the code and my UI was much more clean than default, but we all shall thanks the devs for: "Fixed crash when dynamic objects or mobiles are drawn and deleted continually" that seems to make all worst -.-​

    Personally I'm unable to play in this conditions and I just played 30 minutes at week since the latest patch just for taking the items from the latest events...
     
  37. Desa2k

    Desa2k Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm unconvinced that it is the new client. Ive had this problem sense be for the last client patch, and as I said, I do not lag unless I am running Pinco's ui. I would be very thankful if you tell me how to disable the new chat stuff, it would satisfy my curiosity in this area. I really wanna try what ever I can to get Pinco's to run with acceptable lag. The new guild I joined requires us to use cartographer, and that's not possible for me unless I can get Pinco's working for me.
     
  38. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    You can't remove the new chat and it's not that. Disable the damage info and the you see text instead that requires more resources to be shown.
     
  39. xxrod17xx

    xxrod17xx Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok for me the folder: NewChatWindow is located in program files (x86)>Electronic Arts>Ultima Online Enchaced Client> User Interface>Pinco's UI>Mods. Is the the correct folder? The reason I am asking is because when I delete to folder or even just the xml file inside the folder it disables a number of things in the UI. For one I cannot see how much damage I am doing to the mob anymore, more importantly I cannot open the user settings window. Also, I cannot see my skills in the tracker any more, or the durability of my suit. Any ideas?
     
  40. xxrod17xx

    xxrod17xx Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    30
    Another Bug since deleting the xml file is that I cannot click my vendor to see what is inside or collect gold and such. Nor can I buy from a vendor that I do not own
     
  41. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    no, the folder is inside "Documents\EA Games\Ultima Online Stygian Abyss\User Data\"
    but actually doesn't change so much unless you don't use 20 accounts....

    Until the client is broken you will lag, you all must accept that or back to CC ...
     
  42. Desa2k

    Desa2k Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    12
    Pinco, your failing to understand that a a lot of us are not lagging in enhanced client. Me for an example, I run enhanced client completely lag free, but when I use your ui, I lag so bad that the game becomes unplayable. So I'm confused on how its the clients fault that your ui lags people... I'm not trying to put down the ui in anyway, I love it, and want to use it, but it seems that you refuse to accept that on some systems or situations, that your ui would cause lag.
     
  43. silent

    silent Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    186
    I've experienced some issues that are only with the UI for sure. For example login fresh and try to move items around, expand windows for containers, or click on things with Pincos UI and it doesn't always register the click of the mouse. The mouse click appears delayed or not at all. This does not happen with the default UI. I didn't load the latest UI until about 3-4 months ago I was running an old version, once I patched up with the new UI these things started to surface. Now I know the latest EC patch definately broke some things, but I was having the issues I listed above before they broke the EC.
     
  44. Pinco

    Pinco UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    5,673
    Likes Received:
    865
    The default UI requires 90% less data of my UI, the more data you request, the more will be cached, the more data is cached the more you lag because the game cannot release it.

    Until the client is broken there is no way to determine any cause of lag.