1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

TECH HELP please.

Discussion in 'UHall' started by sofaking, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. sofaking

    sofaking Guest

    So I think I have a decent setup. I have a core 2 duo, with 4gigs of ram, well 3 in xp which is where i run uo. Anyway I have an issue where the edges of my screen are grey and stuff loads slowly sometimes. I have been told to clear my cache, but I am not sure what file to delete. And is there anything else i can use to run this more smoothly?
     
  2. If you're running slow you probably need to perform a Disk Cleanup and Disk Defragmentation. Both of these can be found under the Start menu > Programs > Accessories > System Tools. You may need to clean out IE as well of all cookies and temp files.
     
  3. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Uo has only 1 cache file, it's called multicache.dat and located in c:\document and settings\your windows logon\my documents\my games\uo legacy\account name\shard\character name (this is from memory, so I may be off by a subfolder or 2).

    This file can be safely deleted when you exit uo. But it will be recreated automatically when you play.

    Having said that, your issue is likely not related to caching. Grey areas in the play window just signify that those tiles are beyond your current update range.

    Is this a new pc that you have just installed uo on?
     
  4. sofaking

    sofaking Guest

    Well the pc is about 8 months old. And i just came back to uo a month ago.
     
  5. Xalan Dementia

    Xalan Dementia Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    81
    is the grey around the edges blurred like, or is it like tilted squares? if its tilted squares its the update range like harlequin said. if its blurred and only with uo then you may need to reinstall uo client with latest version. if its blurred edges with every program it may be a faulty moniter or system issue/power issue. hope that helps some
     
  6. sofaking

    sofaking Guest

    Its like un even, gray tinted, loading issues within uo.

    How do I increase my update range?
     
  7. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    By default, the update range is 18 which is max. To change it, you need to set up a macro. Create a macro, then assign it the "IncreaseUpdateRange" action. Add ""UpdateRangeInfo" to see what is your current update range.

    Also to verify if the grey areas in your playwindow are really due to the update range, set up another macro to "DecreaseUpdateRange". Minimum range is 5 tiles. See if the gray areas look alike.

    What graphics card you are using and how much memory does it have? Might want to try reducing your windows desktop resolution and see if that helps.
     
  8. sofaking

    sofaking Guest

    9600m gs with 512 video ram

    gonna try the macro thing
     
  9. kelmo

    kelmo Old and in the way
    Professional Stratics Veteran Alumni Dread Lord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    4,692
  10. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Reducing the resolution and colour depth of your PC's windows desktop (not UO desktop) is a good way to isolate the issue as well.

    If the OP doesn't mind, this thread can be moved to the tech forum :D
     
  11. sofaking

    sofaking Guest

    I dont mind. So I feel like it has to do with the update range... Even set at max I notice the problem when running through luna, and when im on like the 3rd or 4th floor in my house.
     
  12. Harlequin

    Harlequin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,716
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ahh, yes, those grey areas would indeed be the update range. It's normal. I believe you can turn of the indicator, but I prefer it to show me the areas that are beyond range.