1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Soulstone question

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Ossy, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. Ossy

    Ossy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    37
    Say I want to switch back and forth between two skills, would I need two soulstones?

    The two skills are archery and parrying.

    Would I need to remove Parrying from the character and onto a stone and then take archery off another stone?
     
  2. Acid Rain

    Acid Rain Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    602
    Correct.
     
    Lord Frodo likes this.
  3. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    yes.....or two fragments...or a stone and a fragment....
    if you have characters with skill space to hold skills....you can probably do it with one stone.

    have archery on char 1 and parry on character 2....
    put archery on stone and transfer it off stone to character 2 or a different character.
    Put parry on stone and then transfer it to character 1

    this works...but only until you have 7 full characters....then you need stones or frags to hold skills.
     
    Ossy likes this.
  4. Ossy

    Ossy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hadn't thought of that option and that will work for me. Thanks. Not ever planning on having 6, let alone 7, full characters.


    Even back in the day when first played, really only had 3 characters really played and the others that I tried different stuff out with.
     
  5. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    I was that way once....then I kept trying things and trying things...and filling up characters.... next thing you know you have 7 full characters...7 stones...and 20 frags full of skills.

    Then you start moving characters and a few frags to a different shard to free up space for a new character on your primary shard....
    then one day you stand up and say...Hello my name is _____________ and I have a UO addiction!
     
    #5 TimberWolf, Nov 17, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2015
    Tarquinn, The Doctor, Ossy and 2 others like this.
  6. Ossy

    Ossy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    37
    Luckily I have time working against me, it'll be all I can do to maintain and play two characters.
     
  7. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    If you have 7 slots and don't consider too many legendary skills you can use 42 (already minusing 7 for your main) skill spots worth of other character caps as temporary holders of skills instead of buying soulstones. Then you only need like 5 or 6 soulstones to have the other skills. If you're into the game a lot and want to have all the skills trained this is possible. You still have capacity for about that much even with one soulstone if others hold it like Timberwolf said.

    The only trouble with having a single main is that stats may be different for different templates. I've thought about doing it a few times.
     
  8. whitesmith

    whitesmith Sage

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    828
    It would be nice if we could trade skill from a soul stone instead of the current method...
     
    Merus likes this.
  9. TimberWolf

    TimberWolf Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    This raises an interesting question.....how many characters do you need ( while using soul stones and skill mules....to cover most templates....

    I am thinking 2...
    str/stam/mana ( with pots) 150/210/90 would cover most warior templates and 150/10/220 for most mage/tamer/bard type templates

    I am sure I have forgotten something though but if not....if you could get by with 2 basic stat sets then you have 5 toons as skill mules for 30 odd skills.
    PS are dirt cheap now so having mules scrolled up for certain skills isnt a huge issue
     
  10. Capt. Lucky

    Capt. Lucky Crazed Zealot

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Talking about soul stones. ..I think soul stones fragments kinda suck. They go for about 3 mill or so and wear out pretty quick. But being broke most of the time I learned you can put a skill on them and delete the skill it doesn't use any charges. So they're great for seesawing skills. Say you can say run mace up to 25 or so for strength and drop the skill on a fragment and delete it and it doesn't use a charge. Then run the skill back up again and gain some more strength. Rinse and repeat. So they're nice for working or adjusting your stats.
     
  11. Gamer_Goblin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    403
    The trick for stat gain is that you max out a skill that is easy to raise like Med and Focus. You then keep it marked up for gains, very important. Your stats will sky rocket very quickly Med and Focus will get all your stats where you want them. Just lock the one (Stat) you don't want to gain.

    It's a lot easier than the old Seesawing method that required you to 720 skill cap. But your way is also a good workaround. I find I don't gain as much stats anymore as you used to though.
     
    MalagAste likes this.
  12. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,978
    Likes Received:
    5,465
    This is true any skill you are maxed in if you set it to raise and keep working using that skill even archery, anatomy or anything like that it will cause your stats to raise instead of skills since you can't get any more skill.