1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Placing a Castle...

Discussion in 'UO Homes and Castles' started by Limlight, May 2, 2009.

  1. Limlight

    Limlight Guest

    I have a keep...and the house next door is being given to me...which leaves room for a castle...but the problem is the castle in front of me is slightly blocking the 5 tile line of sight.....any way around this?
     
  2. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    not sure what you mean by five tile line of site. You have to have five paces infront of you (stairs too) and five paces behind you. 5 paces between a castle will not cover up your targeting reticule.

    The second floor of a house will cover a 4 tile viewable range. If you have a 4 story house infront of you and you can't click on the location needed to place a house you can use circle of transparency.
     
  3. Limlight

    Limlight Guest

    What I am saying is this:

    My Keep
    ----------->Guys 18x18 hes giving me

    Castle

    Basically....the guy giving me the 18x18 gives me perfect length for a castle....I checked on TC1.

    I also have atleast 31 spaces N/S available...but the front steps of the Castle would be in line of sight with the Castle in front of me...

    I have seen castle placed like this before.....plus the dude from UO homes made it sound like a Castle was possible in my spot.

    Anyone really really good at this who would be willing to give me their icq and look at it for me?

    Could I place a Small Tower near where the 18x18 was...and then resize it so that its improperly placed and place a castle and avoid the line of sight that way?
     
  4. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am confused about what you mean by line of sight. If the castle is within 5 tiles of where you would place your front steps then you are out of luck, if it is 5 tiles or further away then you can place a castle. That's all I know and I know of no way to get around that.
     
  5. Limlight

    Limlight Guest

    Ahhh....ok...so I am screwed...

    Looks like I will just be moving my Keep over spaces to secure more land around it in the hopes of a future castle....
     
  6. Uthar Pendragon

    Uthar Pendragon Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    3
    Circle of transperancy will help. i understand what your saying the placement cursor is hitting right at the top wall of the castle in front and therefore you cannot place on it. transperancy will help.
     
  7. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I can come out and walk the land for you if you like. Send me a PM if you want to try to meet up at some point.
     
  8. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    Remember you only need one tile to the east and west sides. Only the north and south sides need to have the 5 tiles (and stairs).
    Sounds like Sarsmi has you covered with the placement pacing. UO AutoMap is priceless when resizing houses and checking your tile counts. If you can't reach Sarsmi hit me up with a PM I can take a loot at the place if ya can't reach him. You'd be amazed where you can squeeze castles and keeps.

    One big thing to remember when placing large houses (especially on ice island) is to be careful of the bumps. Even if you have the tiles the bumps tend to throw alot of players off. You can scan the area with 7x7 custom to find the bumps.
     
  9. Limlight

    Limlight Guest

    Yeah, I am basically screwed as the front wont have 5 spaces...
     
  10. Sweety

    Sweety Guest

    Doubt the guy would do this but...
    you could ask the person infront of you if they are willing to move their house up 1, worth a try
     
  11. Teufel_Hund

    Teufel_Hund Guest

    lol would you move your castle if someone asked you to? Maybe for my wife.....and that is a big maybe!
     
  12. Sweety

    Sweety Guest

    O its a castle nm then
    no i wouldn't if it were a castle... i was thinking it was like a 18x18 or something like that
     
  13. Hera De Saint

    Hera De Saint Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROFL i love ya hon.. but im not moving my castle!!!!!! tooo much stuff in side unless a nice gm wants to pick it up and scoot it forward a bit :p
     
  14. THP

    THP Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9,952
    Likes Received:
    1,713
    its actaully 4 walkable sqs not 5..icq me i will take a look for u
     
  15. Kelline

    Kelline Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually if i did it right, the front caslte would need to move 4 - 5 spaces... then ud have to place it JUST right as theres trees around.. it JUST fits side to side if placed right, but yah the front to back? :(

    castle count space is 42x42 if u count the spaces tween front & back
     
  16. No Fear The Expert is here...

    i'll be willing to look again for you.
    See if there is tiles in back so you're not really blocked with the castle in front of you.. and see if we can move the castle over as well.

    my icq is at the bottom but i think you already have me on your list.
     
  17. Correction:31x31
     
  18. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    They meant if there is a house to the front and back of the castle you are trying to place, as in this situation.
     
  19. then it would be 36x36 front and back.
     
  20. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    Er, not if there is a house behind and a house in front of you.
     
  21. LordWinters

    LordWinters Guest

    From what I've seen,if there's a house in back and in front,you'll need 31+5 in back +5 in front.41 total North to South.
     
  22. Kelline

    Kelline Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    so with spaces tween houses, itd be 41 x 33 (31x31 for the castle, then +5 in front, +5 in back & +1 for each side) :p

    I was off by 1 :( but i got my info from a friend that idocs so i blame him :p

    but i still stand by what i said, I walked it & the front castle would have to move about 4 spots to make it work :( & I dont c that happening, cuz even as much as I love lim, I wouldnt do it so cant picture them either
     
  23. LordWinters

    LordWinters Guest

    Just did a lil experimenting and found that if the house in front will be in front of the castle steps,you need an additional space making it 6 spaces from the castle walls and 5 in front of steps.

    If front house is not in front of steps it will be 5 steps from castle wall.

    So your friend is right depending on front house,will be 42 or 41 and the 33 west to east.
     
  24. Kelline

    Kelline Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    yah castlee is right in front of it :( & even if they wanted to move it for him, there r trees one step in front of that so if cant move :(

    all he can hope for is the back house to fall lol
     
  25. Lord Clay Of Aquinas

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    13
    Offer to buy the house behind you.

    I'd be willing to take a look at it also and see what I can find out for you. Maybe even spot the player with the house behind.
     
  26. MrMightySmith

    MrMightySmith Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    34
    Use UOAM and MSPaint to simply count out tiles... Thake a screen shot of the UOAM screen and paste it into paint.... Ive found this the best way in my past to figure whether a house will fit or not.
     
  27. Limlight

    Limlight Guest

    haha

    You guys are all nice. Doing all this math for me.

    :-]

    It looks like it wont work...but I will ICQ The Home Guild guy to look at it.

    I appreciate all the help you guys.
    The love is mutual.

    :-{}