1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Greetings Guest!!

    In order to combat SPAM on the forums, all users are required to have a minimum of 2 posts before they can submit links in any post or thread.

    Dismiss Notice

Tech question! UO + Vista = ?

Discussion in 'UHall' started by Tjalle, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,847
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    It´s time to buy a new computer.

    It has Windows Vista on it. I´ve heard some negative things about Vista.

    So to all of you out there that plays UO with Vista on your computer. Have you been having problems with it (and if so what?) or has it been working just fine?

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  2. OriginsSyn

    OriginsSyn Guest

    The only problem I've really seen with mine is when I open UO, the "UO is loading..." splash stays up and I have to close it with task manager. Otherwise, runs the same.

    Cheers!
     
  3. Crysta

    Crysta Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    73
    There was the whole problem I had with the installer taking forever to load. Seems to run fine past that for me tho.

    Of course i'd say don't get Vista anyway. XP does most everything better and takes less resources.
     
  4. Sir Kelek

    Sir Kelek Sage
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    3
    No problems here using windows vista and uo, runs great.
     
  5. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    548
    I have that problem with Windows 7 too. It appears to only happen when I load UO by itself, without UOAssist.
     
  6. Raider Red

    Raider Red Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    3
    I bought a computer back in march with windows vista,and I have had no problems with it at all.Every once in agreat while I will have a problem with the UO is loading splash getting stuck but I even had that happen since I added a video card.before that I was using a built in video software.
     
  7. Nylan

    Nylan Adventurer
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have 2 desktops computers and a laptop that run Vista and have no problems with UO or UOA.
     
  8. Infiniti

    Infiniti Guest

    I have absolutely no problems running Vista. I don't have to do anything special. :)
     
  9. Grumm

    Grumm Guest

    I have Vista and experience no problems as well. The only time the UO is loading box stays up after closing is on the 2D client. I don't experience it with the KR client.
     
  10. DevilsOwn

    DevilsOwn Stratics Legend
    Governor Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,921
    Likes Received:
    377
    found the fix for this just last week, purely by accident... change your settings for your desktop to Vista basic, and that little box goes away just like it did before... the only thing I've noticed losing by doing that is the transparency effect on the open windows, and I'll gladly give that up
     
  11. Uriah Heep

    Uriah Heep Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    What she said :D

    I think the Vista is running better than my XP was! Totally satisfied with Vista, for everything, UO included.
     
  12. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    548
    I personally like Windows 7 better than both Vista and XP, it runs a lot faster than both in my experience.
     
  13. Draconi

    Draconi Most explosive UO Legend
    VIP Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    53
    Both clients run fine for me on my Vista machine, but then again, I could've been paid to tell you that (j/k).

    Good luck with the new computer though - I love the speed of my XP dev box at work, and can't wait to check out Windows 7.
     
  14. Ender

    Ender Crazed Zealot
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    548
    Windows 7 is pretty much just Vista 2.0. It's mostly the same stuff, but it runs a little faster and a little more stable in my experience. Doesn't feel like a beta at all though, I'm actually using it exclusively now.
     
  15. Frarc

    Frarc Stratics Legend
    Stratics Veteran Alumni Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    UO playing fine in Vista. I only need to start as administrator if there is a patch.
     
  16. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    I run on Vista 64 on two laptops, and I don't need admin to patch. It runs fine for me, other than the normal UO constant crashes for 2d and KR. Not Vista relates. XP crashes too.
     
  17. Kaleb

    Kaleb Lore Master
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP pro on one machine and it works great, This machine that im useing now has Vista Ult. and runs uo very nice. My laptop Runs vista ultimate64 and no problems yet.
     
  18. Zodiac19

    Zodiac19 Guest

    I bought a new laptop (Sony VIAO) with Vista and have loaded both 2D and KR on it and have had zero problems.
     
  19. Tjalle

    Tjalle Grand Inquisitor
    Professional Stratics Veteran Campaign Supporter Gilfane

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,847
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Thanks for the replies everyone!

    It feels much better now... :D
     
  20. In Flames

    In Flames Journeyman
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista + UO = Fine.

    It's everything ELSE that gives me grief.
     
  21. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Windows 7 64bit + UO:KR = fast, stable and smooth for me.

    I'd go ahead and get in on the Win 7 beta while you can, sure it ends on August 1, but that's a nice bit of time to use the OS in the meantime.
     
  22. Nine Dark Moons

    Nine Dark Moons Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    43
    SAME HERE!!! it's annoying, but that's the only problem i've ever had playing 2D on my Vista machine :)
    and thanks for posting the fix to this, DevilsOwn!
     
  23. Cysphruo

    Cysphruo Guest

    i bought a new computer for xmas and was extremely hesitant switching to vista, everyone complains about it so much, but now that i use it i dont see what the big deal is, it has a lot of extra features/upgrades that xp was missing and i like it a lot more, just something new to get used to of course.
    i recommend it to everyone but nobody takes my word on it lol, oh well.
    my only problem with it with uo is that one screen getting stuck, but thats no big deal.
     
  24. Dermott of LS

    Dermott of LS UOEC Modder
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Likes Received:
    528
    ...

    Vista has a lot of performance issues from what I've heard and read, and a LOT MORE compatability issues when it first started which tainted the OS from day one (even after they were resolved).

    Right now, I'd just say skip Vista and go download 7, it's basically the same thing, but with a LOT better performance.
     
  25. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Draconi-

    Windows 7 Beta (build 7000) allows me to run KR on my ASUS Eee-PC 900a (intel atom, 2GB RAM) at full detail from an external USB HD, for comparison XP ran poorly on the Eee and KR was not possible. Even if it feels similar to Vista the performance is absolutely unbelieveable (Vista does not run well on the Eee). Win7 is even faster than my optimized Ubuntu 8.10 install for general computing (of course only UO2D runs under Wine).

    My UO netbook experience just got amazing with Win7, KR, and Dermott's latest BB Enhanced. Good luck.

    note: I turned off the pagefile as the SSD is slow.

    Oh and you can run the client directly from Vista/7 if you don't want the uo.exe program to hang. Just make sure to run the patch program when a patch comes out.
     
  26. Wenchkin

    Wenchkin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    434
    Bear in mind that Ubuntu isn't the fastest linux to race against win 7 :) And it's also worth running both distros for a while to see if there is a slowdown after several months of use. How much HD space is the install of win 7 taking up? Have you tried dual booting it on a linux system by any chance?

    BTW, KR works under wine, if you look in the wine db site page for KR it'll tell you a few dlls you need to add in. That's all I've ever needed to do to run KR on Wine on the distros I use. Just look at the test results for the wine version you're using and check your xorg.conf file to be sure your system is using the graphics driver you want it to. Glxgears is something else you can run through terminal to check the graphics are going fine. Some of the more recent wine versions are fine with 2D but hate KR though, hence why I suggest checking test results. Think this system is running wine 1.0.1 or thereabouts. I'm currently running it fine with the Gnome desktop of Mint 6.

    Wenchy
     
  27. Dragonchilde

    Dragonchilde Guest

    I can't run KR. I tried; I literally couldn't move. I have Vista on my laptop, which has not-great specs. I had to switch to 2D, which runs fine.
     
  28. GreywolfUK

    GreywolfUK Sage
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best way to deal with this problem on Vista or Windows 7, is make a shortcut to the client.exe in your uo 2d folder and use that to run the game, and only use the default shortcut when its patch time, either that once UO loads up, run task manager and look for UO.exe process and end task, this exits the uo loading splash screen and leave the client running, but make sure you use end task and not end process tree.
     
  29. Hildebrand

    Hildebrand Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1
    KR even runs fine on my 6yr+ old laptop (256MB ram, celeron, WinXP). Slow laptop, but KR runs fine.
     
  30. Black Sun

    Black Sun Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    19
    One of the computers I use to run UO has vista installed. While personally I hate vista and think it's more of a pain than a pleasure to use (I'll keep my old reliable XP thank you!), I have had no problems at all running both UO and UOAssist on it. I just make sure that I have admin rights to run both that way I can bypass the damn security prompts asking me if I really want to run the program. (I clicked on the &#@%ing icon didn't I!?!?!?!?!) But I've yet to have a single problem with it.
     
  31. Black Sun

    Black Sun Grand Poobah
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    19
    *Run's off to fix THE MOST annoying 'feature' in all of Vista.*
     
  32. Setnaffa

    Setnaffa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's funny how many people heard negative things about Vista, but once they tried it they were mostly happy with it.

    You just have to love the media. They'll put a negative spin on anything if it will sell more magazines or get hits on their site.

    Sure, Vista had some issues when it first came out, but it appears everyone forgot about the issues we had with XP when it first came out as well. A new major OS will always have a few issues, but I have to say that Vista has been a very positive update to the old tired XP.

    One last comment. Windows 7 is less Vista 2 than XP was 2000 version 2. If you all will notice (Start->run->cmd->ver), XP is actually Windows 5.1 - Windows 5 was 2000. XP really was a minor update from Windows 2000, but my guess is most people are still very happy with XP more than 7 years after it came out.
     
  33. Setnaffa

    Setnaffa Certifiable
    Stratics Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not giving up my Aero interface for any application. Instead of doing that, I just made a shortcut to client.exe on my desktop and use that to launch UO instead of uo.exe (which is what the default UO 2D client shortcut points to). I only launch uo.exe when there is a new patch.
     
  34. Dragonchilde

    Dragonchilde Guest

    I disagree.

    I changed the name of my UO icons. On the desktop. and had to confirm the action TWICE.

    Buh? No. I don't need a resource hogwith prettiness. I need a lean, functional OS. then again, I'm not your average user. I think for most people, Vista is find. But for me? No thanks.
     
  35. curlybeard

    curlybeard Seasoned Veteran
    Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wenchy,

    It doesn't surprise me that KR works under Wine, as I used to run KR and it worked until they added the cloud layer (which they have since removed). The issue is that I have a downspec Eee machine and I was surprised I could run KR in Windows of all (slow bloated) things. Netbooks were never intended run these sorts of applications.

    There is a puplet specifically for the Eee (Project Ripple) that runs very fast, but for the sake of speed you give up functionality; I tried to get it run UO2D but I was lost in a sea of code that quickly grew beyond my ability to tinker and it seemed there were larger issues with the main Puppy distro. Ubuntu was/is a pleasant compromise. That being said in Ubuntu on the Eee, UO2D under Wine can be a bit choppy. I doubt Linux Mint would be that big of an improvement as it is based on Ubuntu. At least a big enough improvement to run KR on the Eee.

    To answer your questions: Win7 is using 4.15GB and Ubuntu is using 3GB of HD space (not a huge difference) with the same programs and features loaded on both. I've never had a slowdown under XP with prolonged use as long as I'm doing system maintenance, so it will probably be the same with Win7.

    I greatly prefer Linux for such features as tmpfs, and the fact it's full featured, fast, and free; but it will not run KR on an Eee without some tinkering way beyond my pay grade.
     
  36. Nexus

    Nexus Site Support
    Administrator Professional Wiki Moderator Stratics Veteran Stratics Legend Campaign Patron

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,572
    Likes Received:
    1,836
    I have that if I'm not using UOAssist otherwise I have not problems at all. It does the same under Windows 7 Beta but it runs really well on both for me out side that.
     
  37. Wenchkin

    Wenchkin Babbling Loonie
    Stratics Veteran Alumni

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    434
    Yeah, it could just be the Eee thing. The main reason I was surprised was our laptop can't run KR well in XP but I seem to get more oompf from it under Mandriva for example.

    You're right that Mint isn't hugely different from Ubuntu, it's just that bit smarter at having proprietory drivers and multimedia codec type stuff set up during installation rather than having you set things up manually. So if you had a mystery glitch causing KR to fail, Mint might work just by virtue of setting the system up really well to start with. That was my logic :) I blame it on having a geek partner who can recite distrowatch reviews over coffee...It's rubbing off apparently.

    Ah cheers :) I only use XP on occasion these days so won't have to worry about running it into the ground just playing games, but I was curious how much disk space it'd need. I'm sure my XP drive won't live forever lol.

    Aye, it could just be that linux can't get the hardware to work in the way KR needs it to. What actually happens when you try to run KR? (should've asked that first lol!)

    Wenchy