1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Placing two houses in only 3 days.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Leira of Asrai, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. Leira of Asrai

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    51
    I recently returned to UO from about a 2 year break. It's good to be back.

    My old 18x18 plot has since been built over and have been running around looking for another place to call home. About 3 days ago I placed a customized 16x17 and have continued to look.

    I recently found a good location for an 18x18 in Malas. Everytime I used the placement tool, I received a message stating I needed to wait a certain number of hours before placing another house. Last night I destroyed my previous house in anticipation of the 7 day time limit to expire. I was messing around at the new spot and continued receiving the message stating I still had another 80 hours or so... But to my surprise I was able to successfully place the plot. I entered customization mode and customized the house to 4 stories. I didn't dare place anything inside, because I thought it would disappear any minute leaving all my stuff available for the taking.

    I thought that after server reboot this morning my new house would be gone, but I just logged in and it's still there.

    Is there a reason why I was able to place a second house within 3 days? When will I know it is completely safe for me to start locking down decor and artifacts?
     
  2. Deb

    Deb Guest

    Something is not right with house placement...as I was checking to
    see how many hours I had left to wait to get my main house back
    (long Story). And lo and behold it said I had 68 hours left and bang it set
    down a nice "Stone and Plaster" house. :wall::wall: Now I have to wait
    the 7 days all over again. By rights, I should not have been able to place
    till Sunday or Monday.
     
  3. Leira of Asrai

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    51
    So do you think it's safe to start locking things down? Or should I wait another couple of days?
     
  4. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    You can place sell the house, go place another sell it , and you can do that all day and night. same with placing and dropping it. but once you accept a house in a trade the 7 day house timer kicks in. and you have to wait the 7 days
     
  5. Leira of Asrai

    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    51
    I thought the 7 day timer was for all placing or receiving in trade. So it's only for trading houses. Awesome!
     
  6. Lyconis

    Lyconis Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    68
    You're safe to lock things down. When you have 0 houses on your account the timer goes away. You may have gotten the 15 minute timer between dropping and replacing houses.

    How the housing message works. Double click on house tool and it checks to see if you have placed a house within 7 days. If so you get a message.
    There is most likely an if statement somewhere that is out of order which checks to see if you have a house or not. If you do not have a house the 15 minute recent place timer is checked, if you pass that timer the 7 day recently placed a house timer is not checked as you do not have a house. Most likely the house verification conditional statement holds the 7 day wait statement and the placement verification statement. The house placement verification statement is null if you do not have a house. E.G. you can place a house with no houses and you will not get an are you sure statement the house will just plop!
    Dunno if that makes sense just blurted it out and I'm tired.
    One thing to note with malas, an 18x18 is the largest house you can obtain. Only tram and fel can handle keeps and castles.
     
  7. Deb

    Deb Guest

    See thats just it...I had received a house in trade on Sunday so by
    the housing rules I should not have been able to place till at least
    Sunday. And yet I was able to place a house today (which I did not
    want to do). Unless I am totally
    not understanding I still think something is not right.
     
  8. UltimatePower

    UltimatePower Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you have no houses on your account, you can place no matter what. even if you received a house and then dropped it.
     
  9. Deb

    Deb Guest

    Ahhh thank you...even after all these years I still am learning things.