1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Stratics is pleased to introduce a community Article Management System (AMS) to the forums! AMS allows users to contribute articles about profession templates, houses, pvp, or a variety of other topics. This is a great way to showcase your ideas that require more space than a typical thread. Our staff can also feature articles and promote threads into articles (when appropriate). We are pretty excited about this feature and hope you will be too. It will allow the community another way to express themselves and contribute to the growth of the game and community! For information on how to submit an article, read this article.
  3. We've put our heads together to simplify the Rules of Conduct (ROC) from 23 items down to 8. We hope that the new ROC will be more intuitive and easier to remember. This should also help us to improve our moderation by focusing on fewer items. We are always striving to make Stratics better and to encourage communication and participation. We think that you'll be happy for this improvement. Thanks for being here.

Seriously DEV's WTF???

Discussion in 'UO Spiels N Rants' started by MalagAste, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. MalagAste

    MalagAste
    Expand Collapse
    Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Premium Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    16,675
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    Ok..... I need to know..... What in the Heck!!!!

    I log in today and ??????? there is a patch.....

    Ok..... fine........

    So I get in game and I'll be a SOB..... but all my macro's and my desktop are wiped but like the crap I have on the SA client...... which I NEVER Use.... why because it sucks!

    So I'm thinking what the heck??? did I log into SA by mistake?????

    So I log out...... log back in.... no all my desktop settings wiped out..... all my macro's wiped out......

    And I just want to know what the crap????? I mean seriously I have 50 characters at least..... do you think about **** before you do it?! cripes..... what I got 2 dang weeks to spend redoing all my freaking macro's and desktops????? what the crap..... This makes me pissed as hell.... I don't want to spend the next two dang weeks redoing all my crap....

    WHERE ARE MY DESKTOPS AND MACROS?! WHAT DID YOU DO TO THEM? FIX IT!
     
  2. wee papa smurf

    wee papa smurf
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Did you look in you uo folder, see if you can copy n paste or whatever it is you do to get macros back?
     
  3. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi
    Expand Collapse
    Grand Poobah

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ouch. Mine are all fine. Next time find the macro folder, copy it and put the copy somewhere else. Then when something happens you can just replace them.
     
  4. Shamus Turlough

    Shamus Turlough
    Expand Collapse
    Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    186
    Ok take a deep breath. Are the macros missing from the classic or enhanced client?

    Also, just asking out of curiousity, I thought it was common knowledge to keep a backup copy of UO and UOA macros in a seperate location?
     
  5. Connor_Graham

    Connor_Graham
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    My desktop was all screwed up, but all my macros are in place after patching. Now I get to go through all of my characters and pull out all of the spell/ability icons again and put them back where I had them before.

    woo


    hoo...
     
  6. Aurelius

    Aurelius
    Expand Collapse
    Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    663
    Just commented in the thread on the patch - if you log out in 2d with the radar map open, your desktop goes away... all spell icons, open bags, status bars...

    Not had any problem with standard client macros, can't comment on UOA since I don't use it.

    EA quality testing strikes again....
     
  7. Tina Small

    Tina Small
    Expand Collapse
    Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    It looks as if after you patch the 2d client, it is ignoring the macros and desktop configuration files you already have set up for individual characters. It is pulling the macro file and desktop configuration file from a default location. That means that you might be able to function okay if the files it pulls from the default location are suitable for that character. However, if you've customized things for individual characters, you have two choices:

    (1) Move things around on your desktop, add icons, etc. When you log out, the changes you just made should be saved.

    (2) Log out and copy the macro file and desktop configuration file from where you saved them in a backup location BEFORE you log in the character after today's patch.

    You STILL HAVE TIME to salvage your macros and desktop configuration files. Make a backup NOW before you log in any more of them, especially if you've already patched.

    You will still have to log in characters and then copy over the files from your backup location (if you go that route instead of redoing every single macro and every single desktop tweak), but it should help somewhat.

    And if you have to run the mouse in a separate thread, brace yourself for the possibility of having to fix that problem again and again and again and again.........

    Edited to add: Never mind the above advice. Seems as if it isn't working. Sorry. But I would at least make a backup copy of all your settings before you log in any characters in the hope that some of it may be salvageable at some point.
     
  8. MalagAste

    MalagAste
    Expand Collapse
    Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Premium Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    16,675
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    Well that will tick me off...... I always have my map open.... good god... Every single one of my characters will have their map up.... so I'm guessing all 50+ will be borked.

    and Yes this is the "classic" client.... I don't play that SA ..... its WAY too much of a strain on my eyes.

    This really is seriously annoying...
     
  9. Smokin

    Smokin
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Dont put radar up or any icons you have put up will be lost, This is freaking ticking me off, just lost my one mages icons. My regular mage doesn't have many icons but this one was my spellweaving necro mage. I had tons of icons, wow they really know how to screw people over.

    So log in change the screen size and close the radar and they icons and what not should stay.
     
  10. Aurelius

    Aurelius
    Expand Collapse
    Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    663
    Not quite Tina - log out with the map open, and character desktop settings are wiped. Log out with it closed, and they are kept... been trying it with various characters and accounts, and it's entirely consistent, not having the map open seems to be the key. If you log out with the map open, it saves a 'clean' desktop for the character.
     
  11. Smokin

    Smokin
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Why did you move this to speils and rants, not many people look there, I think you should put this back in uhaul maybe edit it so some of the nasty stuff is gone and retitle it. People are going to want to know what to do.
     
  12. Taylor

    Taylor
    Expand Collapse
    Sexier Than you
    VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,880
    Likes Received:
    1,297
    I logged onto my character Fallon Valor post-patch. His screen was downsized and some of his desktop macros were missing. No big deal, I though, as I put the appropriate desktop macros back into place.

    My icons replaced, I logged off expecting their locations to be saved.

    Logged back on with him 15 minutes later. All gone. Even more missing icons than the first time.

    Booo.
     
  13. Viper09

    Viper09
    Expand Collapse
    Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,683
    Likes Received:
    822
    Probably because it's more of a rant than an informative thread. The title, the first post, that is a rant.

    Now if the first post wasn't there or the title was different, that would be another story, :p
     
  14. MalagAste

    MalagAste
    Expand Collapse
    Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Premium Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    16,675
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    Well wouldn't you rant too if all your 50 + characters suddenly had NO desktop settings?
     
  15. Viper09

    Viper09
    Expand Collapse
    Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,683
    Likes Received:
    822
    Yeah. Nothing wrong with ranting, just responding to a question. lol
     
  16. ejpeters

    ejpeters
    Expand Collapse
    Journeyman

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted this on UO Tech and it got more responses here than my post there.

    I had the same thing and what a royal pain.
     
  17. Sevin0oo0

    Sevin0oo0
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Rant or not, it's still informative. I bet nothing was listeed in the Patch Notes screen either.
    How do you push out a patch that may cause users problems, and Not let them know??
     
Loading...

Share This Page