1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[BUG] SA Vendors

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by AthosRahl, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. AthosRahl

    AthosRahl Guest

    Since using the open beta client I have noticed that some vendors in Luna will show as EMPTY packs, where in fact there are items to sell. If I move the mouse around the bag, I see item descriptions, etc. pop up but no image to show that there is something available on the vendor (it looks like an empty bag).

    I have also noticed that the Demon statuette in my house does not show up at all, while it does in 2D and KR.

    Anybody else seeing these issues?
     
  2. Both of those issues are known and being worked on. The strange part is, not everyone has problems with the backpacks. If you switch to grid view, it should work. The one about the demon statue not showing may be a shader issue with your video card. Not much to do about that until it gets fixed.
     
  3. AthosRahl

    AthosRahl Guest

    I actually have non-legacy packs turned on, however it only appears to apply to my own pack, not those of vendors. My own pack shows in a grid view, but vendors all still show in the legacy pack view (some of which view fine, and others show as I described before). In the case of the Demon statuette, even with mouse-over it is as if it does not exist (no recognition at all). I wonder if my install is FUBAR...
     
  4. Wolfways

    Wolfways Guest

    It's not you.
    My bags are set to grid, but others vendors show up as legacy bags. Sometimes i can see the contents, sometimes not.
     
  5. As Wolfways said, it's not you and not your install. Umm... unless you really really want to uninstall and wait another 12 hours to download!
     
  6. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    If you see nothing when you open a vendor's backpack, try opening it from outside the house.
     
  7. Wolfways

    Wolfways Guest

    I always use the house sign, from outside.
     
  8. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,172
    The problem with legacy style back packs is known, I guess all we can do is wait for a fix and do our shopping in 2D for now.
     
  9. IanJames

    IanJames Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    101
    Personally, I think the 2d view on the vendor's packs was intended. Ever seen a vendor who did their layout in kr grid and then viewed it in 2d? it's a big mess. This way vendor packs can be organized and viewed the same by everyone in both sets of clients.
     
  10. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    Snippet taken from this morning's client patch:

    * Bottom portion of several Legacy Container contents are no longer get cutoff
    * Viewing contents of player-run vendors and pack animals no longer locks to Legacy Container view


    Looks like the masses have been heard on this one. Someone please post and tell us if the patch resolved this.
     
  11. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's an additional fix that didn't make it into this patch cycle that deals with objects not showing up in Legacy Container view at all. It's been fixed internally and should be rolled out in the next client patch.
     
  12. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,379
    Likes Received:
    4,698
    This is likely. I remember the big hassle when some few of us ran the old 3d .
     
  13. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also want to mention that each cell in grid view corresponds to a location in Legacy Container view now. They no longer default to the top-left corner in Legacy Container view.

    Dropping an item in the top-left most cell (row 1, column 1) will put that item in the top-left most corner in Legacy Container view.

    The bottom-right most cell (row 25, column 5) will put that item in the bottom-right most corner in Legacy Container view.
     
  14. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,379
    Likes Received:
    4,698
    Sweet! Have any of you checked this out? I do not have the patience to run a vendor.
     
  15. Petra Fyde

    Petra Fyde Peerless Chatterbox
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,889
    Likes Received:
    5,172
    I stocked my vendors in SA this morning, in legacy view and standing on the balcony. They're a bit messier than usual because my aim's not so good yet in that client, but I got them all roughly in the right places.
     
  16. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    This should make things cleaner when I stock using SA, and other 2D users look at my vendor. Nice!