1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Broadsword team is seeking alternative castle designs! Learn more and discuss here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Broadsword is hosting a 20th Anniversary Party for UO this September! Learn more here. Will you be there, Guest?
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Greetings Guest, Having Login Issues? Check this thread!
    Dismiss Notice


Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Taylor, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. Taylor

    Taylor Former Stratics CEO (2011-2014)
    VIP Stratics Veteran Supporter Alumni Campaign Benefactor Alumni

    Oct 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    The BioWare title Ultima Online (UO) revolutionized the MMORPG industry when it was launched nearly fifteen years ago. However, the Ultima legacy began over a decade before UO’s release. In 1981, Richard “Lord British” Garriott launchedUltima I: The First Age of Darkness. This 30-year evolution of Ultima lore has impacted many gamers. Sadly, modern gamers are increasingly unaware of the influence that Ultima had on the broader gaming industry.

    Fortunately, author Stephen Emond has made it his personal responsibility to reverse this trend. Emond has authored a 460-page monograph titled Ultima Online: The Ultimate Collector’s Guide. This tome catalogues all Ultima history, beginning with Ultima I and progressing through all ten expansions of Ultima Online. To support this project, Emond has launched a RocketHub campaign here. Although he has already achieve his initial goal of $1,000 USD, he announced on 20 August that he will continue to offer rewards in exchange for donations.

    If you would like to review the potential perks, consider supporting Emond here. The work is expected to be released in October 2012.
    #1 Taylor, Aug 20, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012