1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Sound in 2D?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Vierna_GL, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Vierna_GL

    Vierna_GL Guest

    I've been playing UO again for the past week, I've been gone from the game over a year now. KR looks great, but it has its issues ... I've been using both the old 2D and KR clients, I have sound in KR no problem, but in 2D I can only hear the music, not the other sounds. I can hear all sounds in KR.

    Anyone know why this is happening and a possible solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    got this checked?

    [​IMG]


     
  3. rwek

    rwek Guest

    mines has been acting buggy, yet is always checked. I simply unselect it, and reselect it and my sound starts working..
     
  4. Vierna_GL

    Vierna_GL Guest

    I guess I should have stated the obvious ... yes of course thats checked, thanks for trying to help tho ;)
     
  5. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    can't tell ya how many times I've overlooked the obvious :D so the obvious is the first thing I always ask

    be sure and let us know how it turns out!
     
  6. Vierna_GL

    Vierna_GL Guest

    Thanks, I'm wondering if maybe some sound files weren't installed in 2D possibly, not sure. KR looks nice and all, but with all the issues it has I'd really rather play 2D. KR is so limited to the amount of macros it has on its toolbar, can't have spells on the screen in their little squares from the spellbook for lesser used ones. With no sounds tho it's quite irritating not hearing monsters etc.
     
  7. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    I don't use KR (only because of the graphics) but I'm sure I read somewhere that you can make a new hot bar, cut it down to just one tile, and position it anywhere on your screen, just like the single tiles we have in 2D now

    I'm sure some of the people over on the KR forums can be a lot more help than I am about it, too :eek:
     
  8. Shot in the the dark here, but it sounds like you need to update your sound card driver.

    It's not a hard thing to do. Just find out what kind you have:

    - Right click My Computer
    - Click properties
    - Go to Device Managers (steps vary based on Windows version)
    - Answer affirmatively to any prompts you are given
    - Find Sound, Video, and Game Controllers in the list
    - Click the + to the left of it

    This should show you the name of the device you are using for sound.

    Simply go to the manufacturer's website and look for something like Support or Drivers.

    From here, it's just a matter of downloading and installing a small program, usually an exe file.

    If you don't see the name of the device in the device manager, you can also visit the website of the manufacturer of your PC, assuming it's an off the shelf system instead of a custom built. Usually if you have a major brand PC, such as a Dell or IBM, they list the types of hardware included somewhere for your specific model #.

    It's a good idea, at least where games are concerned, to keep your device drivers up to date, I do it once a month from my video and sound cards, as well as some other devices.

    Also, you may want to be sure you are running the most current version of Direct X.

    To do this:

    - Click Start
    - Click Run (on Vista use the Star Search bar at the bottom)
    - Type dxdiag
    - Hit enter

    You should get a screen that says DirextX Diagnostic Tool at the top. Here you can find tons of info about your system.

    DirectX 10 is the most current version, but some hardware is not compatible with it. I am pretty sure UO 2D runs in DX9, but I am not 100% sure of that. Either way, to make sure you are running the most current version...just visit this link...

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/features/directx.aspx

    If you are running a not-so-legit copy of Windows, there are other places to download DirectX...just Google.
     
  9. Vierna_GL

    Vierna_GL Guest

    Yep I have tried all the above but still no sound in 2D. I have all sounds in KR and WoW with no problems. Anything else I run I can hear sounds, web sites, other games .. just not in 2D UO.

    Thanks for your reply tho.
     
  10. Chiera

    Chiera Guest

    if you by any chance have an external power amp connected that goes into autostandby try raising the volume in 2d or turn off the standby option on the amp. Happens with my setup from time to time. If the volume settings in 2d are too low the amp simply goes to sleep ;)
     
  11. Vierna_GL

    Vierna_GL Guest

    Nope I just checked that, thats not it either but I do ty for the reply. Only thing I can think of after reading all these suggestions is maybe I'm missing some sound files in 2D ya think? Anyone know what their names are perhaps?
     
  12. Are you using UOA and have the sounds suppressed?
     
  13. Tina Small

    Tina Small Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran 4H

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,530
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    How old is your copy of the 2d client and where did you get it from? Is it completely patched?
     
  14. Devil_Woman

    Devil_Woman Guest

    Have you tried doing what rwek suggested, i.e., uncheck and okay then recheck the sound box?

    I have had "issues" with sound in 2D for years. Sometimes I hear what is obviously a stuck loop of some sound. Frequently, when I switch windows, such as choosing a UOA macro to run (I never remember the hotkeys so I just manually select it) some of my sounds disappear. Say I have switched to the UOA window to select the macro to make poison potions. I go back to UO and may hear no sounds, or I may hear the pouring sound into the keg but not the grinding sound of making the potion. Usually, if I just wait long enough it will recover on its own.

    I've also noticed that music volume seems to reset itself rather often. I turn the music volume down some so it's not overwhelming, but sometimes when I start UO the volume is back at full even though the options setup shows the lower level I set. I have to go in and change the level, even if only by one number, to get it to reset to the lower volume.

    If you haven't yet, definitely try rwek's suggestion. That might be all it takes to get it working right again.
     
  15. Lady Michelle

    Lady Michelle Sprite Full SP
    Stratics Veteran The DarkOutlaws, TDO

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Turn your wave up in your master volume for your speakers see if that helps.