1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Problem: UO Assist won't connect to updateserver....

Discussion in 'UHall' started by NBG, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. NBG

    NBG Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    213
    For the past couple days whenever I started UO Assist it fails to connect to the update server. I'm down to 4 more attempts before it stops running.....

    Anyone know what the heck is going on with UOA? I have been using it ever since it same out:sad3:
     
  2. Their server must be down. I found that if you log into UO without using UOA, then log out and relog WITH UOA, that it will go through. You'll get the "can't connect to server" message from UOA, but it will give you the "Continue" button so you can still use it.
     
  3. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113

    UHall Page 2
     
  4. NBG

    NBG Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    213
    uoa no longer works all I get now when I hit the continue button is same as before but UOA will not start.... Even tried connor's method and still no go ...
     
  5. Vesta

    Vesta Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to remember a registry hack that would set the count back to 10. It was on the old forums though. I can't find it. Maybe someone remembers and will post the fix.
     
  6. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    690
  7. mimo

    mimo Guest

  8. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
  9. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    They obviously think modifying your registry is an illegal use of the program and thus against the TOS or RoC for Stratics too allow it to be discussed. LMFAO.
     
  10. Shakaja

    Shakaja Guest

    can someone pm me how to do it?
     
  11. Faith

    Faith Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can get to the login screen, but when I click next, it tells my my UO Assist cannot blabla, might not load in game etc.

    and it doesn't :(
     
  12. Deb

    Deb Guest

    Maybe this is just temporary...I haven't seen anything saying he
    was no longer updating. This has happened before.
     
  13. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    1. It IS against the rules to give info on modifying the parts of a UOPro app (other than very specific circumstances - we still are waiting to hear if the UOAM fixes are allowable or not)

    and

    2. It is probably a Temporary Issue - I've had this happen for a few days every 4-8 months with UO Assist, for the 5+ years I've used it - this is neither a new or a pressing issue, to me.

    Strangely, for me, it's totally bypassing the normal UOA update check, and goes straight into starting UO & UOA, as a part of this current issue (which also sometimes occurs when I would have update checks fail at some point)/
     
  14. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Basara, I normally had my UOA to update check every time. I went and changed it to update only once per day but it still attempts to update. I double checked the settings and it is indeed set to only check once.

    So, even though it's set correctly, it still checked each time I logged into UO for the last day and a half and so my UOA stopped working.

    I copied the registry modification posted by another poster and it reset the counter back to ten. My UOA works again.

    Editing your registry in no way changes or modifies any part of the UOA files.
     
  15. Chardonnay

    Chardonnay Visitor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know why...sitting at a bank you dont need uoassist...and in closing since it dont affect you we shouldnt care either since we all bank sit too and dont use uoassist either...:eek:snap:
     
  16. Deb

    Deb Guest

    Just a heads up all, I emailed Tugsoft and the server was down. It should
    be up now or very shortly.:):):)
     
  17. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Aww the Drama is more fun when it's down! :D
     
  18. Azazel of LA

    Azazel of LA Guest

    Thank you for the update, see what can be done when your not complaining on stratics?:D
     
  19. Ezekiel Zane

    Ezekiel Zane Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    113
    Nice. Thanks for posting that.
     
  20. Strawberry

    Strawberry Guest

    It's up! It's great that Tugsoft was able to resolve the problem so quickly.

    Also, thank you to whoever posted the hack earlier. I would have missed an entire day of Ultima without it because the game turns into drudgery without UOAssist.
     
  21. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    690
    that "whoever" would be me ... Kojak ... and you're welcome

    I can't believe they yanked the fix ... oh wait ... yes I can ... because making a program you already paid for work is obviously a bad thing ...
     
  22. ParadoxUO

    ParadoxUO Guest

    - please PM me how to fix this so I report to the GRI Circle...

    One odd question...

    - this fix was posted on stratics, mods thanked for it.
    - now it cant be posted, mods deleting it.

    Do you mods know that the basic concept of capitalism is based on rationality and coherence? Take that and you create chaos...

    just a headup. :scholar:
     
  23. Gwendar-SP

    Gwendar-SP Guest

    Looks like the problem is fixed. What you do when this happens is avoid closing the log on screen. When you log out of the game to switch characters or take a break leave the log on screen open. This problem pops up from time to time. Just don't panic and try restarting uao over and over.
     
  24. Vesta

    Vesta Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Kojak.
     
  25. Shameful Joy

    Shameful Joy Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've saved a copy of the fix so next time we'll all get it one way or another. Not hard to belive stratics wouldn't want you to be able to use sonething U paid for. We all are still using the "TEMPORARY" stratics boad. Whats it been now stratics 3 months? I'm sure U have a team working hard to retore the boards. LOL
     
  26. They've said quite a few times now that the new boards are here to stay and that they are working on converting the old boards' information into the new format so they can incorporate it.
     
  27. Snakeman

    Snakeman UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    165
    Ditto, if anyone needs the Fix PM me