1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Seriously DEV's WTF???

Discussion in 'UO Spiels N Rants' started by MalagAste, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,786
    Likes Received:
    5,251
    Ok..... I need to know..... What in the Heck!!!!

    I log in today and ??????? there is a patch.....

    Ok..... fine........

    So I get in game and I'll be a SOB..... but all my macro's and my desktop are wiped but like the crap I have on the SA client...... which I NEVER Use.... why because it sucks!

    So I'm thinking what the heck??? did I log into SA by mistake?????

    So I log out...... log back in.... no all my desktop settings wiped out..... all my macro's wiped out......

    And I just want to know what the crap????? I mean seriously I have 50 characters at least..... do you think about **** before you do it?! cripes..... what I got 2 dang weeks to spend redoing all my freaking macro's and desktops????? what the crap..... This makes me pissed as hell.... I don't want to spend the next two dang weeks redoing all my crap....

    WHERE ARE MY DESKTOPS AND MACROS?! WHAT DID YOU DO TO THEM? FIX IT!
     
  2. Did you look in you uo folder, see if you can copy n paste or whatever it is you do to get macros back?
     
  3. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ouch. Mine are all fine. Next time find the macro folder, copy it and put the copy somewhere else. Then when something happens you can just replace them.
     
  4. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    207
    Ok take a deep breath. Are the macros missing from the classic or enhanced client?

    Also, just asking out of curiousity, I thought it was common knowledge to keep a backup copy of UO and UOA macros in a seperate location?
     
  5. My desktop was all screwed up, but all my macros are in place after patching. Now I get to go through all of my characters and pull out all of the spell/ability icons again and put them back where I had them before.

    woo


    hoo...
     
  6. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    Just commented in the thread on the patch - if you log out in 2d with the radar map open, your desktop goes away... all spell icons, open bags, status bars...

    Not had any problem with standard client macros, can't comment on UOA since I don't use it.

    EA quality testing strikes again....
     
  7. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,522
    Likes Received:
    1,908
    It looks as if after you patch the 2d client, it is ignoring the macros and desktop configuration files you already have set up for individual characters. It is pulling the macro file and desktop configuration file from a default location. That means that you might be able to function okay if the files it pulls from the default location are suitable for that character. However, if you've customized things for individual characters, you have two choices:

    (1) Move things around on your desktop, add icons, etc. When you log out, the changes you just made should be saved.

    (2) Log out and copy the macro file and desktop configuration file from where you saved them in a backup location BEFORE you log in the character after today's patch.

    You STILL HAVE TIME to salvage your macros and desktop configuration files. Make a backup NOW before you log in any more of them, especially if you've already patched.

    You will still have to log in characters and then copy over the files from your backup location (if you go that route instead of redoing every single macro and every single desktop tweak), but it should help somewhat.

    And if you have to run the mouse in a separate thread, brace yourself for the possibility of having to fix that problem again and again and again and again.........

    Edited to add: Never mind the above advice. Seems as if it isn't working. Sorry. But I would at least make a backup copy of all your settings before you log in any characters in the hope that some of it may be salvageable at some point.
     
  8. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,786
    Likes Received:
    5,251
    Well that will tick me off...... I always have my map open.... good god... Every single one of my characters will have their map up.... so I'm guessing all 50+ will be borked.

    and Yes this is the "classic" client.... I don't play that SA ..... its WAY too much of a strain on my eyes.

    This really is seriously annoying...
     
  9. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    Dont put radar up or any icons you have put up will be lost, This is freaking ticking me off, just lost my one mages icons. My regular mage doesn't have many icons but this one was my spellweaving necro mage. I had tons of icons, wow they really know how to screw people over.

    So log in change the screen size and close the radar and they icons and what not should stay.
     
  10. Aurelius

    Aurelius Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    689
    Not quite Tina - log out with the map open, and character desktop settings are wiped. Log out with it closed, and they are kept... been trying it with various characters and accounts, and it's entirely consistent, not having the map open seems to be the key. If you log out with the map open, it saves a 'clean' desktop for the character.
     
  11. Smokin

    Smokin Guest

    Why did you move this to speils and rants, not many people look there, I think you should put this back in uhaul maybe edit it so some of the nasty stuff is gone and retitle it. People are going to want to know what to do.
     
  12. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    Professional VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,018
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    I logged onto my character Fallon Valor post-patch. His screen was downsized and some of his desktop macros were missing. No big deal, I though, as I put the appropriate desktop macros back into place.

    My icons replaced, I logged off expecting their locations to be saved.

    Logged back on with him 15 minutes later. All gone. Even more missing icons than the first time.

    Booo.
     
  13. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Probably because it's more of a rant than an informative thread. The title, the first post, that is a rant.

    Now if the first post wasn't there or the title was different, that would be another story, :p
     
  14. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,786
    Likes Received:
    5,251
    Well wouldn't you rant too if all your 50 + characters suddenly had NO desktop settings?
     
  15. Viper09

    Viper09 Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,680
    Likes Received:
    824
    Yeah. Nothing wrong with ranting, just responding to a question. lol
     
  16. ejpeters

    ejpeters Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted this on UO Tech and it got more responses here than my post there.

    I had the same thing and what a royal pain.
     
  17. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0 Guest

    Rant or not, it's still informative. I bet nothing was listeed in the Patch Notes screen either.
    How do you push out a patch that may cause users problems, and Not let them know??
     
  • About Us

    Stratics is the oldest continually running MMORPG Fansite on the Internet. Founded in 1997 Stratics has served the Ultima Online Community for 18 years. We strive to provide the most complete social experience for Ultima Online players.
  • Subscribe Now!

    Want to provide Continual Support? Subscribe and gain additional benefits as a patron of Stratics.com!
    Subscribe Now!

    Stratics Professional Accounts feature the following advantages:

    • Ad-Free Browsing of our Forums
    • Upload a custom Profile Cover
    • Unlimited media upload storage space
    • Use of the theme styler
    • Ability to collapse the sidebar
    • Premium background themes to choose from
    • Access to additional features of the Classifieds System
    • Ability to Customize Your User Title
    • No Post Delays
    • Additional Signature Allowances:
    • Special Professional Banner Display with your Account
    • PM Allowance Upgrade
    • Additional Thread Allowances
  • Support Us!

    Don't feel like subscribing? Donations to benefit the further development of Stratics and for purchase and inclusion of additional features are always welcome.

    Donate to us!