1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Tamer Commands and Macro help.

Discussion in 'UO Tamer' started by Ghost of Gramps, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Ghost of Gramps

    Ghost of Gramps Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have tamer commands changed which we used to be able to macro in the options menu?

    I dug out an old tamer for housekeeping after a long sleep, and realize my old macros for All kill, Follow, Guard, Stay, what have you, no longer get my pets to respond.

    I cleaned out the options menu, and started again, but the same, "Say..." options using F5 and such still do not get pets to follow command. Instead, I have to go back to clicking on the pet and selecting from their menu to get them to respond.

    I do not have the same problem with other characters and their macros on the same shard.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Lord Frodo

    Lord Frodo Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,780
    Likes Received:
    2,289
    On an old tamer you may not have enough tame/lore for the pet. Go to this page UO Stratics - Animal Taming and put in your skills and select control chance and hit go. Can't remember when but I think they upped they requirments for tamers controlling pets.
     
  3. Ghost of Gramps

    Ghost of Gramps Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    The character is 120 in

    Taming
    Lore
    Vet
    Music
    Peace

    Not sure if that could be it.
     
  4. kaio

    kaio Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    213
    Not sure if this will help but try.
    all kill
    all follow me
    all guard me
    all stop
    all stay
    You can replace all with the pets name.
    If that still dosen't help, try feeding the pet(s)
    if that fails too, call a gm :)
    Good luck
     
  5. Wenchkin

    Wenchkin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    434
    Is the macro text appearing as it should?

    Try checking you haven't set any commands in UO or UOAssist that use the same key combo either.

    I've got macros I set years ago that still work so I'm not sure why yours have stopped. I assume you're using the old Classic Client and not the new Enhanced one?

    I've got commands set as say or whisper "all follow me", "all kill" etc (without the quotes ;)), so if you're using that syntax in the Classic Client it should still work. Try saying/whispering the command you want to use in game and see what happens.

    You could also try deleting the old macros and setting fresh ones, or assign them to another key and see if that works better.

    Wenchy
     
  6. Ghost of Gramps

    Ghost of Gramps Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Outstanding help, everyone. Thank you.

    In the end, I went back and erased all macros in UO and UO Assist, then started over.

    That worked.
     
  7. [JD]

    [JD] Guest

    the EC is a boon for tamers, might wanna check it out. you can make a macro that targets next enemy, automatically honors, and tells yor pet to attack... and much much more
     
  8. Ghost of Gramps

    Ghost of Gramps Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great tip, only, and forgive me, but I don't understand at all.

    Please share. Was away awhile.
     
  9. uoBuoY

    uoBuoY Guest

    When a char Honors himself no critters will aggro on him for a time. Makes taming tough critters easier.

    "...you can make a macro that targets next enemy, automatically honors, and tells yor pet to attack..." that's the process to build your char's Honor.
     
  10. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    There is a new client called the Enhanced Client. It isn't perfect, but it is better than the old Classic Client, in my opinion, even with UO Assist, for a whole raft of reasons. There is a forum dedicated to the Enhanced Client, you might want to check it out.

    If you are just getting back into the game I would strongly suggest you check out the Enhanced Client, and give it a really good try, before you get so used to the Classic Client that everything else feels like a bowl of fettuccine. The Enhanced Client is especially useful for tamers.

    You can find the Enhanced Client here.
     
  11. You can also use EC to make a macro to:
    Dismount > All Kill > target either current target, cursor, next enemy, nearest enemy, etc.

    Handy one step macro - just be careful using that at a guild meeting. It was a mistake... honest.
     
  12. Storm

    Storm UO Forum Moderator
    Moderator Professional Premium Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    361
    I have had my pets hit me many times by not paying attention to what i had targeted i learned to keep all stop macroed
     
  13. kitiara-atlantic

    kitiara-atlantic Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    77
    With using macros in EC for targeting the next enemy - I've found that, for example, energy vortexes cast by people fighting with me will be in the next enemy list. Do you find this to be a problem using a next enemy macro? i.e. the pet then attacks something it shouldn't? Is there any way around it?
     
  14. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I have next and last hostile bound to my mouse wheel, and all my tamer commands use current target. I would never use next hostile for tamer commands. If I get the wrong target, I just keep scrolling. Although I have screwed up and attacked the wrong target from time to time.
     
  15. I use next hostile for large spawns only, and then switch to cursor targeting with the mouse wheel as you do. If I am alone or at large spawns it's not a problem, but when working closely with friends you do have to watch out for the wrong target.
     
  16. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I used the mobiles display in Lucis Interface for targeting most of the time. And it works quite well everywhere but in large spawns where it breaks down due to the large numbers of mobiles in range. I find even next and last hostile will often break down in those circumstances, and sometimes I am forced to resort to clicking on the mobile itself.
     
  17. Llewen

    Llewen Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    200
    I used the mobiles display in Lucis Interface for targeting most of the time. And it works quite well everywhere but in large spawns where it breaks down due to the large numbers of mobiles in range. I find even next and last hostile will often break down in those circumstances, and sometimes I am forced to resort to clicking on the mobile itself, which isn't as bad as it sounds for me because I don't use my mouse to control my movement.