1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

SA Client on Windows 7

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Zayin666, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. Zayin666

    Zayin666 Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did anyone try this? Did it work?
     
  2. R Traveler

    R Traveler Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    231
  3. Chrissay_

    Chrissay_ Guest

    It may work but it will not be supported by Technical Support until Windows officially releases.
     
  4. Zayin666

    Zayin666 Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    6
    It seems so :)
    I just had an error when launching it for the first time.
    The file: 3dx9_24.dll was missing, so I had to download it and copy it so the system32 folder.

    Thanks!

    Will reactive my account later to try it out!
     
  5. Thav12

    Thav12 Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not only does it work, it works GREAT. My vista preloaded 1 year old (otherwise state of the art) laptop was almost headed down a 13 story building and nearly tipped over the edge out of sheer frustration, when windows 7 made it perfectly usable again. Similarly, KR crashed the crap out of the same laptop (or any computer i played it on) causing it to overheat and crash to desktop or to off (yes, off, as in: had to put it on ice and then reboot the computer). Now with SA client and windows 7, it runs like butter. Has yet to crash in two weeks. My UO life has improved 1000% since these two pieces of software came together.

    Also, let me put a shameless plug in for the SA client -----> IT IS AWESOME! BEST THING THAT HAPPENED TO UO IN 9 years!!!! I met the future of UO and I like it :)

    Disclaimer: i am not receiving anything from microsoft or EA. In fact, i am not even in the content Beta...
     
  6. EnigmaMaitreya

    EnigmaMaitreya Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Windows 7 32 Bit and Windows 7 64 Bit on two different computers running the SA client just fine. It also runs KR and 2D great.

    And while you didn't ask, uo.stratics.com runs just fine with FireFox on the Windows 7 64 Bit machine, as I type this message in :)
     
  7. Sabbath

    Sabbath Guest

    Wow, glad you're having such an awesome experience Thav :thumbup1:

    I also confirm that it works great on Win7 64bit.
     
  8. Corpsecrank

    Corpsecrank Guest

    I did the 14 day free trial thing just to check the client out. I am running win7 RC build 7100 and I didn't have any problems with it at all. I would suspect the 2d client works fine also since I was using that on vista at work once.
     
  9. Zayin666

    Zayin666 Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    6
    So I activated my account and so far it seems to work great. The SA client seems alot better than the KR client (Not that I played much with it, but I did test it back when it was released)

    So running arround I was looking for house spots and found a few places with room for the big classic houses.... I then decided to look on the Ice Island (Deciet) and am now the proud owner of a classic tower in Trammel/Europa :)
     
  10. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    My friend is trying to install the SA client on her new PC with Win7.


    She getting several error message first.

    -Some Installation files are corrupt. Please download a fresh copy and retry the installation

    then


    -CRS failed in support\ea help\crash\start_crashes.htm
    unexpexted end of archive.

    and

    -if this program didn't install correctly,try installing using settings that are compatible with this version of windows.




    Is she doing something wrong and forgeting something or does she need to redownload patcher?





    Its windows 7 32-bit enterprise edition