1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Broadsword team is seeking alternative castle designs! Learn more and discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Broadsword is hosting a 20th Anniversary Party for UO this September! Learn more here. Will you be there, Guest?
    Dismiss Notice

Problem placing boat on home shard

Discussion in 'Beta Testing Archive' started by Lady Tia, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    I just logged back in to LS after patching today and playing on the High seas test shard. I can no longer place a boat on LS. I click on the boat ticket and the targeting cursor is about 5-10 tiles away from the boat. So in order to have the boat near me, the dock or the shore I have to target land or the dock. So I can no longer place boats. Help?

    I have logged all the way out and restarted the client. With no change.
     
  2. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
  3. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried that southeastern corner of land? At the moment, the distance between where you stand and where your mouse cursor is when you place your boat is pretty strict on all the current shards. That's going to change with High Seas, btw.
     
  4. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    I have looked at her problem (I sit about 5 feet from her :) ) I can place a boat just fine where she is standing, but her cursor with the boat place open is about 5 tiles askew. My cursor is right on top of the boat, and hers is not. I even logged in as her on my PC and tried it, still same issue. *shrugs* dunno whats goin on.
     
  5. Serafi

    Serafi Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    21
    Is the client window all the way to the left? When placing houses you get the same shift as you describe if the window is placed rightish.
     
  6. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    Yes, i have tried that too. If I put the cursor close to me in the water, it says "a ship cannot be created here. A living creature is blocking the ship." and if i put the boat closer to me it says "That location is too far away".
     
  7. Lady Tia

    Lady Tia Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    114
    That was it! I had recently gotten a larger monitor and moved the client window to the center. Thank you for the solution!
     
  8. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, interesting.
     
  9. R Traveler

    R Traveler Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    272
    Is it related to house placement offset too?
     
  10. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it could very well be.
     
  11. R Traveler

    R Traveler Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    272
    It will be nice to see normal ghost image of any placement (boat or house) at same location they should be placed, and red hued ghost image in case invalid placement.
     
  12. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Wiki Moderator Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    784
    Question - could this offset issue also be what keeps some people from finding the new T-maps?

    In the Classic Client, for example, I can't find maps at all, even if I locate it in the Enhanced Client with a different character, and put a bandage as a marker on the spot to dig with the other client.
     
  13. Serafi

    Serafi Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    21
    Great! Thought as much.

    This is how I first learned about it. The 2D client requires you to have the client window all the way to the left on your screen in order for x/y to be correct when placing. Since we all now have larger monitors than the client window it`s a common problem. It also applies to placing boats, and I am quite sure it`s the same problem Basara is having with the t maps. The EC doesn`t have the same problem obviously.
     
  14. NuSair

    NuSair Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,003
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Not sure what's interesting about it... it's a known bug for years. It's been affecting house placement.... I want to say a dev made a post mentioning it a while ago.
     
  15. NuSair

    NuSair Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,003
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Anytime I place a house, I move my game window up to the top left corner.