1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Question On Renaming Pets

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Vampyre Kitty, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. Vampyre Kitty

    Vampyre Kitty Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    44
    Hoping I posted this in the right spot.. anywho is it possible to rename an animal with spaces if say the animal named is only one word? For example if I wanted to rename something that's currently Dragon to A Greater Dragon...thought I read on the EC its possible but I can't seem to get it to work... any advice is appreciated ty :)
     
  2. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    You need a particular UI Skin to get away with it. The Lucis Interface allows multiple words in a name, and also the last time I used it (before the 1.0 release) numbers in a pet name too. I've since switched to the Copper UI mod, and that doesn't seem to allow the same naming naughtiness at all... nor does the basic client it seems.

    Also be aware Parrots seem to still be broken and un-nameable in the EC no matter what you do. So at the moment, when I feel a round of renaming coming on, I quickly swap into the Classic client, and use the "type over pre-spaced words trick" instead...
     
  3. Vampyre Kitty

    Vampyre Kitty Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    44
    Adol~ I downloaded that interface and tried but it still wont let me :( wonder if maybe they changed something..?
     
  4. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe the ability to do this in the EC was broken sometime after the launch of SA and it was a client feature not a mod/skin. I recall reading a post about it (perhaps the tamers forum?) not currently working in the EC with no ETA.
     
  5. It wasn't "broken" by a patch, but intentionally changed to remove spaces because people were having trouble with the pet-name commands not recognizing the spaces in the EC. Of course, you can always use the "All Kill/Follow" type commands, but this wouldn't allow you to issue single pet commands when using more than on pet. A Developer commented that there was not ETA for this fix, meaning they weren't working on it.
     
  6. Vampyre Kitty

    Vampyre Kitty Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    44
    well that sucks :( oh well thanks for the info.
     
  7. Adol

    Adol Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    469
    Happily, this is not true! I went and checked today just to be sure, and although it's a little subtle, the renaming is still there... at least in the version of Lucis I was using (Designed for 4.0.7.4.)

    Under "User Settings" > "Options" tab, switch to the custom UI for Lucis. Open your Pet Gump as follows;

    [​IMG]

    Now click the Yellow globe. This trick only seems to work from that option. Give it what ever name you like; for the fire beetle it used to be "Appletize (My character) Goes Down In Flames" because for that character I like that message to flash up when he get's killed and dismounted... His other pets are "Appletize Dies Again" and variations of :p But anyway, just to prove it, I took the "s" off the end and renamed to check it works, and yes it sticks.

    Just be aware that occasionally this custom UI adds a space at the start of the name, so delete the lot and write from blank to hit the maximum character length (which is maybe 1 character more than the above...)