1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Problem With Ultima Online Any Advice?

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by SoulWeaver, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    729
    Just recently past 48 hours. My computer is having an issue running the client its only Ultima Online. Whenever i started to play about 3 min or so the game will freeze and then freeze up my whole computer...

    Its only when I try and play uo any other time my computer does not freeze...

    I've run Virus/Spy Ware scanns, I've defragged, i've gotten rid of old programs.

    I've done a system restore to a few days ago..

    I've reinstalled Uo it self. Still have No luck.


    Going to see if theirs any updates for my graphics cards let me know if anyone else has any suggestions thx
     
  2. DreadLord Lestat

    DreadLord Lestat Social Media Liaison
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Social Media Liaison Stratics Legend PITMUCK

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,161
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    you have tried all the things that I was going to suggest. I would post in the tech forums here as well, might be beneficial.
     
  3. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    171
  4. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    729

    Nope not the ram unfortunetly.

    Running 6 Gigs

    I have 180 Gig free on my hard drive..

    I dont have anything else running beside icq and maybe a browser...

    I uninstalled any high end games i tried out so i dont have anything out of the ordinary like i said its just UO..

    My comptuer is plenty capable of running it

    I have a Dual Core, Geforce 8800 GTX 512, 6 Gigs of Ram, Windows Xp, not sure ran fine for past year i havent changed anything
     
  5. eurin

    eurin Guest

    64-bit version of XP?
     
  6. Timothy_SP

    Timothy_SP Guest

    Heh, I hope so. Otherwise it's such a waste of RAM.

    The 64-bit XP drivers aren't that plentiful. I never had much luck with 64-Bit XP at all.

    Upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit already!
     
  7. Timothy_SP

    Timothy_SP Guest

    Perhaps Karma?
     
  8. nightstalker22

    nightstalker22 Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did you do a system restore because of the problem or is it unrelated?

    Did you do the system restore then patch or patch then system restore?

    When you reinstalled UO, did you remove the old installation first or did you reinstall over the old installation?

    I think it is either your sound card drivers or registry problem.

    Did you recently change your Direct X drivers? They could have changed your sound card settings perhaps, and it could cause system lockup.

    From your start menu go to> Run> type "regedit"

    Check out your registry for the program after you do an uninstall, and delete any reference to UO, then reinstall. Be sure to save your macros before uninstall! :D
     
  9. Sturdy

    Sturdy Guest

    Try either updating or rolling back your graphics driver depending on if you have the most current drivers.

    I have had a little trouble that could be related to how my AMD 4870 works with the client.
     
  10. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    729
    yeah I uninstalled uo first and removed everything then reinstalled..

    Didn't change any direct x drivers.

    My bad my laptop has the 6 gig with windows 7 this only has 4 gigs.

    The system restore didnt need to patch anything?

    Sound Driver or Registersty go into more depth on that nothing been installed or changed that i know of..
     
  11. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    729
    Nope my karma is pretty good life is acutally great :) Just some technical difficulties with electronics!
     
  12. Urin

    Urin Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's got to be something you changed in the past 48 hours, given the details in your original post. Also, which client, and depending on your version of Windows (after XP) try running it as administrator (right click->run as administrator).
     
  13. Critical Gaming

    Critical Gaming Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    171
    I'd honestly pull out all your RAM and try one stick at a time to make sure that it isn't a single stick ****ing you. It really sounds like a RAM problem to me.

    i've seen it happen before, some lady brought in this new PC that kept crashing when she ran programs and it ended up being 1 stick out of her 4GB of *NEW* RAM that was causing it.

    I'd try to eliminate that first because it's easy. I know I'd be pissed if I sat here troubleshooting a machine for days then figured out I had a stick of RAM that went south.

    Otherwise, drivers/malware/a ****ed up hard drive will be your culprit

    Try running chkdsk and combofix (google it).
     
  14. nightstalker22

    nightstalker22 Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    8
    Check the RAM as Critical Gaming suggested, and disable all sounds in game before it crashes.

    I cannot play Battlefield 1942 on this machine with the sound card I have, it will play for a few minutes until I fire my gun too quickly or something, then it locks up and crashes system.

    I am running an upgraded E Machine from Wal*Mart!
    I put 2 Gigs ram in it, but it was playing UO fine with the 512MB Ram, so even if you find a bad stick of RAM, it should be fine to just remove it!
     
  15. SoulWeaver

    SoulWeaver King of The Bearded Ladies
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    729

    My father just suggested the same thing testing now running 1 stick of ram see if freezes then ill try the other stick see if its one or the other or just both running togeather...

    Thanks CG