1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Screen capture program

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by Shh!, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Shh!

    Shh! Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    30
    Can anyone recommend a good (free) screen capture program? Nightstalker gave me some bad advice :rant2:
     
  2. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Look for Screenhunter. It's free and really really good.
    Although if you have vista you can always use the built in snipping tool. Hit it up in your searchbar.
     
  3. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

  4. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    I use Grabby too. Simple and hassle free.
    A+++. Would screenshot again.
     
  5. Shh!

    Shh! Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    30
    It LOOKS like Grabby is what I want to use but...it doesn't work. I start up the program and it takes one pic and then nothing. I've got it set to take a pick every 5000 milliseconds and a 30 recycle rate. Now, how do I make it more than just a fancy print screen clipboard?
     
  6. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    Shift+Printscreen - paste into any graphics program (CTRL+v).
     
  7. Shh!

    Shh! Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm looking for something that will take a screen shot, pause x seconds, take another, pause x seconds, take another, etc etc etc...I want something that I can turn on and let run without any interaction on my part.
     
  8. nightstalker22

    nightstalker22 Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    8
    So you're NOT going to point your digital camera at the screen?

    See if I ever try to help YOU again! :rant2:
     
  9. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    [​IMG]

    Put it over your Print Screen key.

    Tada!

    ....No, nothing more useful.
     
  10. Vortex

    Vortex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    5
    Try this one, I've used it before..

    http://www.uosu.net/

    You can set the shutter to capture every x minutes.
     
  11. Shh!

    Shh! Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    30
    I gave that one a shot. I dbl click it to open, it TRIES to open, then...nothing. I am destined to NOT be able to take screen shots. :sad2:

    Thanks anyway.
     
  12. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,838
  13. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. Chad Sexington

    Chad Sexington Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Barter Town

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    58
    You should just get FRAPS and post video.

    :thumbup1:
     
  15. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    I could never get FRAPS to do what I wanted.

    Can't remember what the problems were though.
     
  16. Ole Cheapy

    Ole Cheapy Guest

    FRAPS doesn't work with a 2d client game...you would have to use the 3d client.
     
  17. Chad Sexington

    Chad Sexington Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Barter Town

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    58
    Oh... that sucks.

    :(
     
  18. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    1,838
    http://www.smallvideosoft.com/

    Use the Freez Screen Video, it works with 2D basically you assign an area of the screen to record, and any window that shows in it gets captured...