1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[BUG] Severe Video Corruption While a Ghost

Discussion in 'UO Enhanced Client Discussion' started by Llewen, May 19, 2010.

  1. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    This one's a doozy. I died shortly after I logged in as a ghost. This was on Catskills, and had serious problems with video corruption when I was in ghost forum. This is just an example of what I saw:

    [​IMG]

    It manifested itself in number of ways, but all of them looked like my video card was dying. Although I'm inclined to think this isn't the case. I haven't had these problems in any other game and it did happen right after the client was patched. I've also checked my video card temp and it isn't overheating. I haven't tried updating my drivers, but I will be doing that.

    Windows XP Home SP3
    AMD Athlon II X2 240
    4 GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD2600 XT
     
  2. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    relax, this is something that happens when they patch the EC, you have to wait until the custom UI modders patch their stuff, til then use 2d or default skin, which still has no object handles
     
  3. Diggity

    Diggity Guest

    I get this as a ghost also. Using the default skin.
     
  4. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    Oooooo
    Damn.
    That used to happen to me running SA Black, whatever the Japanese skin was when it got patched.
    Hope the devs check here soon.
     
  5. Gildar

    Gildar Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    4
    The problem in that screenshot definitely has absolutely nothing to do with Custom UIs. It's either a video card problem, or a problem with what the game is sending to the video card (or a combination of the two).
     
  6. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Well, one of my first thoughts was a video driver problem. I've updated to the latest drivers and we'll see if that fixes the problem. I don't think my video card is going, it would be a pretty large coincidence that I have only seen this problem in the EC and it started immediately after a patch.
     
  7. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Only a question what happend to the object handles are they disabled?
     
  8. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Object handles are Broken™, Axel knows about it and has posted that they are working on it.
     
  9. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Here's another fine example of what happens:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    I KIND of get that on death (the second one)... mainly in that it changes to a widescreen perspective for just a second, THEN reverts back to the standard view in greyscale. Nothing to the level shown in the pics though.
     
  11. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Well it was switching between three corrupted views. I've posted two of them, if I get the third one I'll post that. It is a view where the screen is rotated 90° and distorted. It's great fun finding a healer using the radar to navigate... :)

    But who knows, the other serious problems I was having with the EC were fixed with the last patch, maybe this one has been fixed as well.
     
  12. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    A new day, a new version of "Ghosts on LSD!" Remember the 60's and 70's, the way they really were!

    [​IMG]
     
  13. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Cool effects i dont get this wonderfull LSD effects, how can i turn them on?
     
  14. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    You have to go sign up for a CIA "focus group"... ;)
     
  15. This past week I got the exact same thing as you have in your first post in this thread. I tried refreshing the screen, logging in and out, and it didn't go away until I got resurrected.

    Makes it kind of tough to find a healer. :mf_prop:
     
  16. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Crazy, it sometimes happend that iam in the death effect and alive if i ressurect too fast but this strange effect.

    It might be is the viewport not on the topleft corner of your screen? Or the graphics card, iam using an ATI card, maybe you both a Nvidia card?

    It looks like the effect is not anchored correcty like the lightning effect or arrows.
     
  17. I have an ATI 4850 video card. It's only happened once, but it took me by surprise.
     
  18. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
     
  19. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the specs posted. If others are having the same issue, post away.
     
  20. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I should say I've since switched to Windows 7 64 Pro and I'm still seeing the corruption, although it isn't all the time now. I can send you my dxdiag.txt if that would help. I might even have a copy of my old one from before my upgrade, although probably not...

    edit: Actually I think I do, and I can send that to you if you like as well.
     
  21. BTeng_Mythic

    BTeng_Mythic UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you play at different resolutions when you switched to Windows 7? What's the resolution you're playing at when you encounter the issue?
     
  22. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    The same resolution - 1440x900. I also play in full screen mode. I didn't have this problem until just before I posted this thread, so that would be pub 66. Right now I'm having this problem with Catalyst 10.5 drivers, and on Windows XP it was with 10.4 and 10.2, but I didn't change my driver immediately before the problems started, I had been running 10.2 for some time.

    I also use ATI Tray Tools, but I don't believe I had updated that, or changed any settings immediately before I started having the problems. The problems started with pub 66 for me, although it seems others have had it before pub 66, and I had also been playing at 1440x900 since I upgraded my monitor sometime last year.
     
  23. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,463
    I've never ever seen any of that and I've died numerous times. Running Windows 7 64 bit.... at 1920X1080... (which is recommended by my (tv/monitior).
     
  24. Win 7x64 Home Premium, 8MB RAM using 1024 Disk Cache
    AMD Quad 9950BE
    ASUS - ATI 4850 video with 1 MB, 60 FPS setting at 1680x1050
    Particle Details High, V-Sync Enabled, Idle Animation Low
    Running Windowed
    Stone Enhanced UI Mod

    and um... Hanes jockey
     
  25. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    I also havent got this. I use Windows 7 x64 ATI Catalyst 10.2 Drivers 1680*1050 windowed mode.
     
  26. Diggity

    Diggity Guest

    I've continued to see this corruption only as a ghost off/on since that patch. Sometimes it comes and goes as I'm running thru different areas to get a rez. It does seem to happen a lot in the area around the ilsh humility spawn area - where I happen to die a lot ;). But it doesn't always happen and usually clears up as I move further from the alter. Then when I get close to the rez ankh, it reappears.

    I also have a dead char on the spellweave circle at brit bank where this shows up. If I move away from the circle, the screen normalizes. Although it does reappear near the guard tower to the sw of the circle.

    My main puter has an NVDIA 9600GT.

    I logged this char on my laptop that uses an Nvidia GTX260M - same corruption.

    But on my netbook that uses an onboard GMA 500 graphics chipset, there is no corruption.
     
  27. RawHeadRex

    RawHeadRex Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    12
    exactly, if gpu core was going, tearing would happen on icons as well, not just the background.
     
  28. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    Ive had the same issue ever since a recent patch (Either 66 or 65), started IMMEDIATELY after.

    Makes finding a healer ultra-"fun"...

    I'm running Windowed mode, 1920x1080 as that is recommended for my 42" Vizio LCD TV.

    Intel Core 2 CPU E7400 @ 2.8ghz
    4gb RAM (windows reports 3.12gb, not sure why)
    On-board GeForce 7100 video adapter (slow, but at least it previously worked to this patch)
    Copper_Enhanced mod

    Help!

    [​IMG]
     
  29. mr crabs

    mr crabs Guest

    yep started right after last patch emm 66 i think. get it on death and have now seen all 3 and blips in and out from normal death screen to the lsd problem to black screen


    vista ultimate sp1
    4 gig ram
    intel pentium duel core 3.4GHZ 3.4GHZ
    asus p5ql mobo
    nividia gtx260 with latest drivers
     
  30. lucitus

    lucitus UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    45
    Is it maybe a problem because you have the viewport not at the upper left corner?
     
  31. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I have the same problem and my view port is in the upper left.
     
  32. anvira

    anvira Guest

    Yeppers,mine is doing this same thing, glad to know its not my computer frying itself up