1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Problems logging in

Discussion in 'UO Legends' started by christaoconner, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. christaoconner

    christaoconner Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. Thanks to EA's lack of enthusiasm to help me solve my problem, I am turnin to you guys to see if any of you have dealt with this before. The other day I tried to open up UO and when I signed in, it froze on "Verifying Account" so I X'ed out of it and tried again. Then I got the message "Problem communicating with Origin. Please restart UO and try again." So, I did just that. I closed down UO at least 30 times. I shut down and restarted my computer. I unplugged my router and try again. I kept getting that message. So, I uninstalled the client, and reinstalled it... and I'm STILL getting the same message. I had a friend sign on into my account, and the account came up for him, so the account is fine. It's something with my computer. I tried to call EA, but was disconnected (I think they hung up on me). Then, I tried their live chat... waited 27 mins to get to my turn, then it said "Request Cancelled. No representatives available". So I wrote an e-mail, and it's been 24 hours, and no response... as usual. Last time i wrote an e-mail, it took them an entire week to get back to me... with no solution anyway.

    I googled the situation and tried what some people suggested, but it seemed like a lot of people were using something called Razor and that was what was giving them problems, but I am not using any other programs... just trying to open UO by itself. Any suggestions?
     
  2. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    I'm not much help with tech problems, but just wondering, are you using UOA? and did you get that patch this week? did the trouble start after that?
     
  3. christaoconner

    christaoconner Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I am not using UOA or UOAM. I have vista, so none of that ever worked for me. I was just tryin to start the regular classic client. The problem started on Tuesday. I signed on in the morning, then when I went to sign in around lunch time it gave me that message. And hasn't worked since then. It's very frustrating! I can't get my UO fix haha.
     
  4. woody_cats

    woody_cats Guest

    did you recheck that you are running uo in admin mood and that your firewall is not blocking something sounds like a patch issue
     
  5. christaoconner

    christaoconner Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running it how I always ran it. I didn't change any settings. It starts up the program fine, I just can't sign into my account, so I don't think it's Vista... How do I check if fire walls are blocking something? I am using Norton, so they have their own firewalls. Windows fire walls are turned off.
     
  6. Omnicron

    Omnicron Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 1999
    Messages:
    7,689
    Likes Received:
    40
    Its a sign from god. Put down UO and walk away.
     
  7. kulder

    kulder Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    17
    To check your firewall if I remember correct (hates Norton) open Norton clik file and see if you see either firewall or exceptions cant remember been awhile but anyways look for UO exe and unblock it, and also try opening(hates Vista to) your UO with a right clik and run as admin and see if that connects
     
  8. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    after you reinstalled UO did you check and make certain the patch folder was empty? it should have been with a new install, but every time I've seen this 'cannot connect' problem it was because of a patch not applying properly.... I think :confused: like I said, I'm not much help with this kinda thing
     
  9. RL'S pker

    RL'S pker Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    19
    did it allow you to patch the last update?

    And are you sure you didn't change some client side files?
     
  10. Az of DSR

    Az of DSR Guest

    I hear if you drink too many red bulls you cant connect to the servers? :eyes:
     
  11. christaoconner

    christaoconner Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, tried to check firewall on norton... i'm not sure exactly how to find UO file, so I just turned the firewall, but it still gave me the same message. When I try to run it in Admin, instead of starting with teh Stygian Abyss frame it started with Age of Shadows, but needless to say, still gave me the same message. I don't understand why I'd have to do that anyway, since it worked before with just double clicking on the icon. I had not changed any settings or downloaded anything new before it stopped working.

    I am completely stumped... I miss UO....
     
  12. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,922
    Likes Received:
    379
    did ya run off and play a free shard at all?
     
  13. christaoconner

    christaoconner Visitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope... havent played any other shard at all, free or other...