1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Server Lag Part ????

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Hi my name is, Jan 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've put up with a lot of crap from UO, but paying for something you can't even use it pretty unbelievably stupid. Every single night from 8:00 P.M. eastern to ~ 2:00 A.M. the game is UNPLAYABLE. My ping increases from a normal 20 ms to ~270 ms. That is simply unacceptable. And don't tell me there's nothing EA can do about it because that's just false. I'm tired of people making excuses for the poor quality UO provides just because it's a smaller game. If WoW had this amount of trouble for even a day you better believe they would be looking for new servers. This has been going on for MONTHS. Keep in mind this is the only time of the day where there is enough people online at the same time to make UO even worth playing on my shard.

    Fix it.
     
  2. Roland Of Gilead

    Roland Of Gilead Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    140
    theres no dif for me durring that time u sure its not your internet being bogged down somehow?i even play us and europa shards and i live in the US and runs fine for me.besides ofc the occaisional extra laggyness which does happen.
     
  3. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everyone I know that has Comcast has the same problem as I do.
     
  4. Miss Smoocher

    Miss Smoocher Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    54
    we seem to be lagging to sense the past few patches. and we never lag well or tell now
     
  5. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    ComcastWhen did EA buy Comcast?
     
  6. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird since the problem is only with UO.
     
  7. Doubleplay

    Doubleplay Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    150
    See numerous other threads on this subject. Seems everyone who uses comcast as their provider has the exact same problem in the evenings. The hang up is in the jump to the verizon servers, I think (alternet).
     
  8. Kellgory

    Kellgory Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do a traceroute and see where the problem is. Most likely it is the hop just before it reaches the EA servers/routers that Comcast uses to funnel all its traffic to EA. Different ISP's use different routes, so those players don't have the lag that your seeing. If it was one of EA's servers/routers going bad then everyone would be having the same issues, but it's strange that it only seems to be Comcast users this time. Two years ago it was Cox users on the West Coast servers that were having the same problem and there wasn't anything EA or UO could do about it other than inform the people that controlled that hop that there was a potential problem at that location. If you do believe it is EA's problem then post screenshots of the traceroute so that other people can see.
     
  9. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly, and considering Comcast is one of the most common ISP's it baffles me as to why this has not been addressed.
     
  10. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other people have posted the same trace route, but I guess I'll do it anyway...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Orgional Farimir

    Orgional Farimir Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    265
    It isn't comcast it is EA. If it was comcast I would have high ping on every shard.

    Right now I am pinging 281 to ATL 302 to GL 67 to Legends, 67 to Chessy, 109 to all the west coast shards, and 140 to Dracs and Europa.

    It is a sad day when I live in the mid-west and get better ping on west coast/european servers.
     
  12. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
     
  13. CovenantX

    CovenantX Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    It is pretty bad, and needs to be fixed pronto, It wouldn't be so bad if i lagged like this during non-primetime hours for Anywhere... but meh this shouldn't even be an issue regardless
     
  14. aarons6

    aarons6 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    31
    i dont, my pings are in the 40s on west coast shards and 80 on east coast and 120s on euro shards, solid..
     
  15. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I don't know you now do I? I don't care if 5 people out of the entire player base has this issue, it still needs to be fixed.
     
  16. Vyal

    Vyal Guest


    I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH!

    I don't LAG to ANYTHING ELSE BUT UO...

    I have to say the issue lies DIRECTLY WITH THE UO SERVERS.

    This issue is with the UO servers and anyone telling you any different is full of it.
     
  17. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    I don't know what the issues are that is causing lag, but in defense of the UO Servers, I play Atlantic {obviously} just finished an EM event with a LARGE number of people and I did not lag a single bit. East Coast US, Charter Comm. Wish y'all luck tho.
     
  18. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    If your not being hit by the issue why do you feel then need to post and tell people that?

    I know as much as you sit on these forums you should have read the thousands of posts by people complaining about this but you really just have to post in this thread about how your not lagging?
     
  19. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    When I saw it being blamed solely on UO's servers I felt I needed to chime in and make my experience known. After all, if it were their servers fault it would be wide spread, and would surely be felt during an EM event.
     
  20. Vyal

    Vyal Guest


    Hello?! It is widespread, and is felt during EM events... It's felt every single night for months.
     
  21. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,849
    Likes Received:
    2,332
    Because if it were the EA Servers then it would be causing lag for everyone, not just comcast users. Not all comcast users are having this problem and until you can get a trace from everyone to the shard you play then you will never know where the problem is. CHILL OUT!
     
  22. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Vyal... have you posted a trace route?
     
  23. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    /signed

    Thanks Frodo. Glad someone understood :thumbup1:
     
  24. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except the amount of players is irrelevant and you're clearly missing the point.
     
  25. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Vyal. Do not blame folks that do not lag. Find your problem area and work with that. Send your feed back directly to Bioware/Mythic. There is little we can do here on Stratics to help.
     
  26. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    Bioware/Mythic says to come here...
    Also they have not done a single thing in months.

    Please direct me to the last post by anyone from UO.
     
  27. Xalan Dementia

    Xalan Dementia Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    81
    goto the uo stratics forum list, select the developer feed, you'll see theyve been posting today.
     
  28. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    *blinks*
     
  29. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    No, I understand there seems to be a lag issue for a good number of folks. All I was doing was saying it could not be server side UO that was causing the problem. If so there would be SEVERE numbers of people effected is all. I was by no means negating the lag issue for those of you having it. Frodo explained it above very well.
     
  30. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    The people lagging do not lag to anything but UO.
    Does it really take a rocket scientist to figure out who is to blame here?

    [​IMG]

    You really think the fault is with comcast?
    I download at 300+ mbs anywhere in the world the only problem I ever have is with UO servers.
     
  31. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is with the hop to Alter.net. This has been posted I don't know how many times. I doubt you have a degree in networking so please stop acting like you know everything about it.
     
  32. Kylie Kinslayer

    Kylie Kinslayer Grand Inquisitor
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    1,515

    I ain't a rocket scientist, but I would guess one of your problems would be the upload speed. *shrugs*
     

    Attached Files:

  33. soze

    soze Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    9
    EXACTLY

    As someone who dealt with this issue before i finally unsubscribed, I can tell you the issue was ONLY with the game. i could download video's, music, any web page....with no issues...only when i logged into uo and got 200-400 ping did i experience issues.

    I even tweeted the Producer of this game....NOTHING.

    good for all of you not having issues...BUT...I could not play during the time I was free...after work. And plenty of other people are having the same problem...this is the third or fourth thread on this issue since December 22nd...it is widespread.

    So, telling people who PAY to play this game to CHILL OUT when they cannot play it is pointless and lacks empathy....i highly doubt you would exhibit the same amount of patience if this issue was affecting you.
     
  34. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Just asking... is it every shard? I logged in for a moment and I move fine. Not trying to incite you, but the more information you can give the better it can be understood.

    If you just want to wail and moan... I am not sure what Stratics can do for you.

    The DEVs only spend time here when they can... It is not a job requirement.
     
  35. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

  36. soze

    soze Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    9
    you obviously missed the part where i stated "i tweeted the producer"

    And your "Wail and Moan" comment is out of line, dude....people come here all the time to discuss issues they are having with all aspects of this game. You think all the comments on Stratics are Polly Positive....you must have a Kumbaya Filter turned on.

    And there has been plenty of info provided in the prior posts on this issue...

    Dont dismiss this issue because, again, you aren't experiencing it.
     
  37. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my opinion, doing your job is a job requirement.
     
  38. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Why do you care if you make it clear to me? I am just a mod... You do know posting here is a privilege, not a right? Be civil or UOHerald will be the only communication left to you.
     
  39. soze

    soze Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    9

    Sensitive much?

    Where was anyone uncivil?
     
  40. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    Why does Bioware/Mythic direct people to these forums at all?
    Think i'll be moving to the other forums this place is bogus...
     
  41. Xalan Dementia

    Xalan Dementia Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    81
    so goin over the posts about it, doesnt the signs point to the verizon side of comcast servers?

    Complain enough to the UO crew AND to comcast, then maybe EA/mythic will contact comcast and work together on whatever this problem is. maybe start a petition or swarm the producer with twitter msgs something to show exactly how many players have the problem. if theres roughly 100 uhall posters having trouble then who knows how many non uhall posting players have the trouble as well.
     
  42. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty pathetic if that's what it takes to get some customer service from EA...
     
  43. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    The problem is in the UO servers. That is the fact, after doing much looking into it. The problem is 100% with the UO servers.

    I have seen this with other games that close down their servers. This is how it starts to save them money. Next thing you know they are gone. Maybe this is why UO has been so quiet on the issue.
     
  44. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,382
    Likes Received:
    4,706
    Yeah... OK folks. Good luck. Let me know how it goes. Please be mindful of the RoC here at Stratics while posting here. *tips hat*
     
  45. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    Bogus? Really? :D

    (to be fair, you are misdirecting your blame something terrible. The internet doesn't work the way you seem to think it does:()
     
  46. Hi my name is

    Hi my name is Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please, give us all a lesson on networking so we can get the root of this problem. How exactly DOES the internet work??
     
  47. HD2300

    HD2300 Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    10
    I would post to Twitter and Facebook. It is direct and it is public. Posting here as others have done for the last 6 months is fruitless.
     
  48. Cirno

    Cirno Purple Pony Princess
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    224
    It's 5:40am, and I'm suffering chicken nugget poisoning, but I'll try.

    The connection from your computer to the server goes through a bunch of different routers along the way, each one owned by some company or another.
    The packets get sent from one to the next, to the next, to the next along a route that's determined by a council of elders.
    The routers have limited bandwith. Like all network hardware, there's only so much data that can be processed, and sometimes the routers have more data than their hardware can process as it's received, which causes lag.
    Since the lag is occurring for only a certain group of people, the problem logically lies along the route the affected users' data's being sent (and those who's route doesn't travel the affected parts of the route don't experience lag).
    Also, since the lag only seems to affect UO, the problem probably lies close to the UO servers (which traceroutes have shown that it does).

    The point is that it's not directly EA's fault, and saying it is, repeatedly, doesn't make it true.
    It does suck, I'll not deny, as someone who's also feeling the lag, but blame where it's due is better than blame to the wrong place :(
     
  49. Vyal

    Vyal Guest

    The blame is on UO that is where it is due. That is the only company that is to blame, you pay them for good service if they don't deliver it's their fault.

    This is not due to my ISP.
    So the only person left to blame is UO for not correcting this problem.
     
  50. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I have comcast and I have had problems like this in the past! I have found one way that works for me about 50% of the time keep in mind i may have to do it 2 or 3 times in a row!

    I have a cable modem! I unplug my modem for about 10 min or so causing my modem to to reset with my isp!

    Not saying this will work for everyone but it has worked for me! give it a try what do you have to lose?

    Just trying to help!

    and when i say unplug I mean the power cord and the coax
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.