1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Question

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Vandetta, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. Vandetta

    Vandetta Guest

    Every time I try to use a skill it just say "You must wait a few minutes to use another skill" Thing is I haven't used anything.

    I tried different computers, different clients, different facets, killing my self...

    any other ideas?
     
  2. Fridgster

    Fridgster Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    787
    I've seen this posted a few times and the end result is that you have to page a GM. Explain in detail on whats happening and they should be able to help you. If the first GM blows you off, try it again. They can fix the issue.
     
  3. Vandetta

    Vandetta Guest

    Thanks. Ya the first one hung around for 2 secs and then ran. I will try again.
     
  4. Theo_GL

    Theo_GL Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,405
    Likes Received:
    678
    If you are in the 2d client - check your macros.

    If you have one set to the same key - you might think you are just using one skill but you could have two macros to the same key or to the space bar. This can then give you that message.

    Its usually when I make a new char and it copies the starting macro's from somewhere and then I collide them with new ones I set. I have to go back and delete the unwanted ones.
     
  5. yars

    yars Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    134
    This just happened too me last week,when you page for a GM put in the message "skill timer is stuck".hopefully you get a smart GM like I did.
     
  6. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,881
    Likes Received:
    5,164
    More and more people are having this issue. I wonder if we could manage, between us, to work out what's causing it.
     
  7. andartshome

    andartshome Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    iv had it happen a few times , i used to just log on and off for me it was allways when using embuing skill
     
  8. Mandrake of DF

    Mandrake of DF Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    323
    Try use the 'Help - Im stuck' option.

    That should cancle all pending skills you have and teleport you.
     
  9. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    It's a server side bug most likely due to many incoming packets.
    UO designers are not known for great programming skills so don't hold you breath on a fix for this fix.

    Seems when people have this problem they get help by using the help gump & paging a GM to fix it.
     
  10. Felonious Monk

    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    154
    I have 1 more option for you. It has worked for me.
    Using the tinker skill make a spoon or knife.
    It requires zero tink skill. As I mentioned it has worked for me before.
    It also has been reported that it doesn't always work.
    I'm not sure what code changed this.
    It used to work every time.
    I believe its worth a try. GL
     
  11. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    689
    hehe - people used to do this on purpose to bypass the peacemaking timer

    you can't do it too easily anymore - if you can figure out how you're doing it, it would be very helpful *wink* - jk - hehe