1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

[TECH] OT: Windows 7 Install Issue!!!

Discussion in 'UO Siege Perilous' started by N49ATV, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my vista has been acting up. Turning off my wireless card whenever it felt like, bogging down, crashing things. So I got windows 7.

    Now maybe im ignorant in my old ways, but I prefer full install over the upgrade. Everything just seems to flow better.

    So I backed up my data on my 1.5TB external drive. And threw in the Win7 Home Premium Disc. Setup fired up, picked time, and keyboard etc. Now I get to the part where it I pick the partitions. I had 2 on there. The main partition, and the little recovery partition. Now, I think this was my "TSN Turning Point", where it all went sideways. The recovery partition on the laptop would be useless to me, so I deleted both partitions, and made one 500GB unpartitioned space. I then made it into a partitioned space. But setup wont allow install.

    So I went into the CMD prompt, and checked out why. Says its write protected...DOH, must be the recovery part being protected, and not allowing me to do anything....

    So where do I go from here? I got a $2000 paperweight on my couch!
     
  2. AEowynSP

    AEowynSP Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    3
    And this is why I love my MAC.
    Whats the exchange rate by the way on 2K Canadian dollars to euros and yen?
    Just courious.
     
  3. What brand was the laptop? Strange that the disk would be write protected, that's a new one.

    What kind of message does Win7 throw while trying to install?
     
  4. Bruin

    Bruin Guest

    Write protected? I've never heard of a hard disk being write protected.

    Just try again, delete the partion (as you've already done this) and see what happens.
     
  5. Why do MAC users always have to comment everytime someone has a windows issue?

    I know plenty of mac users and they have just as many issues as windows users. I'm curious if you are using only mac OS or are you dual booting/using Parrallels to Windows?
     
  6. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its an HP HDX18 Laptop.

    When I try and install, it says something along the lines of this...
    "Windows can not create a new parition, or install on selected parition. Please see error log file for details"

    Now I have no idea where to look at this error log, so I went into the command prompt from the windows install (shift+f10). Chose partition 0 (my 500gb partition), deleted, recreated, over and over. Now if I try and do a low level format from the command prompt, thats where I get the disk is write protected error.
     
  7. AEowynSP

    AEowynSP Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,819
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry I was trying to be funny about the 2K doorstop comment; that and I live near Seattle and despise Bill Gates.
    I have 2 PC towers the one I play UO on is 5+ years old. 3 mac laptops also years old, I am still running XP and 10.
     
  8. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Id love a mac, but even then to play UO when on the road, id need a dual boot of Windows. Since I dont know of a Mac Version of UO
     
  9. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    From the command prompt it's probably not set to have write access since you've already logged in to Windows. Windows installer should ignore that, and just wipe the partition.

    If you boot normally, does it still boot? Or did it actually write changes to the partition table?
     
  10. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I try and boot, it does nada, since the partition holding vista was deleted.
     
  11. Wulf2k

    Wulf2k Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Crusader of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,565
    Likes Received:
    314
    Does the recovery partition still show when you go to install?

    You could try creating a smaller partition to install to, see if it works at all.
     
  12. Spree

    Spree Babbling Loonie
    Governor Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    13
    how do you run in uo with a mac with only one mouse button? Do you just stand open your pack over and over?
     
  13. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have no idea what happened but its working now.

    I came down to the desktop, googled, and decided to format my USB thumb drive for boot, and try using an fdisk type proggy to format the drive, and then boot the install. Anyway went up stairs after an hour or so, and it was at the install screen where i left it, figured id give it one more go, and reboot. Well it worked. This time when I created the partition, it created a 100M system partition, and the remainder system. Seems to be installing. WTF? Never changed a thing in the way I did it. Tried atleast 10 times of reboot, and format, or partition etc. Lame
     
  14. Skylark SP

    Skylark SP Available Storage: 0
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have seen some people mention on Vista forums about the disk attributes being arbitrarily changed to read only, and in some cases the volume did not show the attribute but using the diskpart.exe utility that ships with Vista from the command line to manually clear the read only attribute (whether visible or not) fixed the problem. Not sure if something similar happened to yours, but that may be the case.

    -Skylark
     
  15. N49ATV

    N49ATV Slightly Crazed
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tired clearing with diskpart, as it also comes on the 7 disk. Thats one of the commands you have available when you go to the prompt during setup (shift+f10). I tried clearing, tried everything, I guess it came down to creating the partition, not formatting it, restarting, and then trying the format. All I can think. Though Im sure I tried that before. Meh, worked this time. Another POS cranked out my MS, why cant they get the simple things down before worrying about the flashy stuff