1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Running multiple UO Clients...

Discussion in 'UHall' started by jfkeach, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. jfkeach

    jfkeach Guest

    On the Chat log, there was this
    I believe that it stems from issues with the Windows Operating System. When UO came out, we had Win98. It didnt handle multithreading objects well. If you have two instances of the same EXE running, it would cause problems on that OS. The way the patcher works, made it check for the EXE running, and you couldnt start another instance of the client if you couldnt run the patcher.

    Newer OS's like XP, Vista, and windows 7 handle name spaces differently. Thats why you can run multiple clients with different Computer User accounts simultaneously. I dont think that it was intentional as a means to stop customers from running multiple clients, but was the easiest way to program the client.

    And there was issues with File locking as well in the older operating systems. Files UO needed to run. Security within the newer operating systems is different, attached to the user accounts on the PC.

    It is possible for them to code the client to work in multiple instances, but it will be problematic. I dont see it happening any time soon. And if you are running UOAssist, it will have to be rewritten to allow that as well.
     
  2. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Enhanced Client. Problem solved :)
     
  3. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    I think the OP is correct on the reasons given.

    There may be 1 more, players repeatedly dbl clicking the UO icon when it doesn't load up immediately (esp on slower machines back in 97). Without something to prevent it, this will cause unwanted multiple instances to load.



    About rewritting UOA, don't think it is needed. Folks don't really play with both instances (this means they are afk on the non active instance). I normally use it to transfer stuff or cast arcane circle.

    I am good with the devs just removing the multiple UO client restriction.
     
  4. saladid

    saladid Guest

    I remember it was with thieves at a bank befor trade windows and such on would steal and then hand directly from pack to second account guards called he dies but second account has item and nothing can be done. I also think there was a dupe.
     
  5. Zambowow

    Zambowow Guest

    The way I look at it is this....

    If you're paying for multiple accounts, then you should be able to run multiple clients. What running two clients can harm is beyond me. As long as your machine can handle two clients, you should be able to do so.

    I'm all for it!
     
  6. Serine

    Serine Guest

    Multi boxing risk ? just what pvp needs :lick:

    I can already se it , 5 mages run by one player at once pre casting 5 Flames strikes. Or 5 archers doing 5 special moves at once weeeee :p
     
  7. Mitzlplik_SP

    Mitzlplik_SP Guest

    2 boxin FTW :D

    Sure makes fishin more enjoyable.
     
  8. if they can manage to do that, then well, must be nice rofl
     
  9. Serine

    Serine Guest

    fairly easy when multi accounts allowed on one computer. can control all characters with main keyboard and mouse .

    Saw it alot in WoW when i played it. 5 x Shamans doing chain lightning etc .

    Even worse was 1 person doing 10 Man raid hehe .

    link below is just sick hehe

    http://gaygamer.net/2007/07/multiboxing_couple_has_47_pcs.html
     
  10. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    690
    Supreem_EAMythic I'm sure there was a reason why they implemented it this way years ago. I'm not exactly sure why they did it. We will look into this, but I can't promise that we can change it

    super lol - it's not like you can't very very easily run 2 clients with a certain 3rd party program and have been able to for 10 years - they could easily just copy the method that that program uses - let's face it, they just don't want us to run 2 clients for some unknown reason (maybe just sheer laziness?)
     
  11. Kurgan

    Kurgan Guest

    NO need for any 3rd party app.

    Run the EC client, once in game, load the old 2D client.

    EC client running 1st account
    2D client running 2nd account

    Wow that was hard to figure out, and LEGAL...

    I do this all the time to move items from one account that has chars at the back to another account.
    Or to trade a house from 1 account to another.
     
  12. Zayin666

    Zayin666 Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you insane??? Think about the eye damage and brain tumors people will get when they use the EC client!

    (Sarcasm might have been used in the above sentence :) )
     
  13. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Folks, don't get carried away just yet. We are not talking about using 3rd party apps or scripts that allows players to auto move/cast/fight etc.

    That's one of the reasons why I don't see a need for UOA to be updated to deal with multi clienting. This will likely lead to unattended macro'g.

    As to 5 accounts doing precast flamestrikes in pvp, without scripts, the non active instances will be sitting ducks while you toggle between the instances. And if folks are scripting, someone has already noted that at least one of these script programs already allow starting multiple instances easily.

    There are other legit uses (eg transferring gifts to a single char for xtrading) and legit ways to login multiple accounts (eg xp switch user).
     
  14. Serine

    Serine Guest

     
  15. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    i[]NO need for any 3rd party app.

    Run the EC client, once in game, load the old 2D client.

    EC client running 1st account
    2D client running 2nd account

    Wow that was hard to figure out, and LEGAL...
    [/i]

    EC + EC works too, or EC + 2d + EC... basically you can run as many instances of the Enhanced Client as you want (or as your system can handle).
     
  16. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,444
    My system can't run the EC it kills my pc. Everytime the EC is used on my pc it hard crashes which is NOT cool!
     
  17. S.P.A

    S.P.A Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    55
    No need for Mythic to do a thing.

    I use Windows Virtual PC, previously Microsoft Virtual PC 2007, previously Microsoft Virtual PC 2004, installed on my laptop and desktops. Create a few Virtual Machines, each with a copy of XP Home and an installation of UO 2D, UO Assist and UO AutoMap / Cartographer.

    Start as many VMs as your memory can handle, run each UO account in each one.

    With Windows 7, you now have Windows Virtual PC built in with XP Mode, perfect for this.
     
  18. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
     
  19. obeeee

    obeeee Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    48
    Microsoft Virtual PC 2007
    2 monitors

    :p
     
  20. Mook Chessy

    Mook Chessy Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sometimes you just gotta do what you need to do......
     
  21. Reximus

    Reximus Guest

    Yeah, Like they can't just comment the code out right, you are dumb.

    If they don't do it, it'd just be because they don't want to.
     
  22. Evlar

    Evlar Guest

    With Windows 7 I've had 3x EC clients and accounts running at once whilst sorting out houses.

    Although I don't have a particular need to have more than one account running at once, it can be quite handy sometimes, especially when you have dual monitors ;)

    One question I do wonder about though, is if I'm running macros and gaining skills on one, such as a crafter, whilst running around on another, is one classed as AFK macroing, even though I have them both on "screens"? :p
     
  23. Sean

    Sean Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,376
    Likes Received:
    140
    Yep, no matter what ,if your char is doing something in game, interacting in anyway, you need to be able to respond to any GM within X amount of time.
     
  24. Sindris

    Sindris Guest

    I have never seen the sense in disallowing multiple clients to run at once. I have done it for 11 years or more, never had a problem doing it, never saw anything morally questionable about. Did it/does it violate the ToS? Possibly, but in this instance I don't really care. Its really only useful for rezzing pets, moving items from one account to another or rezzing someone on another account when time restricts going on a wandering healer hunt. I suppose there are more malevolent uses for this kind of thing, but I don't do that kind of stuff.
     
  25. Evlar

    Evlar Guest

    You can always have a handy rezzing station for group champion spawns too ;)
     
  26. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    582
    Actually, you can start the EC client after starting the 2D client - I do it all the time for gating rescues, pet rezes and friending other characters to houses.

    It's not like it was when 3D & KR used the same patcher as 2D. The 2D/3D/KR patcher would detect another instance running and refuse to go farther, though you could run KR by going directly to the client and starting it (but doing so lagged the hell out of the system).
     
  27. jfkeach

    jfkeach Guest

    Im getting a new PC that supports Virtualization, which with Windows 7 Professional and the XP Virtual CLient you download from microsoft, you can have two OS's running at same time, one on each monitor. My current processor did not support this.

    I like being able to transfer stuff between chars, or even guild my other characters from one without the hassle of logging in and out of UO. And it will be handy for ressing pets on my factions tamer.
     
  28. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,957
    Likes Received:
    5,444
    Wishing I could get a new pc... but that's not likely to occur...

    I can't run the EC on my computer... everytime I do after about 5 or so min it hard crashes my pc. NOT COOL.

    As far as running multiple accounts... I agree... If I own 8 or 10 accounts I should be able to RUN 8 or 10 accounts. I see no problem with that. Honestly you can't run and script 8 or 10 accounts. Least you shouldn't be able to. But I use multiple accounts when I can (using multiple user accounts) so that I can trade pets/homes/items etc. between my characters.

    Sometimes I use multiple characters at a hosted event.

    But before all this is added they need to return the ability in the EC that the KR client had of multiple co-ownership for housing. This is going to be a peeve of mine until the issue is resolved.

    There is absolutely no reason in my opinion that the 2d client and the EC are limited to 10 co-owners and that accounts are limited to only being co-owned to one house...

    For those of us with multiple accounts I pay to play just like everyone else .... yet much of my character base can't even properly use my own homes. This is something that really seriously ticks me off...

    I do not want my accounts limited to "friend"... This stinks.... I can't secure things, can't manage anything... and I can't use deeded items... unless of course I use the "owner" account. :(
     
  29. Fink

    Fink Guest

    I've run four instances of EC on my computer without any problems. Of course, I could only pilot one at a time so I didn't see them all moving at once (but they all updated very well). I've also run EC + CC side by side to compare things, such as legacy backpacks and such.. I found I had to launch CC before EC, or not use the CC patcher, or it wouldn't allow it.