1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Skills Menu Blank?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Latobian, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. Latobian

    Latobian Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi everyone!

    I haven't logged in for well over four weeks so this may be Stygian Abyss release old-news glitch stuff I'm not sure. My skills menu is blank. I click the 'skills' menu button next to the paper doll and it's completely blank. I logged in and out, I received several patches before logging in today.

    Is this a known problem, anyone know how to fix it? Thanks in advance!

    - Latobian
     
  2. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had the problem of imbuing not showing up at all and got help fixing it, just after SA launched. So you can get rid of your skills menu and it should remake the file for you (this is for 2D). Might want to try the bottom bit if you're feeling lazy, instead:

    "Ok if this happens to anyone else, what you do is go to

    "My Documents" on your desktop, then
    "EA Games" then
    "Ultima Online Legacy"
    "User Data"
    Pick which account is having the problem
    Pick which shard
    Pick which character

    Move this characters folder to your desktop
    Reload UO and it will create a new folder for them. Copy the file "skillgrp.mul" from this folder then trash it.
    Trash the "skillgrp.mul" file that is in your old folder (on the desktop) and paste in the one you copied, and move the whole folder back into your character list with the other characters.

    This should preserve your macros and desktop setup but give you the new style skill group list.

    Possibly you could instead of moving the characters folder initially, just delete the skillgrp.mul file and it will create a new one, but I didn't try doing this."
     
  3. Latobian

    Latobian Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great! I ran across a thread talking about this but I wasn't sure it was related to my issue or not. I suppose I'll be playing with a few files. Thanks Sarsmi!
     
  4. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    696
    click the new button at the bottom of the skills list and make a new category
    then close the client and restart and all the skills should be in that new category
    i think you need at least one category for the skills to be in for them to show up and you must have accidentally deleted all of your categories using the delete key
     
  5. Kojak

    Kojak Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    696
    great, i was a few seconds too slow and now sarsmi has him deleting files and stuff which will fix the problem too but was overkill
     
  6. Sarsmi

    Sarsmi Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    6
  7. Latobian

    Latobian Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't done anything yet, so I will try the 'new' category first. Thanks!

    (I'm a Lady, btw) :p