1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Stratics issue on mobile device?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Silent Singer, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. Silent Singer

    Silent Singer Lore Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    688
    Stratics has been fine, though slow, on my phone for months. In the last few days though, when I click a link to change boards or posts, occasionally the site tries to jump to an ad or popup, and I get a ToS for Google Play (which I don't use). This shuts down my browser bc I can't back out. I have to restart fully to get back to what I was reading. Anyone else had a problem on mobile in last few days?
     
  2. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    Don't you use Tapatalk? If not give it a try. It's awesome and free.
     
  3. MalagAste

    MalagAste Belaern d'Zhaunil
    Reporter Professional Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter Royal Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    18,965
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Personally I hate it... it's ugly and I can't stand it.
     
  4. DJAd

    DJAd Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    3,588
    When they did the big update the other month they kind of runied it but they listened to feedback and its been getting better each update from then on. I find it so much faster than using the website on a mobile.
     
  5. Zuckuss

    Zuckuss Order | Chaos
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni K^S

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    When the page is loading, sometimes when you click a link, you are clicking what will be there AFTER the add banner loads. It was probably coincidence that you are hitting the add itself. I occasionally do the same thing and it happens often when trying to click one of the top threads on the page. The area of the page that the add occupies loads shortly after the data in the page loads, so you see the data and try to click while the add is still processing it's display on the page. Then the page "jumps down" when the add shows because the banner height affects where the top of the forum view is. While we may have been clicking the top thread, your mobile device maintains the same area of where you clicked and in that split second, we end up clicking higher than we had intended.

    Other times when I am clicking a thread deeper on the page I will accidentally hit a thread a few rows higher than the one intended... or end up opening someone's profile or something.

    Yes it is annoying. We will look into some ways to fix this. What you are experiencing is not meant to make anyone unintentionally click an add.
     
  6. Silent Singer

    Silent Singer Lore Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    688
    Zuckuss,

    I know what you are referring to and that has always been an issue for me. In the last few days I've experienced this new problem. I'm on an android phone. I have Google Play turned off. I believe it is related to one of the ads being served by the page load attempting to check if something is on my phone, but since Google Play is turned off, the ToS pops up. Whatever the cause it is severely limiting my use of the website. Already this morning in 5 minutes of use I've had to restart my browser on the phone. On a desktop pc (which I rarely access stratics with) this doesn't happen, I assume because a pop up blocker prevents it.

    Tapatalk isn't something I'm interested in using atm, but I may have to change that :) so thank you for the suggestion.