1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Really want to play but just found out something!

Discussion in 'UO Players Corner' started by tominator46, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. tominator46

    tominator46 Guest

    hi All

    New player here..Have sort of an older computer.....2.66ghz intel pentium 4 and a vanilla pci nvidia 6200 video card..no express or AGP

    My question is that the enhanced client doesn't support a 6200 officially....Should i just stick to the classic client with no expansions....This old motherboard ain't upgradeable...or can i just do everything on the new 3d client except Stygian and sea expansions..any help appreciated...hoping it runs ok since i just subscribed
    Tom:wall:
    ps I just turned 65 so many i'm getting dumber!
     
  2. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,464
    Likes Received:
    587
    The classic client works fine with SA and High Seas.

    I have a 2.93ghz Celeron with a nvidia 5500 (if I remember correctly) PCI video card that can run the Enhanced Client for most things. You just got to toggle most of the fancy bells and whistles off in the EC video settings.

    I've even tried it on a 10+ year old P4 1.4ghz (with an ancient Nvidia 4xxx MX AGP card below listed EC specs) and was able to do non-combat stuff fairly well with it (the biggest issue is that MB is limited to a half-gig of RDRAM, so the computer is already laboring badly from being the computer equivalent of a centenarian).
     
  3. tominator46

    tominator46 Guest

    I was surprised that EA recommended a core duo..and then basically said the 6200 or fx series wouldn't work..lol:eyes:
     
  4. Schuyler Bain

    Schuyler Bain Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a similar system to the OP and I run both clients with no problem. As Basara mentioned you most likely will need to back the settings down for the EC, but the CC will be fine.
     
  5. tominator46

    tominator46 Guest

    Actually I just tried the enhanced version and it scrolls smoother than the classic except for a little hitching now and then
     
  6. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,023
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    I use a 3-year-old laptop. I find that the EC, with the settings scaled back, runs smoother for me than the CC.
     
  7. grig_since98

    grig_since98 Guest

    For what it is worth, I got the EC to work just fine at one of my relatives homes on their computer which has one of the radeon cards that isn't supported. I had to tweak a couple settings and then download the newest drivers, but it worked fine.