1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Tech Help: UO Client has Encountered a Problem

Discussion in 'UHall' started by DarkWolf, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hail,

    I have just installed UO on to a second computer that I have using the 9th anniversary disks that I have. It installed fine and did all of the necessary patching. However, when I click OK after patching, up pops the splash screen, then I instantly receive a message stating that the UO client has encountered a problem and will shut down.

    I uninstalled and re-installed twice, but still have the same problem. I also tried installing using Mondain's Legacy. Again, I can patch with no problems, but cannot actually launch the game.

    Anyone have any ideas on how I can fix this?

    Thanks!

    BTW, I have downloaded the KR client and am currently patching. Just in case for whatever reason this computer doesn't like 2d...
     
  2. Take a moment to answer a few questions for us

    1) What is the specs of your computer?
    (can be found under start > programs > accessories > system tools > system information)

    2) What operating system are you trying to run on? (please include any service packs if available)

    3) What video card are you using?

    4) Has the computer that won't play UO now ever played the client in the past?

    5) How new is the computer? (might be a driver problem in which you would need to update your drivers)

    6) Can you either get a print screen of the error message or word for word copy of it with the details listed so that some of us can search the web for the cause of the error code?


    ---------EDIT----------

    Here is a possible solution that may work..

    1) If the computer had a previous client installed before and now you're reinstalling a new client; It's possible that when you removed the old client through deletion or control pannel that the directories remained (but no longer work). This means when you install a new client, it may be trying to access older directories that no longer exist and has to self terminate.

    Easiest way to check

    start > my computer > c: drive > program files > look for any folders containing "EA games" or "Ultima Online"

    Once you locate the folder, see if any previous copies of UO are catagorized under it (i.e. SE, ML etc) If theres an out dated client, try deleting it then doing a disk clean up and reinstall ML and see if that works.
     
  3. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hi Kratos,

    Here is the information that may help determine the issue.

    The computer is a Dell DE051 2.66GHz with 512 MB of RAM that was bought in 2006. I have just reinstalled Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 and did all of the updates prior to installing. The latest update isService Pack 3. It has an Intel 82865G display adapter. UO has never been installed on this computer (even prior to reinstalling Windows).

    I uninstalled UO 2d prior to downloading KR. When I go to install the 9th Anniversary edition now, I get the message that another version of UO has been detected. Please remove prior to installing, otherwise you may be unable to run client. Should I re-install anyways, or do I really need to uninstall KR?

    Hope this helps.

    Thanks
     
  4. Cear Dallben Dragon

    Cear Dallben Dragon Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    17
    Your problem is that you dont have any sound drivers. when the login screen is supposed to appear the client calls for your sound drivers to play turfin, the login music. check your device manager for sound drivers.
     
  5. DarkWolf

    DarkWolf Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    42
    That was it! Needed to install the audio driver... Thank you for your help.
     
  6. Sorry for the late reply but I'm glad you've resolved the problem. Come to think of it I had the same problem once (which I forgot) until Cear brought it up.

    Have fun out their!