1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Problem with Statue Quest

Discussion in 'UHall' started by IdoBods, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    havent done it in a while. doing it today with several friends. we all got the pieces of obsidian. double click them and nothing is happening. nothing at all... anyone know whats going on, have i forgotten something? something new/changed i missed?
     
  2. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    bump come on.. no one has a clue whats wrong???
     
  3. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    Once you have 10 sections of the statue you may combine them to make an obsidian statue. To combine the pieces, double click one section and target another. It will say "Something Happened" and turn into a larger piece called "A Partially Reconstructed Obsidian Statue". Keep double clicking and targetting the other pieces until your statue is fully formed.
     
  4. Bomb Bloke

    Bomb Bloke Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a few such pieces in my bank (one day I'm sure I'll muster up the boredom to grind my way through collecting the several others I require).

    If I double click them in there, I'm instantly told that "Nothing Happens". I get the targetting cursor if I move them to the root of my pack, though.
     
  5. jaraxlebaenrae

    jaraxlebaenrae Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    maybe the same person has to collect all of the pieces...seems weird to me though.
     
  6. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    okay let me try again. i have done this quest enough times that i need only one more to make a full set.
    i UNDERSTAND how to freaking double click the pieces and make them combine.

    they are NOT doing that. i have THREE guildmates that have been doing the quest.

    all three of them have 10 pieces that THEY collected themselves.

    the pieces REFUSE to combine.

    we all get the message .. NOTHING HAPPENS
     
  7. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    If for some reason you stacked the pieces at any point it breaks the combining mechanism.

    If you haven't, then definitely a new bug.
     
  8. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    i think that is the answer
     
  9. Bomb Bloke

    Bomb Bloke Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Break the mechanism by stacking? The segments are stackable now?
     
  10. Hanna

    Hanna Guest

    That sounds like a bug itself, don't most items that are dropped or fll into a pack autotstack?
     
  11. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think it's an unintended consequence of making arcane gems stackable.

    To the OP: do the quest again, and use the new piece to try and target one of the old broken pieces, and see if it will combine the two so you can still use the old pieces. It could work, maybe...
     
  12. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    This weird bug has been around for a while, basically since arcane gems became stackable.

    I have been able to successfully make a statue by combining the pieces as I earn them, so I never have more than one piece at a time to add to the "lump" of pieces that will eventually become the statue.

    Not sure if that helps or not, but it is what has worked for me in the recent past since this problem cropped up.
     
  13. I didn't know you could do this. After I read this I had to log onto my tamer and rush to the bank to combine the 4 pcs I've had sitting in there for a few years now.....Thanks Tina, yet again!

    It did work and all of the pieces combined with no problem when I moved them into my pack.
     
  14. IdoBods

    IdoBods Guest

    we all redid the quest last night, combining our pieces as we went.. no problems!

    thanks for the help mates!

    seems like this was an unintended result of our desire to have more items stack.

    oh, and to whomever suggested trying to combine the new 'unstacked' pieces with the ones that had been stacked... we all just ditched our stacked pieces when we started again. i didnt see your post till this morning, so i have no idea if that would work or not. nice thought though so as to not have em go to waste.
     
  15. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,539
    Likes Received:
    1,932
    I'm glad that idea worked for you. The one disadvantage it has is that you don't have any way of knowing how many pieces are in that "lump," just by looking at it. If I am pretty sure I won't be able to collect all 10 pieces for a statue in one day, I sometimes put something stackable next to the "lump," e.g., bandages or arrows, adding one more bandage or arrow as I incorporate each piece into the "lump." I can look at the pile of stackable stuff to know how many pieces I've already earned.
     
  16. MoneyMaker

    MoneyMaker Guest

    Just a side note about using the "lumped" stack. It doesn't work with any of the pieces that aren't stacked.
    Might as well ditch them in the bin if they stack.
    Guess it changes how they are recognized, after they are stacked.
    You just wind up with a "lump" of worthless obsidian.
    Interesting thing though, they show up as "world gem bits" when I drag across them, at first. Same thing with stacked arcane gems.
    Might just be the effect of my connection, or something.
     
  17. Bomb Bloke

    Bomb Bloke Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any item that looks suspiciously like a different type of item often IS that type of item with a different name.

    For example, Soul Seekers are really just Radiant Scimitars with a special name, colour, and selection of properties.

    The client concentrates on getting this "base item" information first (along with colouration data), so it can render the item on the screen ASAP. Once it's rendered all items in the area, it'll move on to pulling up the specific info about each item (such as what they're really supposed to be called, etc).

    So if you mouse over such an item in the meantime, you'll see the base item's name.

    Really easy to trigger this by walking into a well decorated player home, where the client will suddenly be bombarded with something like a hundred items or more.