1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

SA map

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Cetric, May 9, 2009.

  1. Cetric

    Cetric Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    906
    Does the SA map have any sort of functions similiar to uoam?

    I'm just wondering cause i have to assume uoam won't be updated with the new SA lands.


    Also, did EA/Draconi/Anyone ever mention anything about fixing the last target VS Target self macros and Wheel Mouse macros in uoa for the SA client?
     
  2. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    Silly questions.
     
  3. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Not silly at all, just unanswerable for different reasons at this point in time. Perfectly valid questions though.
     
  4. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    The first one may have some validity, but the second one does not. UO doesn't cater to UOA, it's the other way around.
     
  5. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    The question and point he's making with the one about UOAM is that UOAM hasn;t been supported or updated by its creator in a LONG time (prior to ML). Players were able to add in ML dungeons to UOAM by changing a hex value manually because the new areas were on existing facet maps. Adding a whole new facet is something altogether different and not nearly as easy of a fix.
     
  6. Jermosh

    Jermosh Guest

    UOAM does not work with KR and most likely not with SA. The KR Map is actually quite usefull and I think its much better then the 2d map in that its so configrable. It does have some of the functions that UOAM did, but not others. It makes a very easy job for T-Hunters and Fisherman though.
     
  7. Cetric

    Cetric Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    906
    Ah ok, i played KR very little, i couldn't get past some of the features, so wasn't sure how KRs map was.




    As for silly questions, i believe for anyone that pvps, these are very valid questions. We know uo doesn't cater to uoa, but if they do not have some sort of wheel mouse last target, or fix the last target vs. target self issue that was present with kr the little i tried it, i'll have to stick with 2D, this is why i asked.
     
  8. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    The KR map system is actually VERY nice for THunters and Fishermen as you can input the coordinates of a Map or SOS spot and have it so that the exact tile is lit up ingame with an effect (like a sparkle effect).
     
  9. Jermosh

    Jermosh Guest

    I forced myself to use KR when I came back last year, and to be honest I could not ever think of going back. I don't PVP though.
     
  10. Lynk

    Lynk Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032
    Likes Received:
    145
    They are both very good questions that need anwers.

    Just because you cast energy vortexes all day doesn't mean that some people like to PvP and use last target/heal directly after each other.
     
  11. Sweeney

    Sweeney Guest

    You need to stop making things up, learn a bit about me, learn to think rationally before you spout off. In all likelyhood UO will not absorb all of the functionality of UOAM.. nor will it address bugs with UOA.

    I hope it does make UOAM obsolete (it hasn't been updated in years so this won't be too difficult) along with UOA (the ability to macro up to 250(?) lines is much too many for an attentive player).

    I used UOAM until publish 56(?) when it stopped tracking player movements, and have never used UOA, nor do I cast EVs all day.
     
  12. Cetric

    Cetric Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    906
    It is not a bug in uoa, it is a feature of uoa i'd hope uo would adopt.
     
  13. The Craftsman

    The Craftsman Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    676
    Very immersive. And heres me thinking the term Trasure 'hunter' meant you had to hunt for treasure when all along the KR map does it for you. You actually write it as if its a good thing .. maybe it should also dig up the chest and kill the guardians for you.
     
  14. Elric_Soban

    Elric_Soban Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    14
    ? really? How do you do this?
     
  15. Magnus

    Magnus Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    45
    Add a custom waypoint, input the coordinates and then check the appear in game toggle. There you go, a nice flashing pointer to where you've got to dig. :)
     
  16. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    How do you do this?

    Ignoring the snide posting above yours, you do the following...

    When you create your waypoint, you'll see in the gump provided to "select a type". So do so accordingly (say Custom 10 for example).

    After your waypoint is created, go to Map Options (with the map maximized) and scroll down to Custom 10. You'll see three options:

    Map, Radar Map, and In-Game. Map and Radar map will have an icon type you can select to represent the waypoint on those maps respectively (I suggest the larger for map and smaller of the same type for radar map). In-Game has the check by a little drop box that has the names of various effects. Choose an effect and check the box.

    Now the location of the desired waypoint will glow with the desired effect ingame :)
     
  17. Jermosh

    Jermosh Guest

  18. Jermosh

    Jermosh Guest

    You dont have to use it if you dont want to.
     
  19. Green Meanie

    Green Meanie Guest

    I agree there important issuses for any pvper. Currently in KR you can set last target or target self to the mouse wheele but no matter what way you rotate it you get the same effect. I want to scroll up for last target and down for target self.

    I will agree that many things in KR are better than 2d But i cant play it becouse i pvp 99% of the time and the one thing that is way inferiour in KR is targeting the most important part of pvp for any non dexer
     
  20. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Here I will agree, although I never have used my mouse wheel for targeting (only the zoom function in 3d and now KR), the target system in KR has always been VERY incomplete and not friendly to certain playstyles.
     
  21. JC the Builder

    JC the Builder Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    708
    How about they just don't set the mouse wheel to anything specific. We should be able to set any macro or function we want to the wheel. If you want to say "Hello I'm a new player" every time you scroll up then you can do it.

    The same should go for item handles, guild/alliance/part chat, cancel button, etc. Make them all preset macros which we can change. I would certainly like to have my control-shift macros back.
     
  22. Green Meanie

    Green Meanie Guest

    Agreed you should be able to set it for any macro you like this is the way it is in UOA right now. they have it so you can set macros to the mouse wheel right now but its treated as the same button press nomatter what way you scroll the mouse