1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Classic Client T-map pin images not reflecting true location

Discussion in 'Bug Tracking' started by Basara, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,467
    Likes Received:
    591
    This has been an issue for some time, which in many ways was why when the map locations were static, people liked using the 190/200 marked runes in the rune libraries.

    Now that the locations are randomized, the issue is much worse, and in some cases have even had chests pop up from a water square bordering land (I wish I'd taken a screenshot of my chest arising from the river south of Britain 3 years ago).

    Simply put, for many people using the Classic client (though some claim to not have this issue), the spot that the map pin indicates is about 1/2 to one full screen west of the true chest location as indicated by coordinates (from putting it into a DJ Locker after decoding), standing on those coordinates in the mini-map, or simply handing it to someone using the EC to read it (they see it exactly where it should be).

    One of the more glaring examples of this is in the included picture - it's happened to me several times on Amoeba Island, and a few times near rivers or other narrow water gaps that run N/S. it's especially annoying when (such as in Ter Mer with its rough terrain) it ends up on the opposite side of an impenetratable barrier like rock or lava, that requires a minute or two run to circumnavigate (plus beating down any hostiles, of where there are plenty in Ter Mur, especially in vacant areas - such as the all too common anlorvaglems). I'm just glad there aren't any maps in the Lost Lands - the glitch would make maps insanely difficult there.

    Is there any chance of getting this looked at?

    Note for picture: IF you look at the image, you will note that the lower half of the pin on the map is on the upper right (west) side of the inlet (the upper half crossing the inlet 1 or 2 degrees to the north before the head of the pin actually is over land again), with the dead mongbats and giant serpent where I dug based on the pin, while the actual chest location is to the lower left (east) on the small peninsula about 6-10 squares away - and the peninsula coordinates reflect the 1x1 degree rough area given by the Davey Jones Locker better than the main island spot indicated by the pin. map offset.JPG
     
  2. ZidjiN

    ZidjiN Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    53
    I havnt played the gmae in like a year or more but this was an issue back then as well. As far as i can remember its allways been like this.
    Very frustrating indeed!
     
  3. Quickblade

    Quickblade Lore Keeper
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    269
    the true location is always couple tiles to the east (3-4 tiles, and same to the north) from the pin. It always been like that
     
  4. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,467
    Likes Received:
    591
    Quickblade, as you can see from my screen grab, the positions I've been getting are far more than 3-4 tiles to the east, and 1-4 to the SOUTH, not north.

    So, I think it might actually be different from person to person.

    Evidence in the past also gave indications that it MIGHT also have something to do with possibly having moved the play window from its default position in the CC in the past, even if currently returned to default.
     
  5. TheDrAJ

    TheDrAJ Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    493
    Have you added any old mul or map files to your classic directory?
     
  6. Basara

    Basara UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,467
    Likes Received:
    591
    Yeah, I added all the ones off my other computer's HD (currently DOA due to a startup issue).

    And, try as I might, I can't get UOAM to work, even doing everything Kojak's thread says to do.
     
  7. TheDrAJ

    TheDrAJ Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    493
    When I removed all those old files the tmap worked correctly - you might try that and see if that was the problem.