1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Please fix stratics!

Discussion in 'Stratics Help and Suggestions' started by S_S, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Getting frustrating having to click links 2-4 times to navigate around. :(
     
  2. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
  3. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Welp, I've clicked that link about 20 times now and stratics just isn't gonna let me go to it so I can't even read the remarks there. :(
     
  4. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Which browser?
     
  5. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    IE 9.08
     
  6. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Yeah...I'll repost from the other post. :(

    The Internet is moving toward increased use of jQuery. XenForo was one of the early adopters, and now it's competitors are beginning to follow suit--vBulletin 5, Burning Board 4, IPB, and likely MyBB 2.0. Unfortunately, even the most updated versions of IE are simply bad processing jQuery. Developers are as baffled by IE's delayed adoption as I am. So in a way, it is the software at Stratics, but anticipate similar challenges at other major sites as IE continues to lag behind not only its competition, but also technological advancement in generally.

    This month, I am hoping to change hosts and complete the upgrade that we had to postpone. This should make the site quicker and more efficient. However, until Microsoft decides to join the rest of the Internet in proper jQuery support, there are going to be IE-related challenges.

    P.S. I really want this site to work well, obviously. I'm not very technical and find these types of problems frustrating. My day job (who actually pays me) may give me a pay boost soon, which I hope to use to hire a real life tech admin who can fix all these issues. Sorry it seems like it's taking a long time to fix everything. I'm working on it and hope to get it completed a.s.a.p.!
     
  7. BeaIank

    BeaIank Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    IE10 is out for Windows 7, and it works with JQuery much better, so if possible, upgrade to IE10.
    It is also a much better browser overall.
     
    Taylor likes this.
  8. S_S

    S_S Certifiable
    The Squirrel Empire

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Updated to IE10, but it still doesn't fix the stratics problems. :(
     
  9. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Clear cache/cookies and try again w/ IE10. This upgrade has fixed the clicking issue for 3 others today, so hopefully it'll fix it for you too.
     
  10. Love them Redheads

    Love them Redheads Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    26
    Let me just add to this thread and the confusion.

    I've experience the same problem as the OP along with this constant clicking noise signaling a Start Navigation sound.

    Now for the kicker...... this only happens when I log into my account. If I come to Stratics as a guest and do not log into my account I am able to navigate just fine and there's no clicking noise. The default theme is Animate, which is the theme my account uses when I log in.

    Something that is activated when I log in is causing all these problems. I have not really changed many setting, no feeds or FB links or anything real, just chose my gender and timezone is all.

    Please continue looking into this.........
     
  11. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    Just checking in, are people still seeing this problem?
     
  12. Pandora_CoD

    Pandora_CoD Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend CoD

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    738
    Yes, in IE10+ still have those problems. Still clearing cache helps, but it just eventually gets bogged down again. I'm one of those folks that prefers IE, but also have FireFox installed... so I use FireFox now for this site, but I shouldn't have to use an alternate method than my usual. Other sites that use JQ work fine on IE10+... it would be awesome to go back to VBulletin.
     
  13. Zane_Xander

    Zane_Xander Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Im sick of having to fix my type, it lags every other key stroke. Im a slow typist I cant imagine what fast typist are exsperince. this has been going on for a while now.
     
  14. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    Is anyone else experiencing this? Usually this is a local issue and Pingdom is reporting decent site speeds. It would be helpful to know if other users are also having trouble typing.

    FYI Shamus Turlough
     
    #14 Taylor, Nov 14, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  15. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,943
    Likes Received:
    3,602
    People still use IE??!!
     
  16. Zane_Xander

    Zane_Xander Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    I am still having this problem - I havent found a fix or reason as of yet. The only other site/progz I have had this problem is home basded servers or chatango - I fully understand that it may be my machine, but it doesnt show up often elsewhere. Just typing this took 4min

    ICQ 642-204-867
     
    #16 Zane_Xander, Dec 8, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2013